We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect place for a perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mathios Village
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Perfect place for a perfect holiday”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have just returned from Mathios Village and the only regret I have is that we had to leave!! We had a wonderful time with the help and support from Kostas (the hotel manager) and the rest of his team. I have never felt so welcome and at home whilst on holiday. The team work really hard to ensure you have a perfect holiday from the minute you arrive, they are there if you need them but also respect your privacy. I contacted the hotel prior to arrival and they arranged a transfer for us to and from the airport, when we arrived Kostas suggested we spend a day relaxing before making decisions about what we wanted to do, he then arranged quad hire (which I recommend - it is great fun and brilliant way to see the island) as well as a boat trip to the volcano, this was hassle free for us and the prices are no more expensive than anywhere else. The resort is spotlessly clean and each day when you return to your room it is as clean as the day you arrived. The pool is a lovely temperature and again very clean and well maintained. Hotel Mathios is a great base for exploring the island but equally relaxing and pleasant if you just want to spend a week around the pool. There is a small supermarket next door and for those who don't want to hire a vehicle there is a bus stop outside as well as the ones dotted around the village which is less than 5 miinutes walk.
There are many points nearby where you can view the most amazing sunsets.
I would recommend this hotel 100% nothing is too much trouble and I hope to return one day. Meanwhile I wish Kostas and everyone at Mathios Village all the very best for the future and a big thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandoraw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kostasp, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much !!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    163
    43
    42
    48
See reviews for
168
390
28
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was a nice hotel in Akrotiri, on the quiet side of the island. Our room was spacious, with a balcony which overlooked the pool. A big bathroom but the shower recess very small. It was in a great location, supermarket next door, and close to the bus stop to Thira. Walking distance to Red Beach, and a few restaurants in the village. The pool and surrounds were lovely and the home cooked meals were good.
My only complaint was that you had to pay for the wi if and the use of their safe.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyNowra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kostasp, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your letter and you are welcome to come back in mathios i will like to answer to your letter , first you booked a room and we offer you one of our family rooms but you forget to mention it in your letter , all the showers they have one size , only the Vip Suites we have large jaccuzis , now safe has safety has insurance and there is a small fee every were in all hotels, ones more thank you to be with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have recently spent two glorious weeks with Kostas and his team at Hotel Village Mathios. My new husband and I were celebrating our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a better location.

Kostas was the most helpful manager we have ever had the pleasure to stay with. He looked after us from day 1, helping us with our plans, offering ideas and going out of his way to ensure that we had the best time. The other members of the hotel team were also excellent and very friendly. The cleaning ladies did an amazing thorough job each day.

The location of Akrotiri I would recommend for those who like to be out of the busy town. It's quiet but with interesting areas to visit including the archaeological site and 'Annas'. Everything in Santorini is within easy reach by bus. On our second week we hired a car which allowed us to explore the whole Island. Kostas helped us with the car hire and also with several transfers that we required.

The food at the hotel is gorgeous. A good variety of Greek dishes to chose from. The wine is great also :)

A BIG thank you to Kostas and the team, we have made some good friends and memories with you. We WILL be back .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeedbackFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kostasp, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
thank you so much !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I really don't know where to start and tell you how wonderful this hotel is! We have just had the most amazing and enjoyable 2 week stay at this "jewel" of a hotel. We arrived very late on Saturday 14th June and was met by the loveliest, friendliest person I have ever met- Kostas is the manager and if I say he goes the extra mile to ensure that you have an amazing holiday it would be an understatement. It was 11.30pm when we got to the hotel and Kostas happily made some food for us - and it was delicious! - the wine was excellent too. Santorini is a beautiful island and Akrotiri is a small village not far from the main town of Fira (regular bus stops outside hotel). We were looked after so well and all staff were more than happy to help. Vassili is the waiter/barman and is a wonderful man who works so hard everyday. His lovely wife Diana looked after our room and kept it sparkling clean everyday. Tania did the cooking and that was delicious everyday. We ate al a carte but they also do a 12€ menu which is such good value and looked delicious. Kostas' father lovingly looked after the flower tubs that beautifully decorate the hotel area, tenderly dead heading them every evening. Thank you Kostas & team for looking after us so well. We arrived as guests but definitely left as friends.See you all again in October. Please stay at this hotel and I can guarantee that you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the swimming pool and are lovely. All have A/C and flat screen TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kostasp, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your gentel review , we really love your company alsways with good energy and with real smile visit our hotel eat every night in our restaurant , and also by noon , i enjoy so much your company we will miss you ! We are waiting to see you back in october
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Amazing hotel, particularly for families. Has numerous suites to accommodate parents and up to 2 kids. Rooms are meticulously clean and have a fridge. Overall setting is like a Cycladic "village". Restaurant is next to the pool, most rooms are next to the pool. All on short distance. Dinner is either halfboard or a la carte. Food is excellent home made cooked by family. Kostas (the manager) always helps his guests to the best of what he can do. Nothing seems to be impossible. He also runs a travel office in the hotel, everything can be booked there, excursions, cars, transfers, etc. Hotel is located in Akrotiri which is a quite quiet place and away from the crowds. There is excellent bus connection ot Thira. Grocery store just next door. Hotel is small, therefore a very cosy and family-like atmosphere. This hotel is an excellent catch if your are going to Santorini.
We would like to return to this place next time we get there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WInfried R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kostasp, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We were so happy to have you , thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Supported by a well-qualified and organized staff, Mr. Kostas, the owner is a most vivacious and friendly host; always available, always willing and able to inform and assist his guests regarding all aspects of their visit. The ambiance is cozy and comfortable. All areas are sparkling clean, well-maintained and tastefully decorated. Breakfast is a sumptuous buffet with a generous variety. Traditional Greek cuisine reigns supreme in the restaurant of this establishment. Dishes are prepared exclusively with fresh ingredients and local products are used as much as possible. The seafood is superb!! If you are eager to discover lesser known traditional food items, just ask your server what other treats from Tania's kitchen are waiting to meet you!!
The magical location of Santorini island and the meticulous accommodation of Hotel Mathios Village is "a match made in heaven!!!" The property is family-owned and operated with pride and dedication to the traditions of the famous Greek hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demeter4757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
182 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon a few years ago and I've been meaning to write a review. I finally set aside some time to write about the helpful staff and how they made this our favorite stop. The rooms were large, even for American standards and the value was great. We also loved how it was quieter than many of the hotels in Oia and Fira, a place where you can relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
4.8 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
3.6 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 39 in Perissa
741 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 79 in Fira
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#1 of 15 in Karteradhos
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
628 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mathios Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mathios Village

Property: Hotel Mathios Village
Address: Akrotiri | Akrotiriou Road, Akrotiri 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mathios Village 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel with a swimming pools in the historical akrotiri near the famous red white and caldera beach with , restaurant , pool bar , travel agency we offer rooms , suites , family rooms special offers and packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mathios Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathios Village Hotel
Mathios Village Akrotiri
Hotel Mathios Village Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing