We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learning about Greece through instruments and music”
Review of La Ponta

La Ponta
Ranked #7 of 16 things to do in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: La Ponta is located in a 13th century Venetian tower, within the castle of Akrotiri. It boasts an exquisite panoramic view of the island and is 1km above the pre-historic archaeological site of Akrotiri, Santorini. The tower hosts a tsabouna - Greek folk wind instrument of the bagpipe family - exhibition along with traditional Greek percussion and flutes. The tower was lovingly restored internally by the current caretakers- Argy Kakissis and Yannis Pantazis In our workshop we construct the tsabouna, various traditional and ancient Greek flutes and the Cycladic drum doubaki. Handcrafted musical instruments, unique books, prints and rare artifacts may be acquired in our shop. Musical and historical guided tours Explore the history of the tower, the origin of the tsabouna and an interactive presentation of the instruments constructed in the workshop. Evening Concerts As part of our effort to promote the cultural identity of Greece La Ponta presents the evening concert series "Sounds from the Castle". Summer 2017 from May until October. Daily ancient Greek flute making workshop Make your own pan flute in 1 hour. Great for children and adults. Everyone will learn, make and play their own flute.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Learning about Greece through instruments and music”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Perhaps since we didn't expect anything we were so pleased with the beautiful evening concert "Notes of the Centuries") by both Yannis Pantazis (he and his wife are refurbishing the tower) and accompanied by Thanasis Keopas (excellent guitarist!). In amazing surroundings, playing on 'ancient' instruments that he has made, Yannis shares the story of Greek music heritage. The ancient 'lyre' and the bagpipes were the highlights. By the way, the Greek bagpipe is nothing like the Scottish one - you must hear it to appreciate it. The whole room (about 20 of us) were up on our feet, stamping, clapping - amazing music & spirit! The walk up to the tower was interesting as you pass between lived-in homes, no hotels or restaurants (for a change!). Nice photo opportunities as well. Everyone was warm and welcoming. Definitely try not to miss & catch one of these concerts - worthwhile !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JCB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    47
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Stunning venue, super music, terrible hostess”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this beautiful partly renovated Venetian castle for a unique performance with traditional musical instruments. The venue was superb and the initial welcome was good. The music was soulful and very soothing! Unfortunately our experience was marred by the awful behaviour of our blond hostess and owner of the castle who instead of endearing and embracing our children three of which are 9 and one who is 4 she had a vitriolic outburst and complained to her staff that our children would ruin the concert. She further voiced her displeasure due to them showing enthusiastic interest in her display of instruments for sale. She subsequently banned the kids from entering the premises. This behaviour was in direct contrast to her apparent purpose that she is collecting donations to not only renovate the castle but to turn the premises into a music center for children. We obviously did not donate nor did we buy our children any instruments that were for sale. Our children were as always impeccably behaved. I suggest if you are wanting to see this leave your kids at home.

Helpful?
3 Thank 312578Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth a Little Look”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very nice and has interesting information about the Island in too.

It is nice as you walk up to it, you go up a tiny alleyway that gives you a bit of an insight into the lives of Santorini people too.

It's FREE!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelfuterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
357 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“A nice stop in Akrotiri”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is worth a look if you are in the Akrotiri area. Not big, but quite interesting and the artifacts are nicely displayed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Historic Venetian Castle in Old Town Akrotiri”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Located just a hundred meters or so from the small town center of Akrotiri, La Ponta, the town's Venetian tower was fun to explore during the day and the night. During the day the walk through the old town to the tower is simple and the ruins of the tower make great photo ops and exploring options as there is literally no one there to monitor visitors until they enter the final part of the tower. The views from the main patio are beautiful, and the refurbished interior of La Ponta is picturesque and worth seeing. During the nights that my wife and I were in Akrotiri, a concert was being conducted at night that consisted of 10 different songs being played by 10 different instruments, all recounting some aspect of the journey of Odysseus back to his homeland. Needless to say, sitting on the patio hearing the haunting woodwinds sweep across the top of the hill was a memorable moment in a memorable place. Definitely visit if you have the time.

Parking will be much easier if you have an atv/scooter, or if you take the bus to Akrotiri you can get out at the town center and the walk is less than 5 minutes to the tower.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanroseberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Ponta also viewed

 
Akrotiri, Santorini
 

Been to La Ponta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing