We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So interesting.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akrotiri Archaeological Site

Akrotiri Archaeological Site
Book In Advance
More Info
US$109.90*
and up
Classical Santorini Tour on Electric Bike
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ancient city was covered in a heap of volcanic ash in the late 17th century B.C., preserving it for present-day archaeologists and interested tourists. The site is so well preserved that it is often referred to as the Pompeii of the Aegean.
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So interesting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Such and incredible experience. Definitely a must see if you are in Santorini. And plus do yourself a favorite and hire a tour guide. You get so much more out of it and it really brings the place to life.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sahara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,789
    1,058
    428
    133
    72
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excavation site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Best kept archeological site I've seen so far on the Greek islands. It is completely covered and the explanations are clear.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marliesje77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We travelled here very easily on the local bus and we did not really know what to expect but what we found was amazing!!! It is a huge archaeological site of and ancient town which is housed inside a specially designed building. It really really is a must visit in Santorini.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LibWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cheated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were keen to visit this site as we loved Pompei which we had previously visited.On the day only part of the Akrotiri site was open.Meaning that we only got to see inside the bioclamtic building.That in itself is a wonderful building but one questions just how much damage building it has done to the remains.
That being said it was interesting but simply did not compare to pompei.It is a very small site ,as yet,and we fealt sheated that all the artifacts had been sent to a museum in Athens.None of the paintings etc were available to view .As these were renowned to be in such good order we were disappointed.
We did use what probably turned out to be the best toilets in Santorini though- modern clean and uncrowded.
The bus from Fira to Astrokiri cost 1.8 euro and you need to alight at the Museum.
If you are a history buff don't miss it ,otherwise prioritise this visit alongside everything else.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lbl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good but no pompei”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Don't know why but wasn't impressed with this as much as I should have been. It seems as though they have removed everything of interest to museums all round Greece but not put anything to show what was found. It is still a must see though purely because of the history

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank trevorhealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akrotiri Archaeological Site also viewed

 

Been to Akrotiri Archaeological Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing