We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlos Restaurant - Fantastic! :)”
Review of Carlos Pansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlos Pansion
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carlos Restaurant - Fantastic! :)”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I visited Santorini in July 2014. We stayed in Akrotiri Village and had dinner and breakfast at Carlos Restaurant. Eva was very, very kind and friendly. The food was fantastic! Eva also prepares many jams and preserves that are delicious!!! We would highly recommend this restaurant to any visitors to this great little village in Santorini. Thank you Eva and Roula for a great experience! Joanne and Orlando.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne96124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
33
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We did not stay here. We went to Akrotiri for a drive in our rented car after we checked into our hotel in Imerovigli early in the morning. We took the first flights at 5.15am from Athen to Santorini. So there was not enough time to have proper breakfast. By about 11am, we were hungry. So we walked along the streets in Akrotiri and found out that most restaurants only opened and served lunch at 12noon or 1pm.
Somehow, we walked into Carlos restaurant. It was not opened for lunch. However, the very nice and kind chef, Eva, cooked for us. Her cooking was so delicious. We had greek salad, mousaka and tomato balls.
Eva even got into our car and showed us the way to the Archeological site on her way back to her own place. A very kind lady indeed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SleekVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I loved my stay at the Carlos Pansion. Eva and her sons are so kind, welcoming and accommodating that it really felt homey. The hotel is also very close to a mini market and several restaurants, but Eva is such a fantastic cook that I often preferred eating at the hotel to going out. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The internet doesn't work in all of the rooms but it's strong in the dining room and courtyard (both of which are lovely). All in all, I had a wonderful time and hope to come back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Carlos Pension was wonderful. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The staff could not have been friendlier. They were extremely helpful with suggestions and figuring out the bus schedule. We received a light Greek breakfast each morning and were offered the opportunity for dinner as well. The location is a little bit away from Oia, but it is close to Red Beach and there is also bus that runs frequently to Oia.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aricc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finksburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Carlos Pansion is a wonderful place to see. Eva, Maria and the boys were helpful, warm and friendly. If you're looking for a quiet place to stay in Akrotiri this is a great option. My husband and I wanted to stay away from the crowds, so Carlos Pansion was a perfect option.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aladob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2008

I had the most amazing stay at Panion Carlos . Eva and her family treated myself and my two sisters like their own.
The Pansion is clean and very welcoming and Eva makes the best traditional food.
I would recommend this Pansion to everyone who wants a relaxed, simple place to stay.

  • Liked — Eva and her family
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sukkie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

I just came back from a stay at Carlos Pansion with a friend who is a long time customer. I was definitely pleased when I arrived to find a cute pension with the most loving and warm family in charge. Just as the other reviews have stated, Eva is the consummate pansion owner. She is a lovely person to talk to and is always willing to whip you up a quick meal, book you a taxi or trip on the Isabella boat, or store your luggage while you go island hopping. She also cooks some great food and cans her own fresh vegetables, jams, sauces and makes wine. She was nice enough to give me a treat as I left!

My room was very clean and well kept. Though there was no air conditioning, there was always a breeze flowing through the windows. There was always hot water in the private bath and the room was tidied up each day. I loved sitting on the porch and reading and getting to know the family and other travelers staying there. The pansion is located in Akrotiri which is at the southern end of the island. The bus stop is steps away and I suggest taking the bus everywhere on the island. It runs fairly often and is air conditioned and safer than those scooters. Akrotiri is a bit of a more remote town, but it was cool because we got to walk to the infamous red beach by the archeological site which was a wonder to see.

Maria, Eva's daughter, is also a delight. She was always bustling around and was happy to help me out and call me a taxi or just be a friendly fact to talk to. She also hooked me up with a trip on the Isabella - captained by her fiance and younger brother. She even gave me a ride to/from the boat!

I highly recommend Carlos Pansion for travelers who are looking for a place that is quiet, away from the main activity of Fira and and the other towns, a great value, and hosted by such a welcoming family. I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Lovely family who become your friends, home cooked meals, quiet, great value
  • Disliked — Had to ride the bus into town - but it wasn't really that big of a deal
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ciabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mathios Village
Hotel Mathios Village
#5 of 12 in Akrotiri
760 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 79 in Fira
786 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#11 of 12 in Akrotiri
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 39 in Perissa
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adamastos Hotel
Adamastos Hotel
#9 of 12 in Akrotiri
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos Pansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos Pansion

Property: Carlos Pansion
Address: Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlos Pansion 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Southwest corner of the majestic island of Santorini, you will find Pansion Carlos nestled in the heart of traditional Akrotiri, located 10 km from Fira, 8 km from the main port and only 12 km from the airport. Many travelers will find the relative peace and quiet of Akrotiri a refreshing break from the excitement and crowds of the more northern towns, but easy access to busses, car and moto rentals, and boat excursions leaves the island entirely within your reach. A charming town with clear traditional roots, Akrotiri blends the history of a hilltop Byzantine castle with traditional Santorini architecture. Clusters of whitewashed, blue-shuttered houses line the walk from Pansion Carlos up the hill to breathtaking and unique views of the island and its volcanoes. The town itself is situated above the prehistoric settlement of Akrotiri, one of the most important archaelogical sites in the world. The friendly locals and intimate feel of Akrotiri make it the perfect vacation destination for families, couples, and lone travelers who wish to have a relaxing trip to Greece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carlos Pansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlos Pansion Santorini, Greece
Carlos Pansion Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing