We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience in a nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Residence
Ranked #3 of 14 Jepara B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good experience in a nice place”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Even if the residence need a bit of maintenance, the place is quite good and it's a good ratio quality / price. The suite is wide, the bed is good, the bathroom is simple. The swimming pool is nice, close to the sea. The breakfast is really average, may be one of the worst I had in Indonesia, where I live now for 3 years (coffee is nescafe, juice is coming from the bottle...). There was no bed available for our baby. Anyway, weather was fine, sunsets were dramatic, we enjoyed our week end there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Indo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    28
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
15
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Good:
Comfortable and very clean rooms; I stayed in the standard room.
A couple of other places to eat are within walking distance. Jepara Marine restaurant is excellent and CV Joglo Putu Inten resort is very good.
Very nice pool and and poolside seating. There's a private area on the beach that was kept clean with outdoor beanbags to sit on. It was pretty comfortable and a nice place to sit and watch the sunsets.
Security seemed to be very good.
The staff were very helpful.

The Bad:
Food was okay, but the coffee was horrible. I need some good coffee in the morning.
The beach is a dump. It wouldn't take much to pay someone to clean it every day and maybe some netting for a swim area in the ocean as the area in front of the hotel isn't very big.
If the place is full it can be a bit crowded in the morning during breakfast.
The parking area was tiny and a bit difficult to maneuver in.

Overall:
I checked out several other places in the area and this looked like one of the better options with the way the pool area was designed. the food was a bit lacking, but like I mentioned there are two other options within walking distance to mix things up a bit. I would definitely stay there again and explore the area a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Ocean Residence and the overall experience has been a very positive one. The whole vibe of the place is very Miami beachfront villa style with an ultra nice swimming pool. The setting is enhanced with great lounge music playing at the pool and the public area which makes it an excellent place to chill while watching the sun go down. The rooms are cozy and feature for indonesian standard very reasonable sound proofing. The location of the residence is quite far from the nearest mosque, so there are no disturbances early in the morning ( unlike many places in Indonesia ). I warmly recommend it.

Room Tip: The number 5 was very quiet. Please note that this is coming from an ultra light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pero007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed 3 nights in the delightful hotel , the huge and modern suite we had , room 1 was fully equipped with kitchen , dining / lounge area , indo vision and very effective aircon . The bath room was big well equipped and very clean , as the hotel is absolute beach front the views from the suite where fantastic , the beach its self is a let down due to the rubbish blown in by the wet season winds , thankfully the hotel has a magnificent swimming pool and gardens . The bar and restaurant have superb ocean views , good food and very cold beer . Jepara is a delightful town and well worth a visit and made all the better by staying at this hotel .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was our third stay and every year there are new upgrades to the facility. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The owners were on site this year and were very concerned that we enjoyed our extended stay. The only downside is the limited breakfast menu. We were there during the rainy season so the beach was not pristine but the gardener did try his best. There are nearby restaurants . Jepara is a very nice small city in. Central Java specializing in furniture manufacturing. The saying that the hotel is hard to find but hard to forget says it all!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I had the opportunity to spend 4 nights at this hotel. The entrance off the main road is easy to miss, and the small lane is a little intimidating at night. We pulled up after dark, and I thought oh, no. It was very dark and there was a great deal of construction going on. It honestly wasn't very inviting.

Once past the construction, this was a great place. Very pretty setting and an extremely helpful staff. There are 14 rooms and there were always at least 3 people tending the bar area from 7 am until 11 pm. The rooms were large and clean, and they do have laundry service.

I would recommend to anyone looking to get away and relax.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I stayed here for one night, I arrived late and was checked in very easily. THe rooms were very spacious, clean and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Good value for money if you are in this area

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sinkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jepara hotels
3.8 mi away
d'SEASON Premiere
d'SEASON Premiere
#1 of 6 in Jepara
90 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jepara Indah Hotel
Jepara Indah Hotel
#4 of 6 in Jepara
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Syailendra Hotel
Syailendra Hotel
#2 of 6 in Jepara
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jepara Beach Hotel
Jepara Beach Hotel
#10 of 14 in Jepara
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gecho Inn
The Gecho Inn
#2 of 14 in Jepara
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Villa Jepara
Bayfront Villa Jepara
#6 of 11 in Jepara
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Residence

Property: Ocean View Residence
Address: Rt 01 Rw 01 Jln. Pemuda | Tahunan Jepara, Jepara 59412, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Jepara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Jepara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Residence offers modern minimalist rooms with free Wi-Fi in Desa Tegal Sambi, Jepara. The property features an ocean facing outdoor pool, a restaurant, a wellness center and absolute beachfront. Every morning we serve breakfast buffet featuring local and international courts. Ocean View Residence is a 5-minute drive to Saudara Swalayan shopping mall. Semarang city and Achmad Yani International Airport are both approximately a 2-hour drive from the residence. Kartini Beach Harbor is a 7-minute drive from the property, from there Karimun Jawa Island is reachable within a 2-hour boat ride. Laundry and airport transfer services can be arranged at an extra cost. All rooms have a cable TV, minibar, electric kettle and terrace. Private bathroom comes with a shower or bathtub, toilet and free toiletries. Guests can relax with a massage at our wellness center, go fishing or canoing. Barbecue facilities are available. Ocean View's Restaurant serves a selection of Western, Chinese and local Indonesian food. Other dining options are located within a 5-minute walk. The private Jetty will make you feel like you are in Bali. Enjoy the best sunset from Jepara. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean View Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing