We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff, great food & a tireless view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Acroterra Rosa Luxury Suites
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, great food & a tireless view”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Acroterra Rosa for a week in mid September and were extremely impressed with the hotel. We are fairly used to five star accommodation and quite discerning in our tastes, not to mention my wife also being pregnant and having numerous dietary requests throughout the stay. The service was pretty much impeccable throughout.
One of the highlights of the hotel is definitely the view, one you simply never tire of staring at. It's such a broad panorama of the cliffs and caldera, really stunning and it helps that you can so easily enjoy it from the pool area. The hotel is just by the side of a road and quite open, but then the road itself was very quiet so didn't disturb you when relaxing by the pool.
The pool is great with one exception, it is extremely cold. We swam quite a lot BUT it was an effort to get in. Not sure whether this is because of the time of year or not (probably not as it was around 28 degrees everyday). The pool area is really nice and generally the taste in music was good and very relaxing. We had breakfast out by the pool each day too. The food at the hotel is excellent, the chef is an absolute star and nothing was too much trouble. He made fresh pancakes several times (complimentary on occasion at night when we returned from a day or evening out) and the fresh bread at breakfast was superb. Although not a huge range of food at breakfast, everything was extremely fresh, eggs made to order etc. Coffee and orange juice also great. Overall I couldn't fault the food at all, which is so important when you are staying in the same place for several days. The restaurant staff also went out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Everyday they set up a special table at our request outside, no trouble at all. Their attitude was superb, always happy to serve with a smile. Happy to chat but not intrusive. Very professional always and very friendly. The restaurant manager and both waiters were exactly the same - standards never slipped once, no matter what the request. The hotel is very new, (opened this year around April I believe) so everything is spotlessly clean too. Rooms have balconies and are a good size. Beds big and comfortable.
We hired a car for the whole week we were there, mainly because the hotel is located around a 30 minute drive from Oia (the most picturesque town) but it's not a difficult drive. Oia is at the other end of the island (to Akrotiri) and you pay a huge premium to stay there - so obviously for a similar price you won't get this kind of service or quality. Depends on your priority. We found being 30 minutes away was ok, we were able to drive to Oia a couple of times, visit Fira (the capital and also really worth seeing) a couple of times and be far enough away to avoid the crowds for the majority of the trip. (Oia gets pretty busy with tourists, especially near the castle ruins at sunset). We also tried a couple of top restaurants, neither of which were worth the visit. 1800 in Oia was very disappointing, as was Selene (meze not the fine dining) which was pretty awful really. The best restaurant we found was 'Sea Side by Notos' which is worth the trip to Perivolos.
Overall we had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElHutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    19
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
119
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, england, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have stayed in many five star hotels over the years and I have to say that the Acroterra just feels that something special. It could be the amazing views that you truly never get sick of, the stunning design of the restaurant/bar and rooms, the beauty of the island or actually it is more likely to be how warm and friendly the staff are. From our welcome it was so special. Gorgeous cool homemade lemonade with a cooling towel- reception girls were so lovely. Then, you go to the pool and bar. George and Aris are amazing. They are warm, friendly, offer great service, can't do enough for you and truly go that extra mile for all their guests. In addition to this how the last person can comment on the food could be better - I disagree. We ate in the hotel many nights and could not fault the quality of the food the chef and his helper were both fantastic and so flexible if you even wanted something that wasn't on the menu. Where else would you get this
This is definitely one very special place made all the more special by two people who look after you so well (also closely supervised by their granda - sorry, you know who you are)
We'll definitely be back next year and we really hope to see the same faces
Thank you for a wonderful break

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky-Gerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at Acrotera Rossa and we were not disappointed by the experience. The view is sensational and the rooms are brand new. The service is also great , staff is always very kind and helpful but could know better the restaurant on the island. On the negative side the food was not up to our expectations. Furthermore as there is a road in front of the hotel you hear a bit the traffic. Overall a very good value for money hotel that we can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaykay0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have just returned from our holiday of 10 nights (2-12th Sept) at this fantastic hotel and we weren't disappointed.

We chose the hotel because it provided stunning views of the caldera whilst retaining the luxury of a 5* hotel without commanding the premiums of locations such as Fira and Oia.

From the moment we arrived it was clear that we had made the right decision. The hotel was clean, spacious and modern. The greeting was warm and friendly with complimentary homemade lemonade and cool soothing towels.

After a guided tour of the hotel from the lovely Rosa we went up to our suite which was beautifully presented and provided breath-taking views of the caldera from our balcony. The bed was king-size, clean and very comfortable. The suite was fully equipped with air conditioning, a safe and fridge - amongst other utilities you would expect of a luxury hotel.

We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant on our first evening and this set the tone for the rest of our stay. The head-waiter Vaggelis (not sure about spelling) went to every effort to accommodate our needs: he was warm, polite and worked very well with the kitchen staff to create off-menu dishes for my partner who is vegetarian. The food was delicious and served to a high standard - I can thoroughly recommend the moussaka.

Breakfast was no different, with a fabulous buffet to chose from and just when you think you cannot eat any more, the staff ask if you would like anything prepared from the kitchen! I enjoyed a variety of omelets, crepes and eggs.

Throughout the day relaxing by the pool was a delight with an array of sun-beds to chose from. There was nothing better than having a cappuccino perfectly prepared by Aris or a refreshing cocktail conjured by George - gazing at the wonderful view of the caldera.

This is a family run hotel with an excellent atmosphere. For us, the location was perfect with easy access (10 mins taxi) to the beaches at Perissa & Perivolos and the Red Beach within walking distance (15 mins). We also enjoyed day trips to Fira and Oia which were easily accessible by bus. The reception staff will go to every effort to make your stay stress free: ordering taxis, printing maps & booking excursions.

Santorini is a wonderful island and this hotel will not let you down, I would return in a heart beat!

Jim & Emily

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Although we didn't plan on staying at this hotel, we found ourselves there for 6 wonderful nights. The facility is clean and modern and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel views are spectacular and even though the hotel is on a well traveled road, there was never any congestion like you would experience in Oia or Fira.

I would stay at this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Fantastic staff, great food and views what more can I say. We stayed for a week 10-17th August 2013. From the airport pick to check-in you were made to feel special and what a start to such a relaxing weeks holiday. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Staff were extremely helpful and responded to every request. The front desk have some amazing recommendations for things to do and awesome restaurants by the beach. The food in in the hotel its self was very good and Vangelis looked after us so well and in fact he looked after everyone. The pool area is stunning with an amazing view of the Caldara. We did hire a car through the hotel and it was excellent value. This did allow us to get to the Thira and Oia (we could also return to the peace and quiet of the hotel). The Island did lose power while we were there but the hotel had a brand new generator to keep everything going. They managed the Islands power station problem very well. Thanks to all the staff for such a relaxing and wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

When we booked this hotel there were no trip advisor reviews, which worried me slightly. However, there was no need to worry. This family run hotel was perfect in every way. The staff could not do more for us. Anything we asked for we got it and they were all so friendly. The food is gorgeous. We had breakfast here, lunch and dinner on a few occasions and each time the food was great. The wine and cocktails were also great especailly when compared to the wine quality you get in top Fira restaurants. We stayed for 7 nights and we didn't want to leave. It was a welcomed relief to come back to the hotel after being in the crowded and sometimes unfriendly Fira and Oia. Close to the best beaches in Santorini and wonderful restaurants ( Nimelis at Red Beach). We stayed during the power cut and it did not effect us at all. The hotel had the foresight to install a generator and we had power, a/c and water the whole week, whereas other hotels, bars and restaurants did not have power, flushing toilets and water!

A truly great hotel, staff and location! Perfect in everyday!

Room Tip: 105 had a larger balcony than the other junior suits and a view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kori675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
0.3 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Astarte Suites
Astarte Suites
#3 of 12 in Akrotiri
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Des Lys
Maison Des Lys
#8 of 12 in Akrotiri
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Calderas Dolphin Suites
Calderas Dolphin Suites
#2 of 7 in Megalochori
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avant Garde Suites
Avant Garde Suites
#7 of 12 in Akrotiri
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Aegean Luxury Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acroterra Rosa Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acroterra Rosa Luxury Suites

Property: Acroterra Rosa Luxury Suites
Address: Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Acroterra Rosa Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Acroterra Rosa Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acroterra Rosa Luxury Suites Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing