We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The Best Pool" according to the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Island House Hotel Studios Apartments
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Milopotas
Certificate of Excellence
Wellen, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"The Best Pool" according to the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

What a find. We really loved our stay here last summer. I travelled alone with my two kids aged 10 and 7 at that time. They nominated the pool of Island house as the best one ever. The fun thing is that most guests are asleep in the morning and past noon, so we had it all to ourselves. We were welcomed with some orange juice on the house. We had large room close by the pool, including terras and kitchen. Walking distance to the wonderfull beach of Mylopotas. Plenty of space to park your car on the premises. Grocery store next to the beach. Super great beach bars at the beach.... We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GretelGoesPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
110
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had travelled quite a lot in the Cyclades, but had never been to Ios before.,

We came across Island House on Tripadvisor, and thought it looked the best place to book to experience the island. How right we were. It is without doubt the best accommodation we have ever stayed in throughout the Greek islands.

Frank met us at the port and drove us to the House. Our room was being changed over as we were early, and whilst we waited we were offered beers on the house and also some lovely home made rice pudding. Frank was really kind and kept on impressing on us that we were holiday and we could relax now...and after a night flight from Gatwick to Hania, a bus from Hania to Heraklion and a ferry journey, I finally began to wind down.

The room we stayed in was in the hotel. It was very tastefully decorated and romantic, with a huge double bed on a sleeping platform. The bathroom was fitted out very nicely with a hand built walk in shower. We had great balcony overlooking the pool and with views to the sea.

The room was also spotlessly clean, and so lovely, After a long couple of day's travelling, I nearly burst into tears when I saw it, I really couldn't believe how nice it was.

The beach is very near, but we spent many days at the lovely tranquil pool, where you can get snacks and drinks throughout the day.

We hadn't planned on staying so long in Ios, and unfortunately had only booked for a couple of days in our room, but luckily there was a room available in the apartments, and we moved into there, and continued our holiday for another 5 or 6 days, before going back to Crete.

Mylopotas is very laid back, with a lovely beach and you can easily catch buses into Hora if you want a choice of more bars and restaurants.

I was reticent to write a review of Island House, as it's somewhere you want to keep for yourself as it is so special, but I wanted to add to all the other excellent feedback, as they are such a lovely family, who work so hard and have got it so right.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are lovely as you have a view of the pool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazandD0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We were greeted with wine, olives, and cheese. The hotel is close to the beach and yet far enough from the crowds for a sense of peace and privacy. The hotel hosts were friendly and accomodating. Great place, would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paros, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Beautiful spot nice and comfortable apartments and very clean very good prices but most of all the most warm welcome from the owners!
If all the hotels in Greece were like these guys greek tourism would have been the first in quality in all Europe!

Room Tip: All the rooms are big comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Picked up at the port, welcomed with open arms, greeted with big beers and local info, given choice of two lovely studios, trusted and respected completely, what more could you ask for?
I will say this location is on a beautiful beach (there's also a very nice pool) but it is a ways from town and the port area (which on this island, has more amenities than most). Really too far and mountainous for most to walk. The bus is very close, easy, quick, cheap and straightforward though. This beach is a big "party" area (although not Island House) and the restaurants are limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaD865DV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuerteventura
Level Contributor
803 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We met a Montreal couple on Kimolos who had stayed at Island House and they strongly recommended it to us. That and a look at the Trip Advisor reviews convinced us to stay there. We had intended only staying 3 nights but we ended up staying 5 it was so good.

We had a very spacious upstairs studio with a large balcony overlooking the pool and with a view over the beach, the bay and Sikinos. The room was very clean, the kitchen was well equipped, the bathroom was fine, the bed was very comfortable, the air con was very quiet and efficient and the sheets and towels seemed to be very new.
The pool and pool area was superb with lots of nice comfortable sun loungers, deckchairs and other tables and chairs. There is also a nice terrace area to have breakfast, a beer or a snack. The studios are perfectly located about 300 metres from the beach - far enough away from the road behind the beach.

Frangoulis and Dimitra were extremely friendly and helpful. We got picked up by Frangoulis at the port and were dropped back there at the ned of our stay. We even got a lift back form the port on two other occasions – very useful with bags os hopping from Carrefour Express in the port. On arrival at the studios we were welcomed with a big Mythos each and Dimitra sat down and explained the things to see and do on the island and the places to eat.

If you are into getting some aerobic exercise it is a 30 minute steep climb up to the Chora and 15 minutes walk down to the port. The view from the little church at the very top of the rock above Chora is stunning. Buy your food if you can at Carrefour Express as there was not very much in the mini markets in Mylopotas when we were there.

We loved room 9 and would ask for it again. The price we paid represented exceptional value.

Room Tip: We loved room 9 and would ask for it again. The price we paid represented exceptional value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I booked RM.17 again ( which i got on arrival as promised ) , a ground floor open plan studio with seaview & large private terrace.
The apartment is immaculate & very large, donkeys were my main company in the surrounding fields, very peaceful.
Owners are very friendly & there if you need them, transfers no problem, i will be back next year & can't recommend them enough.

Room Tip: Just try them - not really for the party crowd i would say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milopotas
1.7 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 44 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dionysos Seaside Resort
Dionysos Seaside Resort
#2 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Liostasi Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Levantes - Ios Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Yialos Ios Hotel
Yialos Ios Hotel
#6 of 44 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel Studios Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel Studios Apartments

Property: Island House Hotel Studios Apartments
Address: Mylopotas Beach, Milopotas 840 01, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Milopotas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milopotas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Milopotas
#1 Family Hotel in Milopotas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island house hotel recently renovated and perfectly situated is the ideal destination for a relaxing getaway in Ios. It is located 200 meters from Mylopotas sandy beach. Each apartment and studio of our property consists of a kitchenette, refrigerator, bathroom and some have separated bedroom. All the types of our rooms have big and comfortable private balconies with beautiful view to sea, garden and swimming pool. Island house hotel outdoor swimming pool with the sun loungers and the open plan garden area provides its visitor a unique atmosphere for relaxing and enjoying the golden Cyclades sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Island House Hotel Studios Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island House Studios Apartments Hotel Ios
Island House Hotel Studios Apartments Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing