We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fabulous holiday at a fabulous hotel!!!"”
Review of Marcos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marcos Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Milopotas
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Fabulous holiday at a fabulous hotel!!!"”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just back from a wonderful week's holiday at the Marcos Beach Hotel. Could not ask for anything better. The owners Jackie and Marcos were there to greet us at the entrance of the hotel when we arrived which was nice. The rooms were spacious and airy and the beds were lovely and comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the gorgeous Mylopotas beach which was only a stones throw away from the hotel. The pool was lovely and warm and inviting and there was always sunbeds available throughout the day.with parasols. Breakfast was very nice with a selection of breads cheese, ham, cakes, a choice of cereal and yogurt, orange juice, tea, coffe or hot chocolate. You could also have a cooked breakfast on request for a small charge. There was a pool bar where you could get toasties, sandwiches,bagettes and drinks from 11.00.a.m. to midnight and which were all reasonably priced. There was a really nice terrace overlooking the beach which had sofas and chairs which you could sit in of an evening or during the day to shelter yourself from the midday sun. There was a bus stop a short distance from the hotel which took you to the village and port and went every 10-15 minutes at only 1.6 euros or the hotel would gladly book you a taxi which was only 5 euros to the village and 8 euros to the port. Jackie the owner was always on hand to help with any queries or questions and nothing was too much trouble. We hope one day to return to Ios and to the Marcos Beach Hotel and would like to thank Jackie and Marcos for helping to make our holiday very enjoyable. Also a big thank you to Kristof the barman who was so friendly and pleasant and very attentive, We wish you every success for the rest of the season and 2015. Graham, Lynne & Owen from Nottingham

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbeach, Owner at Marcos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope that you do return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    35
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
22
70
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

On our holiday to Ios we stayed in 3 different hotels. Our stay in Marcos Beach Hotel was by far our favourite. The location is exceptional - only a minutes walk to the beach or bus to town. The hotel was clean and has all the mod cons as well as the rooms being spacious. The pool and bar area were superb, being so close to the beach we presumed we would spend all our time there but the pool area with the light sea breeze was so ideal we didn't want to leave - not to mention the toasties and smoothies were delicious !!
The staff were at a whole different level to anywhere else on the island we stayed. They all had perfect english, were welcoming, friendly and could not have done anything more for us. They really made us feel welcome and special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emooor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbeach, Owner at Marcos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you. It really was a pleasure having you stay with us and we would love to have you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I and my boyfriend stayed at Marcos Beach for a week in June/July. At first we were very skeptical, seeing so many drunken kids at our bus to the hotel. But it all worked out fine, we were placed at opposite sides of the complex, and was never bothered by any noice.

The hotel is of average standard, but is very clean and cosy. No refrigerator or kitchen in the rooms. The breakfast is plain, especially for vegetarians.

All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martekor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbeach, Owner at Marcos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do my best to separate the different age groups as best I can. I am glad to say that next year all the rooms will fridges in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is outstanding. it is clean welcoming friendly and just what you need to relax and unwind. there is a small bar which does sandwiches, toasties. just enough to fill you whilst swimming in the lovely pool. there is a lovely terrace area overlooking the bay which can shelter you from midday heat. it is within walking distance to a wonderful selection of local restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ros h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbeach, Owner at Marcos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We would certainly be very happy if you came back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Thanks for a fantastic stay. Our family of 4 both got adjacent twin rooms right at the end of the hotel so we didn't have to worry about the kids making a noise. All rooms had beautiful sea views and we all loved the swimming pool. Fantastic beach 5 mind walk away. 20 minutes walk to the old town and great tavernas down the road. All you would wish for together with the most laid back barman *thanks Chris* and a cheap bar tab for a weeks drinking. Lovely owners. Thanks again. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anoeufisanoeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbeach, Manager at Marcos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks. We enjoyed having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Best family experience we have had so far. We went in May half-term and were pleasantly surprised at how well things turned out. The owners make you feel very welcome and they certainly looked after us. We hired a car through the owners at a really cheap price. Following the owners' for places to visit and eat turned out very well. Our children love the swimming pool and location with the beach close-by. There is a lot on offer from visiting the nearby town, to going kayaking, surfing and swimming.

Room Tip: the owner takes care of allocating you a lovely room so there is no need to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbeach, Manager at Marcos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hope to see you next year. Your beach ball will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I'm very glad we chose Marco's Beach as our accommodation for Ios! The Mylopotas beach is only a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The staff were by far the best we have encountered midway through our 3 month Euro-trip. They were extremely friendly and helpful. The owner's son even took us out on the first night! Drinks at the bar were incredibly budget-friendly, and they even had happy hour (which went for two hours) just before it closed. The rooms are very spacious (even bigger than our friends rooms who were paying over $300eu a night!) Breakfast is complimentary, but if you want to purchase an English Breakfast, it will only set you back $3eu! On Wed there's a great masseuse who comes by the pool, and only charges $10eu for 30 mins. All in all, I can't say enough good things about Marco's Beach, and wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else if I was visiting Ios once again.

The only bad thing was the internet was a little poor, but after a quick chat to the owners, they said they were in the process of upgrading, so this is hardly a factor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbeach, Manager at Marcos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milopotas
0.1 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Milopotas
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#6 of 10 in Milopotas
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#13 of 42 in Ios
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dionysos Seaside Resort
Dionysos Seaside Resort
#2 of 10 in Milopotas
396 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcos Beach Hotel

Property: Marcos Beach Hotel
Address: Milopotas 84001, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Milopotas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milopotas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milopotas
#5 Family Hotel in Milopotas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marcos Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for families and couples looking for an unforgettable holiday., the Marcos Beach is suitable for all ages. This traditional style family-run hotel is set in a quiet area of Milopotas bay and is only a 15-20 minute walk away from the local nightlife.Milopotas, located 2km south of Ios Town, is home to the longest beach (1km) on the island. Because of its fine golden sand it attracts thousands of tourists from all over the world, every year. Water sports facilities are also available at a discount for people staying at Marcos Beach Hotel. The accommodation is a perfect place for your summer holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Marcos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcos Beach Ios
Marcos Beach Hotel Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing