We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Katerina
Nearby Hotels
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Aegeon Hotel(Milopotas)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drakos Twins George(Milopotas)(Great Value!)
US$36
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galaxy Hotel(Milopotas)(Great Value!)
US$43
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Rooms(Milopotas)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Marcos Beach Hotel(Milopotas)(Great Value!)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Far-Out Camping(Milopotas)
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Far-Out Village Hotel(Milopotas)(Great Value!)
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
132
28
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
28
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkhalf waybeach walkwhole familyother guestsenjoyed our staylovely familygorgeous hotelan amazing viewthe busfamily run hotelprivate balconyswimming pooltown centrevisiting iossea viewpetros
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We were supposed to be staying at another hostel but when we arrived in Ios we were met at the ferry station and told there had been a change. We were a little nervous but that went away the second we saw the view. Best we had in Greece. Outstanding value for the money. Family staff were great and so laid back, everything was no worries you can pay later. Pool was nice and the view from the balconies in the rooms was breathtaking. The rooms were spacious but beds left a little to be desired.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskerabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We had a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable stay at Hotel Katerina.

The accommodation was fantastic - Katerina is truly beautiful hotel with amazing view and excellent service. Friendly and helpful owners and perfect location of Katerina made our stay a memorable one. Thank You!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterpoland78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Me and three of my girlfriends (all aged 24-25) stayed at Hotel Katerina (also known as Katerina’s Rooms, Katerina’s Villas) and we absolutely loved it! I kept meaning to write a review but never got around to it until now- hopefully this will be helpful!

We travelled to several islands for 2 weeks in mid August & Ios was by far our favourite and we stayed there the longest (approx 5 days and got a great deal on booking.com). The ferry ride over from Santorini was a little wavy but as soon as we arrived the hotel staff was waiting for us at the port to take us to the hotel. The room was for 4 people and it was comfortable, not the biggest room we came across but definitely sufficient with a nice bathroom, air conditioning, maid service every day and a mini-fridge. There was also a nice seating area right outside the room where we often sat at night and pre-drank with our Aussie neighbours before we went out to the bars. The bartender/cook at the hotel didn’t seem to like us that much but he made a mean club sandwich (I think I ate one every day!).

As far as location, the hotel was right in the middle of where you want to be. I’d say it’s about a 10 minute walk down to the main beach (little steep so wear good shoes!) and probably a 10 minute walk up to the town where everything is located (including grocery stores, hospital etc). The town was full of amazing bars and restaurants including George’s Golden Pitta (make the best gyros which we got almost every night after the bar) as well as a great restaurant called “Ali Babba’s”- the owner of this restaurant actually stayed at Hotel Katerina and told us about it- it was excellent! We even visited this one hotel on the way into town looking for food and the guy working at it was closing but opened up the kitchen to make us homemade pizzas! The people in Ios are great…

A few more things you should know:
PRO’S
-The pool and the view from the hotel is absolutely breathtaking, the beaches are gorgeous. If you have the time and 2 Euros, take the local bus in town to Manganari Beach. The bus ride alone is incredible (lots of craters, hills) and the beach is so quiet and peaceful…lots of nice looking guys in speedos too! If you don’t feel like taking a day-trip, just stick around the fabulous pool at the hotel- there’s lots of lounge chairs!
-The bar scene is awesome and doesn’t get started until after midnight if not later. Make sure you check out Flames (it’s tiny but awesome!) We also hit up this one bar that had glow paint and lit the bar on fire which was cool. Kandi is another popular one. We never went to Scorpion but heard it was “interesting” to say the least- think it was the after-after hours club…
-Ios was by-far the cheapest island we visited (out of Mykonos and Santorini) so take advantage of it.
-The hotel owners would often let us use the internet for free which was great!

CONS
-Sometimes the bar/food service closed early (hence the home-made pizza story above) It would have been nice to socialize more with the hotel patrons around the beautiful pool/view later in the evening.
-My friend paid to get her laundry done at the hotel. We she received it back we think they put it in a bread bag with bread crumbs all over it. Little weird to put clean clothes in a dirty bag but whatever! Not a big deal.
-We could not rent a moped or scooter anywhere (we think they were discriminating against the ladies but who knows…) Suggest you make a reso for one as soon as you arrive…might be a good idea to get your international licence as well (we’re from Canada)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovedgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

This hotel was by far, the best hotel we stayed at during our entire Greek island trip!
It was a family run hotel named after the grandmother and granddaughter (whom hung out playing by the pool all day long).
The view of the island was absolutely stunning from our hotel. The hotel is situated high up, so the view from our room was overlooking the main pool area that also overlooked the entire beach - watching the sunrise was breathtaking! The pool area was fun with lots of people, and it also had a great snack and drink bar.
The town is a short walk away (10-min), and was ideal at night after drinking at the bar.
The beach was a 5-10 minute walk from our hotel, however it was all downhill. The walk back up to the hotel was a bit challenging after a day out in the sun, but well worth it!
The rooms were clean but pretty tight - we stayed in a triple occupancy room with 3 single beds. Our bathroom looked newly renovated, which was nice.
The service was unbelievable... the barman let me use the cordless land phone to call Canada, since i had bought the wrong calling card - super nice!
Also, our hotel had a shuttle service which we didn't know about. After our ferry docked at the port, we saw a guy holding up a sign that said "Hotel Katerina", and so we followed him. He was the owner of the hotel and picked up all the new guests in his shuttle van and drove us to the hotel for free! We also were driven to the port the day we checked out as well.
Overall experience of the hotel was unbelievable, and I would recommend it for all travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We booked this hotel on accident, thinking it was something else and we got lucky! It was amazing. The views over Mylopotos beach and the water were awesome! We were in the topmost room but all the rooms had great views and a private terrace/balcony. It was a quick and easy five minute walk to the beach. The hotel also had a great pool and poolside bar. The room was great too. The hotel is a little outside of the main town where all the bars and clubs are. But it was only a ten minute walk and easy and safe to do at night. Overall we couldn't have picked (or accidentally picked) a better hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank piglet484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews