We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, quiet location by the Minoan ruins” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akrotiri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akrotiri Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet location by the Minoan ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

The only hotel in this quiet location. The hotel owner (whose father built it) showed his consideration from the start by offering me the choice of a room with a view or easy access. He was pleasant, helpful and polite throughout, offering to let me use the room later than the standard check-out time on my last day even without being asked - a very rare courtesy from hoteliers.
The room was well equipped and everything worked. The fridge was particularly handy.
Nothing disturbed my night's sleep other than the unaccustomed sound of waves on the rocky beach - not ideal for a pre-breakfast swim but serviceable, and in any case several sandier beaches are within a short walk. The breakfast buffet was good and on time, not always the case in Greece.
The café has only a limited range, but there are several restaurants along the shore by the hotel and more options in Akrotiri village, a pleasant stroll away. I found the café handy for a beer at sunset by the sea.
The Minoan ruins are close by, so it's easy to make an early start before the tourist buses pour in. I shared the ruined town with only three or four other visitors.

Room Tip: No elevator - if you have trouble with stairs, ask for a ground-level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohntheFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    22
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
33
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We chose this hotel for the peace & tranquility! Great views of the bay from our private patio & the room & bathroom was large with much sun & lovely cool breezes. Breakfasts were sumptious & fresh. We loved the family who are very warm, hospitable,kind,helpful & accommodating. We adore the sunbeds & umbrellas on the pebble beach which is very close to the hotel. My favourite pastime before sunset was to sip an ouza which Mathios made so well. He and his wife, Anna make a lovely frappe which I enjoyed every afternoon. The seaside restaurants along the bay are so near this hotel & we loved eating each night at a different one. The best one to eat in our opinion is Nikolas Cave where Mama Margerita makes fantastic traditional Greek goat & rabbit dishes. Mathios & his Pappa are very friendly & helpful. Mama Irini makes the best breakfasts & is very beautiful. The cleaning lady, Ginka speaks great English & is very efficient & friendly. The stunning views from the 2 guest patios overlooks the sea & little bay - they are very private & for guests only. This hotel is also very close to the prehistoric Greek museum & the public buses stop right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the public area where the buses stop are better & have magnificent views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scamons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel is situated in a great area near the town of Akrotiri with a great view. The hotel is right near the sea ( 1 meter from the sea ). The owners of the hotel are really nice guys, always polite, happy and ready to help you in any case. They are the nicest people I've ever seen. All the rooms are very clean and pretty, there is an air conditioner and a TV set in each room. The area where the hotel is situated are not crowded with tourists and that fact is really great. There are a lot of greek taverns on the beach near the hotel, where you can eat the freashest fish and the traditional greek cousine, one of these taverns, "The caves of Nicolaos" was awarded like the best tavern on Santorini. From the beach near the hotel you can go to Red Beach ( wich is very nice), White Beach and Black Beach ( with the beautiful black voulcanic sand) by boat for 5 euros. Near this hotel is situated "The Prehistoric town of Akrotiri", the museum, the ancient city. You can rent a car or a scooter with the help of the owner of the hotel and travel across the island.
I recommend this hotel for everyone who wants to spend a great time on Santorini for a good price :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 922Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

Excellent value! Location was right on the water, excellent views! Service was very good and would definitley stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller7299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
4.0 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mathios Village
Hotel Mathios Village
#4 of 12 in Akrotiri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
7.8 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
6.2 mi away
Artemis Village
Artemis Village
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akrotiri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akrotiri Hotel

Property: Akrotiri Hotel
Address: Santorini Island, Akrotiri 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Akrotiri Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Akrotiri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akrotiri Hotel Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing