We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”
Review of La Cortanela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limoux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Cortanela
Ranked #2 of 13 Limoux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

La Cortanela near Limoux is an excellent B&B.The balance Chris and Tricia strike between being friendly and attentive to their guests' needs and giving them enough space to do their own thing is spot on.They are truly wonderful hosts.Simply the best.Thank you so much for a great holiday.We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delyth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for La Cortanela
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had a lovely time at La Cortanela. Tricia and Chris were ever so friendly. And so was the dog Ben.
The new house is just outside Limoux and has a wonderful view toward hills with vineyards and higher Pyrenee tops further away.
The room is large, spotless and has everything you need.
Breakfast is nice, with plenty of fruit.
Being able to cool down in the great pool with perfect view was the best part of our stay
We also had a home cooked meal by Tricia twice. I can definitely recommend this: light summer food with a nice bottle of wine.
Thank you very much and keep up the good work!
By the way, the surroundings of Limoux are perfect for cycling. So bring your race bike, if you have one!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We have stayed here before and it never disappoints us. Chris,Tricia & Tom (Cola & Ben too!) are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.They have got a good balance of friendliness and space here, they have great local knowledge about the area and The comforting and beautifully decorated room with en suite has it's own access from the side of the house where the pool is just round the corner and the views are really amazing.I would totally recommend you visit to experience it for yourselves!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiecjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

La Cortanela is located in the picturesque hills on the outskirts of Limoux. We spent five wonderful nights in June 2013 at La Cortanela as a base for our travels around the Aude and the Languedoc. Tricia, Chris and Tom were not only warm, gracious and welcoming hosts, but they were of great assistance to us in providing advice on our travels in the region. Indeed, we were treated like family friends rather than guests during our stay. The accommodation was excellent and we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast every morning taking in the views on the terrace. Like many people, we also had to keep an eye on business related matters while away and we were delighted that the internet connection was first class. We have no hesitation in highly recommending La Cortanela and hope to return with our daughters in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We were made very welcome by Chris, Trisha, Ben and Cola (the dog and the cat), spectacular views of the Pyrenees from the bedroom, will definitely stay again if we return to that area, shame we were a bit early in the season to use the pool

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We spent 5 nights at La Cortanela whilst in the area for a friends wedding. Chris, Tricia and Tom were fantastic hosts who made us feel like we were staying with friends rather than guests in a B&B.

Tricia's breakfasts were superb and Chris's knowledge of the area helped guide our travels. Tom even became an impromptu chaffeur dropping us at a local winery for the wedding.

The views from the terrace were extraordinary and it would have been easy to spend longer there enjoying Chris and Tricia's hospitality.

We will definitely stay again if we returned to the Aude region and will recommend any friends stay here if they are in the area,

Nic & Trev (May 2013)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

How lucky was I to find this lovely B&B in beautiful France. I have stayed with Chris and Trisha three times. On all 3 ocassions the friendlyness of the family is second to none. It is extremely clean and views of the mountains and wine valleys are spectacular. It is close to many other cites and the Spanish boarder.
Breakfast is beautifully presented and on arrival an evening meal can be arranged. The family have tried to think of everything for thier guests, including hairstraightners, hairdryer and Wi Fi, (in the room is a small laptop for your convenience) TV with DVDs. Tea/coffee available and fresh milk if you prefer. My dietry needs were catered for (I am Coeliac - gluten free). How nice it was to have gluten free bread for breakfast. What a lovely gesture.
I highly recommend staying here, it is good value for money.

Room Tip: Only has one room, with patio doors, with table and chairs outside to lovely views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PIGSWILLFLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limoux
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
1.4 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#4 of 5 in Limoux
32 reviews
2.3 mi away
B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
447 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Moneze Basse
La Moneze Basse
#1 of 13 in Limoux
173 reviews
4.1 mi away
Au Pied du Figuier
Au Pied du Figuier
#1 of 1 in Pauligne
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cortanela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cortanela

Address: Chemin de Carliqui | 1. 2km Apres Notre Dame de Marceille, 11300 Limoux, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Limoux
Price Range: £62 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cortanela provides the opportunity to stay in a luxury Bed and Breakfast. You will be staying in the guest room of our beautiful new home situated 2kms from Limoux (Aude) set up high, with a commanding view of The Pyrenees. Start your day with breakfast in the courtyard (homemade bread and jams) before you go off to explore the lovely countryside, the Cite of Carcassonne and the Cathar Castles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing