We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found Galini in our Rough Guide, and it didn't disappoint.”
Review of Galini Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galini Pension
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yialos
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We found Galini in our Rough Guide, and it didn't disappoint.”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Ilias, Bernice's husband was there waiting for us at the port and gave us a lift with our bags the short distance to Galini. There we met Bernice who had our room waiting and once we had settled in, she gave us a quick run down of all the local amenities, beaches and routes.
The room was clean and cosy. The kitchenette was well equipped and on the single occasion we needed a bottle opener, Ilias got a new one for the room. The shower had plenty of hot water and was always clean.
The pension had a great atmosphere and even though we didn't use it, the garden would be great for chilling out in the hot summer evenings. The WiFi signal was strong and we had a couple of Skype calls without any glitches. We also had some laundry done - by far the best service we've had on the Greek Islands. Not sure I should mention it was free, but I'm going to anyway!
Galini is located about 2 minutes walk from the Yialos beach - surprisingly quiet and clean. The Chora is about 10 to 15 minutes walk away; you can get the bus from the harbour area if you wish but we always walked up.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MozMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    25
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
47
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

They picked us up at the port after our ferry was 1h30 late! The hotel was a bit noisy since our room was next to the reception area and we could hear everything. The room was very clean, we had a fridge in the room, blow dryer, air conditioner, etc. The hotel is located right next to the port (within walking distance - 10 minutes). And there's a beach right in front of the hotel. However, if it's the nightlife you're looking for than the hotel is located a bit too far. You have to either take the bus (which finishes at 12am) or climb the stairs up to the village where all the bars and clubs are.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nani12_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Nice place to stay, calm, not to expensive and very close to the port and in front of the beach. Nice view of the bay and right beside the city and nightlife. The owners are friendly and helpful. They provide transportation to the port. Rooms have a fridge and it's possible to have a little kitchennette. We didn't have breakfast there because we get up very early in the morning (around 7h30 am) and the breakfast is served only around 8h30 am. Also, the room where you eat smell badly cigarette. They gently offered to wash our clothes for only 5 euros. No pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I stayed in Galini in July and had a great time. The Owners were very nice and made me feel very welcome and at home. I cannot recommend Galini enough. It was very hot in IOS in July and the hotel was a great place to cool off and relax after the beach (which is about a 3 minute walk) as it had many areas that were constantly in the shade.
There were great snacks and VERY cold beers, ice creams and soft drinks.
The free wi-fi was vey fast, rooms were very clean and the bill was VERY reasonable. If you go to IOS you must stay here. I will be staying here every time I go to IOS.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wacker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2010

had such a great time, it was a really nice hotel just what we wanted. loved how the owners where so helpful and that the hotel had so much to offer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith47049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2010

A few minnute walk from yialos beach, we had such a great time at Galini Pension! I was extremely happy with the great service and facilities that the hotel had to offer. The owners where so nice and could not do enough for us they made the place so pleasurable to stay there, also the hotel was so clean and we could not believe our eyes when we got the bill and realised how reasonable it was , we will definately be back next year !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirhviehef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

i stayed in galini pension in july. i have been to ios 3 times but this hotel was by far the best and thanks to the owners you guys made our holiday most enjoyable and i really appreciated the free and fast wi-fi internet. this place was great and loved how the staff kept it so well cleaned. see you next year

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry_Sullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yialos
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helena
Hotel Helena
#17 of 42 in Ios
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
A1 Princess Sissy Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Mata
Villa Mata
#27 of 42 in Ios
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liostasi Hotel & Suites
1.7 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#6 of 10 in Milopotas
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galini Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galini Pension

Property: Galini Pension
Address: Yialos 84001, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Yialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Galini Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galini pension is a family run business it is situated nicely beside the port of Ios and Yialos Beach. With a peaceful and friendly atmosphere all of our rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, tv, fridge and ensuite standard, some of our rooms also have a kitchen inside. Galini is known for the beautiful tropical garden that surrounds it, very helpful staff ,reasonable prices and good quality Galini is your perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galini Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galini Pension Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing