We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B and B.”
Review of La Cortanela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limoux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Cortanela
Ranked #2 of 13 Limoux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

La Cortanela is a lovely B and B near Limoux perched high above the rolling countryside with beautiful views over vineyards towards the blue hued Pyrenees Orientales in the distance. Tricia and Chris are wonderful welcoming hosts. We relaxed completely and after a hot day's sightseeing and climbing up the Cathar castle at Peyrepertuse we enjoyed a light supper salad of Roquefort and homegrown peaches- warm from the sun accompanied by some crisp white wine served in the calm evening light by the lavender scented pool. Bliss! We will be returning here next year- this place is excellent in all aspects. Diolch o galon ( thank you very much) Chris a Tricia!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delyth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

We came to La Coertenala on probably the busiest weekend of the year; July 14 fireworks at Carcassone and the Tour de France leaving on one of its stages.
The down side of the weekend was that we didn't get our act together enough to see either of the spectacles(could it have been something to do with the mega relaxed atmosphere which engulfed us on arrival at La Cortenala?)
The welcome, the facilities,(hair straighteners as well as a drier!), the best breakfasts we've ever enjoyed in France and the friendliness of Trish, Chris and Ben combined to make it a place to which we'll return.
Who knows next year we may even see some fireworks!!
Ruth and Chris
Coventry

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 714,970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Our visit to La Cortanela, hosted by Chris, Tricia and Tom was Absolutely Fabulous. They are Fantastic hosts, who really pride themselves on making their guests feel very welcome. The place offers magical and breathtaking views of the Pyrenees and stay is very cosy. Breakfast is delicious. Would recommend highly for anyone :) Eli and Tommie XX

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pyreaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Well, we were absolutely bowled over by La Cortanela. First of all we received the most lovely welcome by Tricia and Ben the dog. After a very long day we arrived mid evening time and were shown our lovely room and ensuite facilities and of course the delightful pool area. We were given a very much needed glass of wine and a cold beer and left to sit and soak in the peaceful suroundings. The views from the terrace outside the room are just wonderful and Ben pops round to make sure you are ok and to come and have a bit of love. There is wine and beer on tap at just 1 euro per glass, who could ask for more. I took a much needed cool off in the pool, though it was an amazing 27 degrees warm but so refreshing and surrounded by wonderful smelling lavendar, butterflies and of course even more gorgeous views. We had bought ourselves some tomatoes, cucumber, cold meats and cheeses and local bread and settled down to a wonderful relaxed evening of wine, simple food and the most stunning sunset - simple perfect. Limoux itself is a lovely town with lots to see and do and of course we had to visit Carcossanne which was just fabulous. It rained the day we visited Carcossanne but it was no problem as every restaurant and bar have ample tables under umbrellas and covers; we were so pleased it was alot cooler that day as we had Cassoulet and it was just so delicious. Breakfast was so beautifully presented every morning with local bread, croissants, jams, cheeses, meat, cereals, yoghurt, fruits and delicious fresh coffee and orange juice; on the terrace on a sunny day and in Tricia's dinning room on colder days. We also had a meal cooked for us by Tricia and she joined us for the evening, the food was lovely, gorgeous grilled vegetables and mozarella, just delicous and a wonderful lemon tart dessert; again the attention to detail and the presentation was wonderful, but most of all we so enjoyed Tricia's company. It is such a shame we missed Chris but we did meet Tom their son and admired his photographic work. I feel we have made some new friends and were made to feel so wonderfully welcome and didnt want to leave; but I know we will be back. Thank you so much Tricia, Ben and Tom for making our time with you so special. Merci beaucoup et bientot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cr4ftym00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

La Cortanela is a beautiful house with fabulous views and the guest accommodation is perfect, a very comfortable room and beautiful bathroom. Chris and Tricia are warm and welcoming hosts and every morning they bring you a tasty breakfast of fruit, croissants, bread, cheese and jams on the terrace which you can have accompanied by the lovely Ben (the family dog!).
The surrounding area is just beautiful and you are well placed to explore from here: all in all a very enjoyable week and a great place to stay. Thank you also, Chris for sorting me out with my boarding pass the morning I was leaving!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saoifre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

What a really perfect find, this is 'a gem of a place'! Trishia and Chris could not have been more welcoming and helpful and the accommodation is perfect (there were three of us, so there was room enough for a double bed and a temporary bed for my 9 year old). You have your own front door and do not have to disturb anyone coming in or out. Breakfast is served in Chris & Trishia's beautiful home and you are made to feel very welcome. The the house is very tasteful with a beautiful view of the mountains.....and a swimming pool which we plan to check out on our next trip in July!
Limoux itself is a wonderful, in fact it is my favorite small French town. It has a lovely square and is unspoiled, as is the surrounding countryside. To sum it up, this is a great place to stay and we are already planning to return in July,

Room Tip: Only one room for guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolly_Tripper_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

From the 1st contact with Chris and Trishia it was apparent that they have got it right. We were visiting the area for a wedding and having found La Cortanela on the internet it was made very easy to book and regular email contact with Chris enabled us to know exactly where we were and what we needed to do.
The room was perfect, with the little finishing touches making it a great stayt for us. The pool and breakfast and views really did make us feel totally refreshed and lucky to have found La Cortanela we would definately recommend a stay at this Little Bit of Paradise. Thank you so much Chris Tricia Tom and Ben

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodRoy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limoux
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
2.3 mi away
B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
10.4 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#4 of 5 in Limoux
32 reviews
8.4 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
2.5 mi away
La Moneze Basse
La Moneze Basse
#1 of 13 in Limoux
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cortanela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cortanela

Address: Chemin de Carliqui | 1. 2km Apres Notre Dame de Marceille, 11300 Limoux, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Limoux
Price Range: £62 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cortanela provides the opportunity to stay in a luxury Bed and Breakfast. You will be staying in the guest room of our beautiful new home situated 2kms from Limoux (Aude) set up high, with a commanding view of The Pyrenees. Start your day with breakfast in the courtyard (homemade bread and jams) before you go off to explore the lovely countryside, the Cite of Carcassonne and the Cathar Castles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing