We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to Basics”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Far-Out Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Far-Out Camping
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Back to Basics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

When we arrived in IOS and saw what we were to sleep in we were a little disappointed, but then again it did cost us £9 per night. Our little wooden hut with a canvas roof was very basic and it was so hot at night (no fans or air con). However the facilities at Far Out more than made up for the accomodation. Poolside is amazing, beach across the road with numerous water sports, restaurants, bars all you need is right there. To be fair we weren't here to really sleep a lot so in the end the rooms were fine and we had a great time here. This is a place for the younger ones from 18-28 I would say, definitely a party place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    38
    15
    13
    13
See reviews for
3
20
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

The food- amazing.
The location- amazing

The sleep quality- terrible
The cleanliness- terrible.

Great atmosphere for partying.
Amazing pool facilities!!! The best I've ever stayed at.

Basically- the days were great, the evenings were great- but I dreaded going up to sleep.

I was in a bed tent. I would highly recommend send the extra snd get a bungalow... So highly!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalalalalala76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
148 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The camping is clean enough, the food is really good and the best part is the beach in front of it! In 1 minute you are at the beach!!! But the average age is like 19-20. Take that into consideration before you go! For me the biggest disadvantage is that they have loud music from early (for me always) in the morning! This camping gets an extra point cause in order to go to your tend you have to show that you stay there! The check! I like that! I feel more secure!

Room Tip: Don't go close to the restaurant cause is really noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

I see people on here saying it was too noisy/dirty etc. But you get what you pay for here. Me and my friend stayed in one of the "dog kennels" for five nights and loved every minute of it!
Its the cheapest place on Ios to stay- so don't expect five star accommodation. We only used our rooms to leave our luggage and sleep a few hours of the early morning- other than that we spent all of our time sleeping on the beach and then partying by the pool. If you are looking for a good time, STAY HERE!
We planned to stay here for 5 nights and then move to an air conditioned/cleaner pension for another 4 nights- it worked out perfectly! cant wait to come back :) (i said the sleep qualtiy was poor- thats becuase ios isnt somewhere you go to SLEEP!)

Room Tip: if your in a dog kennel, ask to be in one of the ones at the top of the hill- sure its a bit of a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy0272012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I booked to stay here but did not. The location was ok but that's about it. The place is very dirty and the accomodation is very far below average. The dorms are tents and for the cost I think a complete rip off. I think far out village is much nicer but more expensive. I stayed in a guest house around the corner for a little bit more but 100% better.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milopotas hotels

Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We went to Far Out camping from 13 to 21 of August. Our overall experience was awful. The camping kept our identity cards causing potential problems with renting vehicles, police and other activities. The staff was quite aggressive and unfriendly. The toilets were in an awful situation, so dirty that it was disgusting to use them. In fact the toilets were not properly cleaned but they just threw water with a hose. The laundry service was actually not existing: although in the website the have pictures of laundries, in fact there are not any, not even one! The sinks for dish washing are dirty as well and unusable. In the afternoon there was loud music (the same every day) which was really annoying and didn't let you relax at all. There were garbage in the surrounding area. There were also many incidents of theft. I was stolen money, and in the next tent from us were stolen shoes and a swimsuit. In addition the water slides were not working and the pool was filled with beer that campers spilled.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manolo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Far Out Camping was perfect for what it was. It was great for chilling poolside with drinks, or going to the beach a few steps away. They had a great pool party everyday from 5-10pm. The pool was nice, and there was also a basketball court and soccer cage. It was actually more like a resort for people in their early 20s. Only downside was that it was infested with 18 year-old Aussie diikheads. They broke the waterslide, ran through nearby restaurants wearing nothing but t-shirts, and would climb the platforms during the pool parties and pour champagne and beer on people. They probably made up about 60% of the population there. Plus the ratio of guys to girls was about 7-1. Great for the girls, but made for a weird vibe overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellojello1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milopotas
0.1 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#6 of 10 in Milopotas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dionysos Seaside Resort
Dionysos Seaside Resort
#2 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 44 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
#8 of 10 in Milopotas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Levantes - Ios Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far-Out Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far-Out Camping

Property: Far-Out Camping
Address: Milopotas 84001, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Milopotas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Milopotas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far Out Camping & Bungalows is built on ancient olive grove terraces right on Mylopotas beach. You may choose from a simple sheltered bamboo roof for the great pleasure of sleeping under the moon and stars to cozy beach cabins or bungalows. You may also pitch your tent under the shade of huge eucalyptus trees. All guests have full and easy access to all facilities at Far Out Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Far-Out Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far-Out Camping Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing