We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was perfect !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mathios Village
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“It was perfect !”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The staff and the owner are very nice, the restaurant has the best quality of food I 've tasted on the island (and we did a lot of restaurants on Santorini) , and the frame is just gorgeous!
I sincerely recommend staying at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutuf04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are so happy to read from you about our hotel and restaurant any time welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    162
    41
    41
    48
See reviews for
164
381
26
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had an extremely unpleasant experience with the hotel owner. He completely took advantage of us. When we booked the hotel it said that wifi and breakfast price were included. However, upon our arrival additional charges were applied to those facilities and services. To top it off, he swiped the sea view room, which we booked for, with the garden view that came with three individuals beds. We were charged too much for the triple bedroom. When we voiced our complaints to him he threatened to check us out immediately. Dumbfounded by his rude behaviour, my boyfriend and I had no choice but to go with what he said. Definitely the worst hotel experience ever. Completely ruined our time in Santorini given the drama we had with the owner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your time to add your letter , let me answer to your letter , you had a basic suite and you wanted to have another posibility to see , another room , we offer you one of our lux triple rooms that cost 40 euros extra and we didnt charge you,your daily cost it was only 90 euros in the middle of hight seasson , you told me that you like it , it was booked to some one else and i change all my plan to help you , Your booking it was lnly stay , we hade so much push from you to have breakfast for free , and of course if we dont give it free , we are the worsh hotel in greece , next day i help you with your rental , i was very nice ,you past my office all is perfect now we are again really bad , my seggestion if you travel please smile i told you also on arrival , life is nice - dont send bad energy it is not healthy for all - the picture of your room is on my site www.vmathios.gr , great room great size , large bathroom 42 TV,LCD , But if you travel one time in your life you cant undertands it thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I'm leaving tomorrow :((, so this is a promise made to myself, four days weren't enough.

1.The place itself looks wonderful, very stylish and simple at the same time. Good taste shows everywhere
2 There are two pools, with the cleanest water we ever saw (traveled in more than 20 countries, both for business and holiday)
3. The owner, Kostas, upgraded our room for free, we were lucky it was one available. Please, if you plan to stay here ask for a room with a view, it deserves the money. He also gave us very good advice about which places to visit. Ask him, he knows
4. The staff - all of them very kind and helpful, especially Vasili. Big thank you to all of them
5. Cleanliness - all the services were five stars +, we were very impressed

Actually there are more than five reasons (price, location...) I'll stop here, as I'm thinking you might find yours by yourself :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Letter like yours , give is power to go on , from both of you , that you travel for work and vacation and you have experience on Hotels , thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

As a young couple on a budget we got a good deal on the superior room at mathios. To explain why we've not given the highest rating for value is that we got booked through Expedia at a significantly reduced rate to the advertised price and although we had a wonderful time we would not have been able to stay at the hotel if we had paid full price. The hotel was easy to find on the local buses which are fast, cheap and fairly regular. Akrotiri is a beautiful part of the island and the hotel was in the perfect place for us, quiet but with good links to the busier tourist spots especially if you hire a quad bike or other transport which Kostas can sort out for you at the hotel. We loved having the freedom of our ATV for exploring Santorini. The room and bathroom was a good size, the beds were comfortable and our rooms AC meant we had no problems with the heat. We had a fabulous shady little balcony that opened out from the room and it overlooked the pool on one side. The hotel was spotless and the staff were constantly working hard to keep everything clean and neat and our room was cleaned everyday faultlessly. The pools were wonderful and we spent time relaxing on the many sunbeds available. The food was reasonably priced and we ate several times at the hotel restaurant. The food was nice and was very authentically greek and the atmosphere was very pleasant but we also really liked trying the fresh seafood at other restaurants in Akrotiri. You must try one of the boat trips to the volcano and hot springs that Kostas can organise from the hotel as it was one of our highlights of the whole trip!! All in all we had a wonderful time on the island and were lucky to have found such a welcoming hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Beautiful balconies on top floor poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the Mathios Village and must say that we have had a most relaxing time. This is the fourth Greek Island we have visited and must say is the best. Costas and his family and staff made us most welcome. We opted for the half board option and received traditional Greek food, (not tourist food that you can get on other islands) every day, made by his mum and was most filling. The room and pool was kept extremely clean by all the staff, especially the 'Pink' ladies. Thanks also to Vasilly who worked very hard throughout our stay. (I hope you pay him well Costas, he deserves it!) Considering it was August, it was never crowded and was peaceful if you just wanted to sunbathe by the pool.

Out of the hotel it was a very SHORT walk into Akrotiri village where there were a few more tavernas. The archealogical excavation at Akrotiri took about 15 minutes walk or you can get the bus. It was worth the visit as it was much larger than we expected, but could have done with a guide book maybe. We visited the Museum in Thera where items from the excavation are on display, which is worth going.

We also used the local buses which were only every half hour into Thera (only 1.80 euro) then take other buses to different places on the island like Oia, although crowded because of the time of year and depending on whether the cruise ships are in.

We most definitely would visit Mathios again without hesitation, but maybe hire a car next time to see more of the island. (there was more to see, an excuse to go back again)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karate_mum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
thank you so much , for all ,we loves to have you for 14 nights we wait for you next year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

In general - nice design, calm place and good pool. Rude and not friendly manager, poor breakfast, awful towels, far from the town and beaches. It is little bit far from the towns and the beaches, hire a car or a bike. The beach nearby is 300 meters walk but down and up the serious hill. Quite difficult to walk it up in the afternoon. There is some cute restaurants nearby in Akrotiri where you can try local food and wine. Go to see sunset at the Lighthouse, unforgettable experience. Take in mind that Santorini is known as honeymoon romantic destination, so if you travel with family it is lack for entertainment for children for you. But sea is great and it should be enough fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for the review and your time , first time I have seen that we are rude and not friendly, but it is your opinion , daily we have 130 guest different characters daily , we can’t please all, we run day and night to help our visitors, but I have seen on TripAdvisor you give often negative reviews for no reason , our breakfast is fine with so many things and our towels are new of this year , the water is hard that’s all , stay few nights with out to see all you can’t have so strong opinion , our beach has the best views on the island but SANTORINI have few hills we are not Miami .
We are in walking distance to akrotiri village to the famous excavations to the red beach , the white the famous winery’s and small villages likes megalochori and pirgos so near from us ,please smile when you travel but thank you to choose us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel Mathios is a nice family run place - very clean and nice rooms. In general the whole area is kept very clean and nice. We enjoyed the silence by the pool.
The food menu which you are offered at the hotel is not good very good - nor is the breakfast setup.
In the Akritori area there are not much to do (which was completely OK for us) - nor the restaurants are very good - except for one - try the fish restaurant Remezzo very close to Mathios - just down the hill on the other side of the road. Amazing fresh fish served with love.
A special thanks to Minna + Kostas for making it a pleasant stay - thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laidbacklion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hello from Kostas thank you for the letter , and good luck with your baby also , it was nice to have you in mathios, your booking it was with groupon you had , stay & dinner standard menu , in your offer , The menu it was and it is 12 euros per person , , you always like our meals, I’m every day in the restaurant , every night i also speak with you , we serve on sale a promotion menu , and also allacart , and I had so many guest, last minute that want to book that menu and it was not available , last minute , the menu has salad can be mixed or tomato cucumber , also can be tzatziki or cheese salad or Tarama , first plate can be cheese pie spinach pie , dolmades , and so many more ideas , and main dish , can be mousaka , pork special , chicken , giouvetsi , fish , and so many possibility’s and dessert included .
we also have alla cart more possibility’s with normal rates also , and we have with real fresh mullet and red mullet shrimps lobster and so many possibility’s daily fresh but can’t be on the menu of 12 euros stay, I have so many guest that eat in our restaurant and for noon and st dinner why we have homemade cooking , one example the family next to you booked for 2014 in mathios again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
4.0 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 39 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.2 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#1 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
4.8 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
3.6 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 39 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mathios Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mathios Village

Property: Hotel Mathios Village
Address: Akrotiri | Akrotiriou Road, Akrotiri 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mathios Village 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel with a swimming pools in the historical akrotiri near the famous red white and caldera beach with , restaurant , pool bar , travel agency we offer rooms , suites , family rooms special offers and packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mathios Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathios Village Hotel
Mathios Village Akrotiri
Hotel Mathios Village Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing