We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can promise you spend a week in the Corali and you will want to return.”
Review of The Corali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Corali Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Hi , We have been one of the many tourists that have stayed in IOS and in the Corali for a substantial amount of times (25 in over 30 years) of which Sharon and Michael have raised the standards each year .

Different to the one report the front of the Hotel was constructed in the late 70s and through the years standards which we all now expect are as normal, the hotel has Air Con Rooms, TV, Fabulous Pool which is never busy even in high season of which next to the pool is a cocktail bar end eating area, there is also a small enclosed children’s pool and play area.

In the 80s the quality of food in the restaurant far excelled the all the restaurants on the Island and with the introduction of the wood oven in the late 90s the Pizzas are the best I have tasted in Europe. The restaurant is not used only by the tourist but by the residents on the Island, IT’s THAT GOOD

To the front of the hotel the Corali has its own parasols on sunbeds on the beach some will take you up to the water’s edge. If you want a drink or snack you don’t even need to move.

The drinks and cocktails from are the real thing and not poor substitutes (which you will find in some bars on the Island) and the bottle beers are the best value for money on the Island.

I can promise you spend a week in the Corali and you will want to return.

IOS also has lots going for it fantastic beaches with the new roads give easy access also you can visit Homers (not Simpson) grave, churches and old monist ruins , In the Village there are alleyways with numerous small shops, restaurants and bars, do the Sunset at least once , but after 11pm life changes and fun disco’s and bars open till the sun comes up.

The sad thing IOS has had a decline in tourists over the years, which I don’t understand why especially as its better value for money (cheaper) in some cases 50% than Paros, Mykonos, Naxos and Santorini.

Give IOS a go

Best Wishes TIM

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigertim0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for The Corali Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at Hotel Corali at the end of September and enjoyed the peace and quiet at the end of the season.
The hotel has two buildings and the rooms in the front building look to have been upgraded whereas the ones at the rear still seem to have the original fittings. We did however find the rooms clean snd contrary to an earlier report the towels and sheets were changed daily - which is unusual for any hotel.
As it was the end of the season the pizza oven was not in operation so we only had breakfast which was adequate.
We found Sharon, her husband and all other staff extremely helpful and friendly.
The hotel benefits from a swimming pool and a bar which is open during the day. The hotel is across the road from Yialos Beach which is extremely clean and gently sloping so ideal for children.
Yialos itself has a number of good tavernas and certainly in September is very quiet.
Excellent bus service to Hora and Milopotas Beach.
All in all excellent vaule for money - we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garymich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Positive: Large savory pizzas at the restaurant.
Negative: Rooms outdated, dirty bathrooms, sheets not changed daily, receptionist never there, rude owner, pool was small and overcrowded with non-tenants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaoulMasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Corali on Ios Island is right on Yialos Beach, withing walking distance from the ferry landing and town.
The Corali dates from the 60's, and has not been changed since. From the furniture to the finishings to the salt & pepper shakers, everything is outdated. The bathrooms can do with thorough scrubbing and some industrial strength cleaning agents. Each room has access to a communal balcony overlooking the street and Yialos Beach.
Breakfast is included in the tariff, and comprises as full Continental spread. Portions are on the limited side though. The pizza oven serves huge pizzas at very good prices.
Next to the hotel is a piece of overgrown vacant land. You can take a short walk into town, where you can rent a bike or car.
Ios in general is a quiet place during the day, steeped in history and still close to a traditionally Greek island. It is not yet so badly overrun with tourists and if a quiet holiday with limited shopping and sightseeing is what you're looking for, this is the island for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelreporterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Corali is situated just a stone’s throw from the port, a 2min walk. It looks great and has a wonderful pool. We had booked months in advance to ensure that we would get a double room, as it was high season. When we arrived we were told they were out of double rooms and that we would have to make do with a twin! This was not how we planned to spend the last leg of our 47day trip round Europe together. We were exhausted and just wanted to relax. The beach out front also leaves a lot to be desired. We had come from staying on Naxos at Agios Prokopios beach, and Ios just didn’t compare. The next day we chose to get the bus to the nearest nice beach, bit of a hassle to have to travel to reach a decent beach, but it was worth it. It still wasn’t as nice as Naxos. We realised we had been spoilt in Naxos, and that it is imperative to book accommodation by a stunning beach (I mean you are travelling all the way to the Greek Islands after all!) The hotel’s restaurant was great though, we ordered their largest pizzas (apx 20euros for a 50cm) and they were definitely big! The sun loungers around the pool are comfy and the pool is nice and deep. Wifi is terrible, ultra slow. There is a minimart in short walking distance and you have a fridge in your room, so no need to pay hotel-bar prices for soft drinks and beers. I truly felt that Ios did not offer what Naxos did, and I wished we had given it a miss. Ios is well known for its nightlife, maybe not its overall beauty as an island. Depending on what you’re looking for it may be perfect. But for us, we were looking for idyllic beaches and swimming. The hotel’s staff were nice enough, and we did have a pleasant stay. Just wouldn’t write home about it in a hurry based on the standard of the beach and the mix up with the room.

Room Tip: Email to triple ensure that you will be getting the room you paid for!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smarty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This is a nice family hotel, the hospitality is very good and the swimming pool is great. The position on the port bay is charming and romantic. Having breakfast on the bay is really nice! The hotel is far from the village (10 minutes by motorscooter) and for this reason is quite. Our room was not very nice, the air conditioning was noisy, but it was in any case fine as we were out all day long. I would suggest this hotel even if our room wasn't nice at all...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cicioletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We stayed for four nights in late September on our island hopping trip and were very impressed with this hotel. It is very attractive, and the lush gardens maintained in Greek temperatures to great effect. A huge swimming pool, with lots of elegand comfortable seating, and yet only five steps away from a gorgeous golden beach with free sunloungers and wondeful swimming. The location is perfect, just five minutes from the ferry arrival point yet near a wide choice of good tavernas and bars. This island is apparently a real party place in season, but for us, the best part was the peace and quiet of end of season. The owners are to be congratulated on maintaining their standards and enthusiasm right to the end! Go and visit soon.....

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herman1588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yialos
0.2 mi away
Liostasi Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yialos Ios Hotel
Yialos Ios Hotel
#4 of 42 in Ios
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#13 of 42 in Ios
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corali Hotel

Address: Yialos 840 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Yialos
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yialos
Price Range: £34 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Corali Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Corali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corali Hotel Ios
The Corali Hotel Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing