We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back!”
Review of Sposa del Sole

Sposa del Sole
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Gennadi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Greek, Seafood, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The family Makiaris Emmanuel and Tsambika welcome you to La Sposa del Sole Exotic Beach Lounge Bar & Restaurant, an integrated coastal exotic multiplex entertainment where the visitor can find what he is looking for from early morning to late evening. Made with love next to wild sea and trees, of wood and stone offering organized beach with free umbrellas and chairs, cool and shady by trees at lunch restaurant and cafe, romantic dinner restaurant, cocktail bar and spa services massage, under the sounds of soft Lounge music. Full harmonization that characterize the unique destination within the island of Rhodes. Experienced and qualified staff prepares daily and serves breakfast, snacks, lunch and dinner, fresh pastries and cocktails with fresh fruit and alcohol. Waiter services are provided throughout the day and afternoon on the beach and the main area of ​​the restaurant-cafe-bar, as well as the masseuse for relaxation and wellness. Here at Sposa Beach Lounge Bar & Restaurant tradition meets the modern, Greece as part of Mediterranean sea, the quality of the flavor and aroma, and the result is unique. Traditional food and bread is baked daily In our traditional wood-oven, as well as various traditional Rhodian dishes creations by the Chef, unique dishes that smell Greece and Mediterranean. Of course fresh seafood and fish from the local fishermen daily make up our menu. Our goal is the continuous development of our services and products only in the light pleasure of our valued customers. With respect, Family Makiaris Emmanuel & Tsambika
Scotland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“I want to go back!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just been for lunch. Lovely beach bar, great music, friendly service and great food. They do a fantastic mojito! Service to your sunbed by a lovely Greek waiter. Very efficient and happy smiley service. Will go again for sure and totally recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woody01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makiaris E, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sposa del Sole, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
Dear costumer,

Thank you very much for your review. I am happy you enjoyed the beach, the food and the cocktails. waiters and all the team is always trying for the best quality of services and products. Hope to welcome you back next summer.

Best Regards,
Makiaris Emmanouel
Owner/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    21
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect beach bar and setting”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Manoli & Tzambika are the best hosts. Very friendly staff and drinks are very reasonable. Great for coffee in the morning, beers and fresh food in the afternoon and chilling watching the moon over the water in the evening. Tzambika's Mousaka is the best we've ever had. Totally reccommend visiting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gez7253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makiaris E, Ιδιοκτήτης & Γενικός Διευθηντής at Sposa del Sole, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you like the place, our services and the food.
Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Makiaris Emmanouel
Owner / Gen.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice beach bar”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Whilst I cannot say the place had the best meal I ever had in my life the food was certainly up to standards for a beach bar. Sposa is a lovely spot in south Rhodes where you dont have to pay for the sunbeds as long as you spend more than 4 \euros in drinks/food which is more than fair, especially for Rhodes. I was there more than once. I enjoyed good coffee, perfect drinks, and more than ok club sandwich. Perfect for laying lazy on a sunbed relaxing with a good book.
The only drawback the slow service on the sunbeds...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BettySt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Perfect Day's Sunbathing”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Well worth making the short walk for a relaxing day with chilled music, free sunbeds, beach service and excellent food.

To reach it from the village of Gennadi, head towards Rhodes town on the main road, cross over the bridge just after the Vati road and turn right at the town hall (was a hotel....still looks like a hotel!). Sposa is past this building at the end of the road. Takes about 15 minutes to walk, though well worth it as I said before.

So long as you spend in the bar on food or drink then Manolis and family are happy to allow free use of the sun beds. This is a very popular spot with the Greeks themselves, which is leaks a good indicator of quality of both the cleanliness of the beach and the delicious variety of food. This does means that it fills up on the weekends when the Greeks travel from the north of the island to enjoy the facilities, so get there early to guarantee a bed.

Unusually, Sposa does a good variety of what I would call 'lunchtime food', especially recommended are the Aegean salad (pasta), Caesar salad, chicken with bacon souvlaki plate & the club sandwich (which comes with a mountain of chips, so don't order any more as a side order!).

My only criticism might be that some of the dishes are priced a little high - though the portion sizes are massive, which makes up for this as dishes can easily be shared between two, though generally people don't know this when they first order, so end up spending a good few euros more than they would like to on lunch and not being able to eat all of the food, which is frustrating when budgets for all are limited.

The music is very tasteful, and differs from the usual fare of traditional Greek taverna music. It is very relaxed, featuring popular music covers & mixes - in a 'lounge music style' I am told. Occasionally there are guest DJs, nothing too heavy in my experience, Manolis is keen to impress upon the DJs that they must stick with the relaxed vibe rather than churning out dance music while people sunbathe, which I am very grateful for, personally.

The bar is open into the evenings and continues serving food, with soft lighting and relaxed music.

Beach Party nights are held pretty much weekly, with the beach area pleasantly lit, a campfire and a beach barbecue with the smell of mouthwatering pork souvlaki sticks wafting up towards the bar area. Again the vibe is let relaxed and is a very nice way to spend an evening.

My top tip for attending any beach venue like this in the evening is to take the precaution of using repellent as this is where the Mosquitos like to congregate of an evening - a little spray will enable you to enjoy your evening insect free!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie_Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat, Drink, Chill & Relax on the beach !”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is one of the best places just outside the main Gennadi beach area.
The Staff are all wonderful, great service and they even bring drink and food down to you at the beach , so all you need to do is just relax!!!
Free Wifi as well , so if you want to catch up with emails, facebook you can !!
They have a great food offering along with playing some great chilled music.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sposa del Sole also viewed

 
Kiotari, Rhodes
Gennadi, Rhodes
 

Been to Sposa del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing