We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice...not well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Esperides Sofras Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glikadi
Arad, Arad, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice...not well”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

At first sight we were impressed by the "looks" of the hotel. Well as we all know appearances are deceptive.
When we arrived the owner told us that it has been a little mistake(on there side) with the rooms and that for 3 days she has no room for us. I'm telling you it is not something you would like to here in a vacation, it was a stressful situation...and we were there to relax.
So in the end, she gave us a solution, to sleep 3 nights in another hotel. And because we were such an understanding couple she even offered us a free boat trip.
After 3 days we came back. From the very beginning the rooms were untidy. In the next days the cleaning lady came each day, but only once she swept the floor. So i can say that she cleaned only on the surface. We had bed sheets with big holes in them, that was a funny thing after all...
About breakfast and dinner i have to say in my opinion was good, not poor as others said, but not so diverse as we saw in other hotels.
In what concerns the beach...now that is indeed spectacular. It was the only thing that made me feel well after all our problems.It is a small beach, with crystal clear water and fine sand.You can even fish there. But i have something to say here, i didn't enjoy crossing the busy road to the beach. It's a dangerous thing o do.
The quality or condition of being quiet in this place is something they know about. We also had problems with disturbing neighbours, from above and there is no one at the reception, they close all the doors at 12 o'clock, so we couldn't complain to anyone.
So in the end i said to myself "all will turn out for the best" because we are going home.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V_Marian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

About 5 km from the city center, nice hotel. A small pool and a poolside bar is available. The rooms are cleaned every day. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There are rooms with different characteristics, mainly due to the sound of the road those on the street can be noisy in July and August. The breakfast is enough. The restaurant is quite warm due to the sun in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UmitIlhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I want to start by saying that Esperides is a lovely hotel, we had a great time there. The only inconvenience is that it is not in Limenas, but about 4-5 km away and we were unlucky enough to be there when taxis were on strike and, with the last bus leaving at 5 PM, the only alternative was to walk to the hotel if we wanted to stay in Limenas after 5 PM. But it's a nice walk on the road and the bus stops right in front of the hotel, and they come every half an hour, so it's really easy to get into Limenas. We also rented a car to take a tour of the island, so that made things even easier.

The rooms are really spatious and nice. The room terrace was large, with a table and chairs, built in such a way that we had privacy and no one from the other terraces could see or disturb us there. The bathrooms were big and modern, air conditioning was included in the price we paid, no extra charge. There is a nice pool outside - you can enjoy some drinks beside the pool or in the nice garden surrounding the hotel, which is really nice in the evenings. Esperides have their own private beach - you just cross the road and there you are. It's not big, but it's really enough for the hotel guests, not crowded, with sand and beautiful water.

Breakfast was included in the price as well, it's varied enough so that you can eat something else every day. If you stay for more than a week I imagine it might get a little repetitive though. The hotel has a mini-restaurant, but it's mostly grilled food and not a large selection of dishes, so we only ate there once. There are other restaurants nearby though.

All in all it was a great stay, Esperides is a lovely hotel, lovely gardens and nice atmosphere by the pool, breakfast on the terrace facing the sea and friendly personnel. We hope to go there again soon!

Room Tip: Best rooms are those that don't face the road, we slept in one by the pool and didn't hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OviTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khimki, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel was nice. The best rooms faced the woods. And of course, we got the room which faced the road. It is not a highway but all night you hear the sound of cars, passing by. It was not cool.

In general, the staff of the hotel was helpful and kind.

The breakfast was quite enough to wait until the dinner. :)

If you want to sleep quietly at night, get another hotel. If you are ok with the sound of passing cars, then the place is quite satisfactory.

The hotel owns its beach across the road, It's small but good.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the woods should be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larisa_M57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice,friendly stuff.internet ia not working in the rooms.the breakfast is very poor,u can eat some jam,cereals,milk,bad quality ham,and a few fruits like apple or cherry...and cookies.no worth to pay for breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgiana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

The overall experience with Esperides was good, but I would mention a couple of problems: poor breakfast (tap water - which is not good on the island; no fresh drinks - orange juice was missing; same food every morning, little options) and they are supposed to provide free wi-fi but it did not work for a whole week.

The view from the sea view rooms - especially on higher floors is very nice.
The staff was friendly.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Alfred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The hotel was awful.Our room was too dirty and we didn't have any view from our balcony.The only good thing was the bathroom which was renovated.The breakfast was very poor and when something was finished they didn't bring a new one.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank voula1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glikadi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glikadi
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
30 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#5 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Louloudis Hotel
Louloudis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pachis
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
A for Art
A for Art
#1 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
97 reviews
17.5 mi away
Tosca Beach Bungalows
Tosca Beach Bungalows
#9 of 14 in Kavala
99 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#19 of 89 in Thasos
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperides Sofras Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperides Sofras Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Esperides Sofras Hotel & Bungalows
Address: Glikadi, Glikadi 640 04, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Glikadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glikadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Esperides Sofras Hotel & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Esperides Sofras Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperides Sofras Hotel And Bungalows
Esperides Hotel Thásos
Esperides Sofras Hotel & Bungalows Glikadi, Greece - Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing