We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moderne & Pigeon Restaurant - CLOSED

Hotel Moderne & Pigeon Restaurant
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: This is a highly rated, by local standards, restaurant in a good hotel in Limoux France. We had a terrible experience - the waiters actually yelled at us for suggesting the cheese was off. The only bad meal in 2 weeks of wonderful French meals.
Deepest Surrey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had a very enjoyable, formal French meal in the hotel the night we stayed there. Starters (asparagus and salade de polpes) were unexpected and interesting. Main courses were less successful: the cassoulet was over elaborate with 5 meats and not enough creaminess to the beans, and the lamb in pastry was tender but uninspired in flavour. Dessert - a trio of creme brûlée - was delicious. We asked for advice on the wine and, amazingly, Madame recommended the cheapest red on the menu.

The service is friendly and helpful and the ambience typically formal French. Very satisfactory and the menu is good value at €39.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneShorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First class meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Visited on Saturday night with party of 9 celebrating my niece's 21st birthday. No prior booking but we were made very welcome and had an incredible meal served to perfection. Jean-Luc the owner and chef chatted to us and showed us round the lovely hotel too and gave us its history. We were all very impressed. The menu was very good and cindy who took our order and served us was very friendly and informative. Excellent food and presentation. Would definitely recommend you try this restaurant if you want a top class meal. Made the birthday party a special night to remember. Thank you Jean-Luc!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoneaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“The best in Limoux.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We have been going to this restaurant for years either in their courtyard in summer or in the more formal dinning room of the hotel where you get white linen tablecloths, silverware and crystal glasses. Ideal for a special occasions. The food is excellent and the chef welcoming and likes to meet his diners. Definitely a must.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bessiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoux, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Strange place in another century”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The rooms are large, comfortable and reasonably priced. Modern conveniences but seems to be olde worldy. Restaurant is good with a competent chef. It is the best local hotel and within walking distance of anywhere in Limoux; Give it atry

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrahamDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Fine French Fayre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

My partner and I enjoyed an excellent lunch at this restaurant during a day spent in Limoux. We ate in the bistro annexe, in the shade, on a sunny day. Our waitress was a bit brusque, she probably knew that the place would be full within half an hour of opening (which it was) so there would be a hard shift ahead. The food served was very good. Our main, which was a lamb shank cassoulet, was sublime, so rich and tasty. Desserts were imaginatively presented. A little off the beaten track but a gem of a place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kempr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Moderne & Pigeon Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing