We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home!!”
Review of Carlos Pansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlos Pansion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2006

Hum ….from where should I start first.
If you are looking for luxury you will not find it here but for me and my husband the luxury was to find great people that treaded us like members of their family and not simple tourists.
Eva is an extraordinaire women that makes all of here friends(clients) feel like home.
She is an excellent cook and an adorable boss that runs the pension perfectly with the help of her 3 wonderful children and family. She also makes herself traditional products like carp leaves (delicious) in olive oil, sun dried tomatoes and marmalades. She speaks good English and French but most essentially she speaks with her heart.
The rooms are comfortable and clean the ambiance is so warm that we wouldn’t change this pension for a 5 star hotel.
Eva and her children are ready to help you out with almost anything from renting a car or motor bike, give you directions, and even take the time to talk with you over a Greek café.
The location (Acrotiri) pension permits you to visit the most important archaeological site of the island and also admire the spectacular sunrise and sun fall with out being surrounded by hundreds of people with hundreds of cameras and flashing lights.

We will be returning soon! We miss you Eva!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Elinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2006

I have stayed three times at Pansion Carlos in Akrotiri Santorini. This place is run by a widow named Eva (her deceased husband's name Carlos) and her sons and daughters. This place feels like you have visited your lon lost family who take immense pride in making sure you are as comfortable as possible whether that means leaving you completely alone if that is what you wish or completely incorporating you into their family if that is comforable for you. The rooms are clean with wonderful ocean views (those on the 2nd floor) and simple, and the cost is amazing (usually 40 euro or so). The restaurant is frequented by people who usually make their annual pilgrammage to Pansion Carlos. People who come here are hooked by the love exuded by this family. Often you will find yourself at a family meal cooked by Eva and you will feel like you are not an invited guest but actually part of the family. Beverages (including beer and wine) are at your fingertips whenever yuo want, and it is ont he honor system to pay what you think is necessary at the END of your stay, and this goes for all their wonderful food too. It is a remarkably peaceful place yet it is SO easy to get into Fira (about hourly bus - a beautiful 10 minute ride), or a 10 euro cab ride late at night if you like to go into town then. Akrotiri itself is wonderful for couples seeking a romatic refuge frmo the tourists. I cannot say enough about this place -- I ended up here randomly in 2001 and I come back every year just to stay here; I always have grand plans to visit other islands but end up staying here. whether you need your laundry washed, an extra beer or two at night, a cab called, directions, they will help yuo with anything. EXTRA special is their connections with the man\tour guide who LIVES ont he volcano; they can set up a tour of the volcano and hot springs which is 100 times better than any packaged tour, and it is on the man's boat. Eva usually comes along if you ask her enough times. Just a wonderful, giving place which is easy on the wallet.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank sumpiusaeneas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Montreal (Canada)
14
Reviewed 8 July 2006

I've been in Santorini in May 2006. I wanted to stay in a quite place, far from crowds and tourists. So I avoided Fira and Ia and I chose a pension located in Akrotiri, which is 7 km from the port. If you don't have a car or a scooter, it's easy to get to Fira by bus, from where you can take buses to go almost everywhere on the island. Bus stop is only 50 m from the pension.

Pension Carlos is a such great place! It's a family pension, managed by Eva and her children with great care and love. They are really nice and warm people, very welcoming. Rooms are very clean, with private bathroom.

Eva cooks so good food and I was used to have supper in her restaurant every night, which is adjacent to the pension. It was so delicious! Breakfast was included, with homemade jams prepared by Eva. Eva's daughter, Maria, speaks greek, english, spanish and french.

Maria also offers boat tours on a small boat, the Isabella, 12 m long. We went to the volcano and swam in hot springs. We came back at sunset and had greek traditionnal food on boat, prepared by Eva again, with beer and Santorini's wine. We've been at sea for more than 4 hours. For those who don't like excursion on huge boats with dozens of tourists, that's the perfect anti-touristic activity, which will give you a real taste of Greece!

I'll definitely go there again when I'll go back to Santorini!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank truitix33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle værelser har altan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sussi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matteo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
0.7 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#9 of 12 in Akrotiri
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort Santorini
Paradise Resort Santorini
#12 of 12 in Akrotiri
269 reviews
7.3 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acroterra Rosa Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mathios Village
Hotel Mathios Village
#6 of 12 in Akrotiri
810 reviews
3.9 mi away
Youth Hostel Anna
Youth Hostel Anna
#46 of 63 in Perissa
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos Pansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos Pansion

Address: Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Akrotiri
Price Range: £26 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlos Pansion 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Southwest corner of the majestic island of Santorini, you will find Pansion Carlos nestled in the heart of traditional Akrotiri, located 10 km from Fira, 8 km from the main port and only 12 km from the airport. Many travelers will find the relative peace and quiet of Akrotiri a refreshing break from the excitement and crowds of the more northern towns, but easy access to busses, car and moto rentals, and boat excursions leaves the island entirely within your reach. A charming town with clear traditional roots, Akrotiri blends the history of a hilltop Byzantine castle with traditional Santorini architecture. Clusters of whitewashed, blue-shuttered houses line the walk from Pansion Carlos up the hill to breathtaking and unique views of the island and its volcanoes. The town itself is situated above the prehistoric settlement of Akrotiri, one of the most important archaelogical sites in the world. The friendly locals and intimate feel of Akrotiri make it the perfect vacation destination for families, couples, and lone travelers who wish to have a relaxing trip to Greece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Carlos Pansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlos Pansion Santorini, Greece
Carlos Pansion Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing