We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb stay for our anniversary in Santorini” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mathios Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mathios Village
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb stay for our anniversary in Santorini”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We Knew that we had not booked a five star hotel for our stay, however we found the hotel to be above our expectations in most ways. The whole ambience of the place made our stay an unforgettable experience, Kostas and his staff did everything to please us, we felt like one of the family, this is a small but cosy hotel thus the menu is not very exciting but for the price its acceptable. Over all a lovely experience....we definitely are coming back, Thank you every one at Hotel Mathios Village we had the best anniversary!!!!

Room Tip: we had a pool side room which was very pleasant and quiet but we guess the ones facing the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MabelDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    162
    41
    41
    48
See reviews for
164
380
26
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Arrival
On arrival at the hotel we were pleasantly surprised by the airy and spacious reception area and warm greeting from Kostas the owner. He explained and greeted us in English, but we also heard him converse with Italian and French guests fluently... Made me feel bad that I didn't learn more Greek!

He clearly explained where everything was, the timings for breakfast, restaurant, pool etc.
Kostas' recommendation to us was that we spent the first couple of days just chilling out and getting into the Greek pace of life. If we then wanted to explore further to come back to him to arrange a vehicle or tours. This proved excellent advice and contrary to other reviews there was no hard sell, just a genuine desire to ensure we made the most of our visit.

Accommodation
We had booked a suite and on arrival were upgraded to a lovely sea view suite with mezzanine sleeping area next to the hotel's private chapel. Everything was kept very clean with new towels and bedding. The cleaning staff obviously take pride in what they do and the room was always serviced when we were out - we were never disturbed by housekeeping.

Hotel grounds
With two pools and lovely garden areas, it is obvious that Kostas and team care about the grounds of the hotel. There were always plenty of sunbeds available for guests and the swimming pools looked well maintained and super clear. The suite we were in had a private terrace overlooking the small garden area but if you aren't that fortunate its well worth walking through it to appreciate the flowers and shrubs that must be hard to sustain given the lack of rain on the island - you may even make friends with the local cats / kittens who play there.

Food and drink
We paid to have breakfast included as we find this easier rather than booking room only. The continental buffet style breakfast was the usual bread, meat, cheese, juice, cereal but also included yogurt, honey and biscuits. There was the option to pay extra for cooked items but the buffet was fine and kept us going til lunch.

We only ate at the hotel restaurant on one occasion, because we wanted to explore the local tavernas, but their moussaka and vegetarian platter were both excellent. The taste of after dinner Raki was a new experience!

Exploring
After a few days of r&r we wanted to explore the island in more detail. We used local buses to visit Fira and Oia which were air conditioned, reasonably priced and on time. To then see some more remote areas we hired an atv through Kostas. It cost us €30 plus fuel for the day and we thoroughly enjoyed nipping around both roads and dirt tracks. It allowed us to visit the Santorini brewery near Kamari (home of the donkey beer) and take advantage of the free tasting. We also drove to the long black beaches of Perissa and Perivolos, the harbour at Vlichada, the lighthouse at the far south of the island and some of the beaches you can only access via quad.

Departure
Taxis were a bit thin on the ground when it was time for us to leave so Kostas gave us a lift to the airport which was a lovely relaxed end to our holiday.

Overall
This hotel represents excellent value for money and is a great base from which to explore the island. After visiting the busy and expensive towns of Fira and Oia it felt like Mathios Village in Akrotiri was our very own rural retreat in the sun. The caldera views that hike the prices up in the capital were available by just crossing the road outside the hotel.

Thanks for a wonderful stay kostas and team, σας ευχαριστώ

Lyndsey and Chris

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite - it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffievelluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
I will like to thank you so much for your letter , it was magic . letter from some one like you, that you travel so much ,and you have experience from hotels and restaurants from all our family thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hotel Mathios
Pre arrival emails were answered quickly.
On arrival we were greeted warmly and Kostas shared his knowledge & recommendations. He was very considerate and extremely accommodating to our personal needs.
Pool area was lovely & peaceful. Whole hotel was spotless thanks to the pink ladies. Room was perfect size & shower was powerful.
Vasilli works flat out to look after you from breakfast til dinner. He always has time for a smile and a joke. He is a lovely person who did everything he could to ensure we had an enjoyable time.
Mama's cooking was ok for the price you paid and varied each day.
Breakfast, as many have mentioned, was a little repetitive but enough options to cover most peoples needs & I was happy enough with it - only thing I would of liked is stronger tea & a toaster! So hardly the end of the world!
The supermarket just next door was perfect.
Wifi was good. Fridge in the room.
Kostas was always available to help out & give you advice.
I liked the idea of this being a family business.
Personally we had an enjoyable time in this relaxed area.
A car was useful to explore the beautiful island & experience other areas & cuisine - you definitely need to get about to see what this island has to offer - it's stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicx0581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

When my family and I had first arrived at Mathios Village we were promised the best prices and deals the Island had to offer soon to find out that everything we had payed for was double the price of what the real price was. The owner (Kostas) appears very nice but is actually very rude and disrespectful to all of his customers. The girl at the front counter had promised to give us better deals but were actually double the price of the true value.
The pool is nothing but rules, no diving is allowed however it is impossible to dive into a pool so shallow. When water splashes onto the outside tiles of the pool the owners started yelling and saying things in Greek knowing we weren't able to understand.
The food was horrible and cost way too much for such an outrageous meal.
There is this one waiter that works there that defiantly gets underplayed for the amount of hours he works at the hotel, he's very kind but gets pushed around by Kostas and it is impossible to go past it with no notice.

Overall, Mathios ruined our view of Santorini because of its money hungry disrespectful owner. Defiantly not a place to pay money for. There are better hotels all around the island for better prices and deals. Don't be fooled by the lies everyone there tells.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HorribleHospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for the time you spend time to add a review , it is not nice to push any , hotel , restaurant , any rental to have something for free and if you don’t have it , to add story’s that don’t exist , all hotels have rules and also pool rules for the safety , next time please book a villa with private pool , but you cant pay 70 or 80 euros per night the room but 700 , 1000 euros per night , and you can do anything you want , respect all the guest very important , but still there , you need to respect too every one , menou meal with 12 euros per person if it is expensive to you I really can’t understand you ,take your room towels to the sea , eat from supermarkets in our restaurant , and so many nice experience that we had from you always first time on holiday you can’t understand any detail sir , I will not answer to all your story it is your personality your style ,and I don’t agree with your way enjoy life , be positive please ones more really thank you for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The staff and the owner are very nice, the restaurant has the best quality of food I 've tasted on the island (and we did a lot of restaurants on Santorini) , and the frame is just gorgeous!
I sincerely recommend staying at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tutuf04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are so happy to read from you about our hotel and restaurant any time welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had an extremely unpleasant experience with the hotel owner. He completely took advantage of us. When we booked the hotel it said that wifi and breakfast price were included. However, upon our arrival additional charges were applied to those facilities and services. To top it off, he swiped the sea view room, which we booked for, with the garden view that came with three individuals beds. We were charged too much for the triple bedroom. When we voiced our complaints to him he threatened to check us out immediately. Dumbfounded by his rude behaviour, my boyfriend and I had no choice but to go with what he said. Definitely the worst hotel experience ever. Completely ruined our time in Santorini given the drama we had with the owner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your time to add your letter , let me answer to your letter , you had a basic suite and you wanted to have another posibility to see , another room , we offer you one of our lux triple rooms that cost 40 euros extra and we didnt charge you,your daily cost it was only 90 euros in the middle of hight seasson , you told me that you like it , it was booked to some one else and i change all my plan to help you , Your booking it was lnly stay , we hade so much push from you to have breakfast for free , and of course if we dont give it free , we are the worsh hotel in greece , next day i help you with your rental , i was very nice ,you past my office all is perfect now we are again really bad , my seggestion if you travel please smile i told you also on arrival , life is nice - dont send bad energy it is not healthy for all - the picture of your room is on my site www.vmathios.gr , great room great size , large bathroom 42 TV,LCD , But if you travel one time in your life you cant undertands it thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I'm leaving tomorrow :((, so this is a promise made to myself, four days weren't enough.

1.The place itself looks wonderful, very stylish and simple at the same time. Good taste shows everywhere
2 There are two pools, with the cleanest water we ever saw (traveled in more than 20 countries, both for business and holiday)
3. The owner, Kostas, upgraded our room for free, we were lucky it was one available. Please, if you plan to stay here ask for a room with a view, it deserves the money. He also gave us very good advice about which places to visit. Ask him, he knows
4. The staff - all of them very kind and helpful, especially Vasili. Big thank you to all of them
5. Cleanliness - all the services were five stars +, we were very impressed

Actually there are more than five reasons (price, location...) I'll stop here, as I'm thinking you might find yours by yourself :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Letter like yours , give is power to go on , from both of you , that you travel for work and vacation and you have experience on Hotels , thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
4.0 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
7.2 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
4.8 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mathios Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mathios Village

Property: Hotel Mathios Village
Address: Akrotiri | Akrotiriou Road, Akrotiri 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mathios Village 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel with a swimming pools in the historical akrotiri near the famous red white and caldera beach with , restaurant , pool bar , travel agency we offer rooms , suites , family rooms special offers and packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mathios Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathios Village Hotel
Mathios Village Akrotiri
Hotel Mathios Village Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing