We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAR OUT!!!!!!”
Review of Far-Out Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Far-Out Camping
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“FAR OUT!!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I loved this place! Pool party going on from the time I arrived around 2pm! Met lots of great people. I stayed in a double bungalow with a fan, it was great! Food is a lil overpriced, you can save some money by eating down the street or in town. Also, very secluded, hard to get taxi to town to go out at night, so to avoid the long walk, I recommend taking last bus at midnight into town, grabbing a bottle or 2 with some friends, drinking it at the gyro place in the square., then hit the bars and clubs around 2am when they start getting busy. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpacksAndMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    41
    16
    14
    16
See reviews for
3
22
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

You don't go to Far Out (or Ios for that matter) to sleep, so the hot, uncomfortable tents aren't an issue when you fall into them at 7am after partying all night. The shared bathrooms aren't wonderful, but Far Out as a whole is amazing- beautiful pool, hammocks, bar, cafeteria, convenience store, all right at the beach- you'll never want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harper L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhock
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in August (2013). It was an excellent experience. We stayed in a triple bungalow, which was brilliant value. It cost 5 Euros per night to upgrade and get air con. The air con was brilliant and completely worth it.
Considering this is a lively campsite full of young people, I actually thought it was reasonably quiet after 10pm.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. The main barman; Victor, has been working at the campsite for twenty years and he was a pleasure to chat with. The campsite manager; Gabriel was brilliantly helpful, patient, and genuinely interested in the campsite guests.
Ios is a beautiful vibrant island, and Far-Out is a brilliant place to stay in this paradisiacal place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Cool place to stay. Not for families, perfect for young people looking to party. I stayed in a bamboo bungalow, which was hot in the summer but pretty cool and comfortable during the night, especially with the ceiling fan. It's a campsite, so expect dirt. The bathrooms pleasantly surprised me. I was in a bungalow at the top of the hill, the walk was a killer but I was happy to be away from the bar and noise at night.
It isn't actually all that noisy. The party at the pool at night goes from 5pm till about 10:30pm, then everyone clears out and goes into town. So it's nice and quiet.
The facilities are great: pools and restaurants and the beach just a minute away. Really cool place.
Laundry service is fantastic. There are computers and a gymn and ATMs and a mini mart.
The wifi works best before 11 and after 10:30, when there are less people around.

It's super quiet until about 12pm/1pm and the nets really busy at about 2:30 (everyone wakes up then) so I always chilled out in the morning, and it was plenty nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, food and drinks are really cheap for what you get. Food portions are massive and well worth how much you pay.

Pools are great, wait staff come and take drink orders and bring drinks to you. Every afternoon there is a dj playing in the pool area, and it turns into a club around the pool, great fun, and a great atatmosphere even when your in the pool.

I stayed in a bungalow, they look small from the outside, but inside are quite spacious. One downfall, is that if you want airconditioning it is 5€ per room, per night.

The only real downfall overall to this place is the showers and toilets, they are so dirty. And one night of my stay I went into the shower and someone had left a pair of underwear on the floor, and human waste to put it nicely was all over the floor! Disgusting.

But don't let this turn you off the place, it was a really face place to stay, and right across from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddiejmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed here for a couple of night in june 2012. Stayed in a great wee round house on top of the hill with amazing views.
Lots to do on site. water sports, dining etc etc.
Really good value for money.
good bus links in to town as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozWhittz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Ios (Greek Island) is a massive party island where you relax at the beach or pool all day and then head into Ios town at around 11pm when the quiet streets start pumping with bars opening everywhere.
Far-Out camping is a great choice for budget travellers and those looking to party. Accommodation is very basic fixed tent like structures also feel like a dog kennel but that's all you need. The place has 2 pools, a bar, basketball courts etc and the party starts early and once finished you the head into town. The beach is directly across the road and is probably the best beach on the island. It is a good 50 min walk into town and up a large hill. Much easier to get the bus which comes regularly.
worth a stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milopotas
0.1 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#6 of 10 in Milopotas
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Milopotas
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
#8 of 10 in Milopotas
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
A1 Princess Sissy Hotel
1.1 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#13 of 42 in Ios
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far-Out Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far-Out Camping

Property: Far-Out Camping
Address: Milopotas 84001, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Milopotas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Milopotas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far Out Camping & Bungalows is built on ancient olive grove terraces right on Mylopotas beach. You may choose from a simple sheltered bamboo roof for the great pleasure of sleeping under the moon and stars to cozy beach cabins or bungalows. You may also pitch your tent under the shade of huge eucalyptus trees. All guests have full and easy access to all facilities at Far Out Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Far-Out Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far-Out Camping Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing