We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Marcos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marcos Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Milopotas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Had a wonderful experience at this hotel. Owners were an older english couple, full of laughs and conversation. Hotel was presented beautifully. Good brekky, and just a walk to the beach. Reception were wonderful to us, called us cabs when needed and were super friendly when returning after nights on the drink. Clubbing life is a bout a 5 min cab ride- super cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricaStella10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

It is true. Back in 1989 when Marcos Beach was a very basic but very lovely pension and it was the wild old days. I met husband within an hour of arriving and the rest as they say is history! Married in 1991 and with one son still happily together. We have tried to get back as often as possible over the years, but have just returned from our first trip to Ios in eight years and as always stayed at Marcos Beach. Travelling on the Flying Cat from Thira the excitement starts and I confess to being completely choked when I spotted Ios. Marcos was there to meet us with his super dooper VW bus and we had quite an emotional reunion as Jackie was also there to meet us. The changes in the hotel in eight years are outstanding. The rooms are all spacious and have been refurbished, great bathroom, loads of hot water, great maid service, our rooms were spotless constantly - how she put up with our 13 year old son in the adjacent room, the girl was a saint. The roof terrace area is stunning, with beautiful pergolas draped with white curtains and lovely wooden sofas and chairs with cushions etc and that view ...well for me nothing else like it. For us the location is perfect - on Ios you can reach that balance of partying into the wee hours or just chilling out and enjoying great restaurants - and there are some great restaurants to visit! I love the walk down the little donkey track to the beach, in 20 something years of visiting I have never used a torch - its much more fun to stagger in the dark! The beach is just as spectacular as ever and there are some lovely bars and restaurants to visit. Its strange without the original Far Out which is has moved to the opposite end of the beach, but we suppose thats because we have grown up now! Highly recommend Karma, just at the end of the donkey track, great food, and you can laze in hammocks. Super bakery just to the other side, great staff who always have a bit of a chat with you despite the language barriers.
We would recommend Marcos Beach to anyone visiting Ios for the first, second or even fiftieth time. Some people have such unrealistic expectations - it isn't five star, but the welcome you get from Jackie, Marcos and their staff is!
Pay them a visit, you won't be disappointed - and if you are, well more fool you!!!
Don't let the current economic crisis impact on choice of destination. There is very little impact on the islands at all, the only apparent thing is the lack of tourists, Santorini was also very quiet, Scaremongering by newspapers in the UK and Europe saying that British, German, Scandinavian etc tourists will be targeted for theft RIDICULOUS!!! Just take the precautions with your valuables you would take in your own home town and you will be fine. Our Greek friends need us :)
Go to Marcos Beach - embrace the different nationalities that visit, its just great. Plus Christos the barman makes the best vodka and coke ever!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view and air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KadyJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Our stay here was unbelievable. We felt like home from the beggining. The team of Marcos Hotel was great! We will be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Me and my friends spent a week on the hotel and we had a great time! The service is fantastic! the rooms were nice and the pool area is really something! We didn`t go to the beach more than 2 times, because who would really choose all the stress of going to the beach against laying quietly on sunbeds next to a wonderful pool and paying 2 euros for a beer or a shot..? The beach is, however, very close by. Going to the centre is no stress either. The hotel calls a taxi for you, and you`ll get there for 5 euros, which isn`t really a big deal if you`re a couple of people or more. We had a great stay and would recommend it to everyone, even if you`re here for partying, or just a quiet stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niklas89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My family and I stayed 2 weeks at Marcos Beach Hotel, and it was just as we had hoped for it to be, quiet, clean, very friendly, great location, and all rooms have the most stunning view of the beach and bay.
Jackie, Marco and their son Harry was always ready to help, when needed, and we always felt a warmth and hospitality.
The pool was nice and clean, and we practicly had it for ourselvs most of the days.
We highly recommend you to stay here :-)
So in other words, we thank them from the buttom of our hearts for a fantastic and unforgetble vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

What a fabulous Holiday and Hotel!!! They say location is everything! Well, this hotel has fantastic location, every room overlooks Milopotas Beach, plus the owners and staff are friendly very hospital and cant do enough for you. The rooms are clean and spacious and has a lovely pool area. Breakfast is ideal, a help yourself, which has plenty to suit everyone, plus as much tea and coffee as you want! Short bus ride to village, or walk, but far enough away from any noise from the nightlife. Would highly recommend to any of our friends!!!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank jacquiv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed at Marcos beach hotel as part of our island hopping with Thomas cook. The hotel has a great location with good sea views. There is a small (donkey track) to the beautiful beach which only takes about 5 minutes to walk. As usual a torch would be useful if returning after dark. Jackie and Marcos are wonderful hosts and good company to socialise with. The breakfast is minimal but it is continental, and they will cook bacon and eggs at a small supplement the same as other hotels we visited on holiday. There is a local bus service to town and the port for dining out in the evening, and the fares are reasonable and the buses are frequent. The bus stop is not far from the hotel. The hotel itself has a lovely pool and a bar for snacks and drinks,

Room Tip: The second floor has obviously the best rooms for a sea view and all rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grecofiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milopotas
0.3 mi away
Dionysos Seaside Resort
Dionysos Seaside Resort
#2 of 10 in Milopotas
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#7 of 10 in Milopotas
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#9 of 10 in Milopotas
28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yialos Ios Hotel
Yialos Ios Hotel
#4 of 42 in Ios
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcos Beach Hotel

Address: Milopotas 84001, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Milopotas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milopotas
#5 Family Hotel in Milopotas
Price Range: £38 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marcos Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for families and couples looking for an unforgettable holiday., the Marcos Beach is suitable for all ages. This traditional style family-run hotel is set in a quiet area of Milopotas bay and is only a 15-20 minute walk away from the local nightlife.Milopotas, located 2km south of Ios Town, is home to the longest beach (1km) on the island. Because of its fine golden sand it attracts thousands of tourists from all over the world, every year. Water sports facilities are also available at a discount for people staying at Marcos Beach Hotel. The accommodation is a perfect place for your summer holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marcos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcos Beach Ios
Marcos Beach Hotel Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing