We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ios palace - almost.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ios Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ios Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Milopotas
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ios palace - almost.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in the Superior suite with a private swimming pool. The view from the terrace was breathtaking. Having a private swimming pool on our terrace was a big luxury. The room was massive – with two separate bedrooms and two bathrooms. The staff were all very friendly and helpful – special thanks to Magda, Lefteris, Dina and the guy that helps guests during breakfast.
Mylopotas beach is only a minute away from the hotel and is a beautiful, sandy, crystal clear beach. We rented a quad through the hotel and went to a couple more beaches around the island and to Homer’s tomb. Hora is only a 5 minute ride on the quad – there are lots of restaurants and bars there. But there are also many nice restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel. You can also rent a boat from Mylopotas beach and go to more secluded beaches, which are meant to be amazing.
In the hotel lounge there is a big billiard table, which we found a great place to spend a few minutes playing a game of pool and relaxing.
The hotel looks phenomenal from the beach – like a palace. However, once inside our room, it felt dated and tired. The superior suites (only two in the hotel) may need quite a bit of renovation. The old-fashioned bathrooms were a big let-down. Little details, like old door handles, clumsy finishing touches, a slightly broken wardrobe door, the over-used terrace furniture, don’t help the image of the hotel.
The room had a nice flat-screen TV in one bedroom, but an old small box TV in the other bedroom. There were only 3 channels available to watch.
The wifi signal was poor. But apparently that’s a problem all over the island. The nice reception staff gave us a password to their office wifi, and luckily we were able to access the internet. There are also two PCs for hotel guests to use free of charge, where the internet works perfectly fine. But it was inconvenient that we couldn’t access the internet from our room.
In general, the staff are a a big asset to the hotel. They’re all very accommodating and friendly. Magda arranged for the gym to be open earlier than normal, so I could use the treadmill before breakfast. The gym, although small, is nice and faces the beautiful Mylopotas beach. Some of its equipment needs updating.
On our last day, our boat to Mykonos was running a bit late, so the hotel staff told us in advance, so we didn’t have to go to the port early.
The hotel has 2 swimming pools, which looked great, but we preferred to use our private one or to swim in the sea.
The buffet breakfast was good and was included in the price we paid.
The Apivita and Korres bath products were fantastic.
Overall, the hotel is beautiful and the view from our room was fantastic, but due to the old-fashioned bathrooms and dated room, I would classify it as a 3 star hotel. I do hope they renovate the rooms for next year, as Ios Palace has a prime location overlooking Mylopotas beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    101
    40
    21
    18
See reviews for
60
221
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Pro's -
Location - perfect, beautiful views!
Breakfast - plentiful and varied
Dinner/Lunch - great food!
Downstairs pool area and dining area really lovely and clean/modern/tastefully decorated
Beds - VERY comfy!
Staff - Very friendly (though not particularly helpful over the phone)

Cons-
-Upper level of the hotel is very run-down and not at all like the photos on the website.
-The upper swimming area felt abandoned with a derelict pool bar, stained ripped loungers/cushions, littler, rusty chipped decor - overall couldn't believe it was part of the same hotel compared to the lovely downstairs pool!
- Mini bar was not replenished at all during our 6 day stay despite ringing countless times to ask for more drinks etc. We ended up giving up and buying our own.
-The fridge was so loud we had to turn it off every night - bit strange we also thought that it was just thrown in the room next to the bed?!
- The room itself was run-down despite the fact it was a superior room. It was not that clean - the taps needed a good polish and the silicone in the bathroom was very stained and grubby! Very easy things to correct that would make all the difference.
- The bed sheet didn't fit properly so we ended up every morning on the bare mattress - yuk!
- The website states TV - it should say that there are no English channels!
- Air-Con was terrible - it should also have an instruction manual! We roasted every night!
- Bath towels were tiny and not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.
- We were warned about a wedding happening and whether we wanted to move to another hotel, we decided not too as we didn't want to move all our things and we had booked the hotel for a reason! The staff should have made everyone stay somewhere else as we had no idea how shockingly loud the music would be and that it would go on until 6am!

Overall we enjoyed our stay after the disappointment of how obviously it didn't compare to the website wore off. The location really is perfect in September as the beach is quiet (and the island as a whole) and its only 5 minute drive from the town. In September it is definitely NOT a party island but a beautiful traditional quiet one.

Just make these tiny corrections Ios Palace and the hotel would be perfect! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AAMac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Wouldn't stay here again, staff are great and you do have a good view and great location. However the hotel is run down and old. The exterior looks good with the nice white paint and the blue window frames however, once you get inside the hotel you see how old and run down it is. We stayed in the suite with the pool that was disgustingly dirty, ladder into pool broken. The worst part was the bathroom with a shower, toilet and sink squeezed into a area about 2.5m2. Shower curtain doesn't reach the floor so the water pools inside the whole bathroom. The drains leave the rooms smelling like sewage.
Rooms are a decent size however the mini bar consisted of a bar fridge in the corner with two bottles of water. Room service plates where left for 3 days before they were taken away. Abundance off flys and ants in the room. At least the air cons did work in this room.

Anyway like I say the staff were great, the view was sweet and the location to the beach was good as well. Just a potty the hotel doesn't live up to expectation when you pay a lot of money. Wil, upload pics when I get back to my computer

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 105,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Davelucyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Well, I had already picked that hotel before I made to Ios but I didn't regret it at all! Right on the beach, with quite a few interesting restaurants around it, and the most amazing view... So relaxing swimming in the upper level pool and enjoying the view to the endless blue... The rooms were not that impressive, but I did like the nice big bathroom and I certainly enjoyed the breakfast. I would highly recommend it and will definitely visit it again when I come to Ios. Safe choice for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, the best location and great views over the beach.

Lovely breakfast and great pool with good atmosphere. Only thing they lack is enough sun loungers.

All in all a great choice for your stay in Ios.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank charlotte023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

booked a family suite for 3 nights.

Pros:
- Nice location, view of Milopotas beach
- friendly staff
- Cool pool/bar

Cons:
- we had 2 aircons but one remote control working
- ridiculous minibar: just sitting there against the wall. Just had 2 soft drinks, no water!
- rooms are outdated despite an effort to make them look modern.
- TV reception was bad and very few channels
- It took me a while to figure out how to close the door when leaving the room! You need to close the button from the door knob from the inside....Totally annoying!
- Windows not closing properly

Not worth 4 stars, sorry

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

If you're coming to IOS, you don't need to think 2 minutes. IOS Palace is the best hotel in the city!! Close to the beach, VERY WELCOME STAFF, amazing drinks, great food, close to the parties. Breakfast is not cold, is perfect. Amazing view, the rooms are perfect, with AC, TV, very clean, comfortable beds. I'd only recommend a harder shower, cause for us, brazilians, showers in Europe are a little weak.
If you going to IOS for business, with your girlfriend/boyfriend, family, friends or alone, you're gonna love it. Take a sit at the pool's bar, chat with the staff, get some drinks. You're gonna enjoy your time over there.
There is only one sad moment, when you're leaving!
Thank you, IOS' Palace staff. We had a great moment in your hotel!
Brazilians from the end of july!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leodamgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milopotas
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Seaside Resort
Dionysos Seaside Resort
#2 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 44 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Levantes - Ios Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Liostasi Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#6 of 10 in Milopotas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ios Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ios Palace Hotel

Property: Ios Palace Hotel
Address: Milopotas 84001, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Milopotas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Milopotas
#3 Family Hotel in Milopotas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milopotas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ios Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ios Palace Hotel & Spa, built amphitheatrically above Mylopotas Bay (just a few minutes walk from the Town) is the epitome of Cycladic beauty condensed in a bright white microcosm at the edge of Mylopotas bay in Ios island.This luxurious hotel, offering 5* services, caters to modern travelers' every need. 59 rooms and suites with panoramic view of the most famous beach of the island at your disposal. All of them distinguished for their minimal decoration with details that connote to the element of water via the carefully selected transparent furniture by Kartell and the use of multicoloured glasses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Ios Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ios Palace
Ios Palace Milopotas
Ios Palace Hotel Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing