We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay”
Review of La Cortanela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limoux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Cortanela
Ranked #2 of 13 Limoux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My partner and I recently stayed 5 nights at this beautiful B&B. Chris and Tricia were the perfect hosts, striking the balance between being very helpful and attentive, while also giving us our space, making us feel very comfortable to come and go as we pleased. The highlights for me were having your own private terrace and the swimming pool surrounded by lavender, both with amazing views of surrounding country side and the Pyrenees in the distance. The room is ideal, really clean and spacious with all mod cons. The only potential issue some people might have is the steep and bumpy public section of the road leading up to the house. But this is definitely worth it when you arrive. Every recommendation they gave us turned out to be perfect. Have already recommended it to friends and family.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AineDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
64
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A beautiful B&B with glorious views of the surrounding countryside and ideally placed for exploring the region. The bedroom itself was bright, airy and super comfortable. Breakfast was first class and Chris and Tricia (the owners) were charming and gracious hosts. Loved the pool, table tennis and Ben the dog. Would highly recommend it and will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEYXAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

La Cortanela near Limoux is an excellent B&B.The balance Chris and Tricia strike between being friendly and attentive to their guests' needs and giving them enough space to do their own thing is spot on.They are truly wonderful hosts.Simply the best.Thank you so much for a great holiday.We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delyth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had a lovely time at La Cortanela. Tricia and Chris were ever so friendly. And so was the dog Ben.
The new house is just outside Limoux and has a wonderful view toward hills with vineyards and higher Pyrenee tops further away.
The room is large, spotless and has everything you need.
Breakfast is nice, with plenty of fruit.
Being able to cool down in the great pool with perfect view was the best part of our stay
We also had a home cooked meal by Tricia twice. I can definitely recommend this: light summer food with a nice bottle of wine.
Thank you very much and keep up the good work!
By the way, the surroundings of Limoux are perfect for cycling. So bring your race bike, if you have one!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We have stayed here before and it never disappoints us. Chris,Tricia & Tom (Cola & Ben too!) are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.They have got a good balance of friendliness and space here, they have great local knowledge about the area and The comforting and beautifully decorated room with en suite has it's own access from the side of the house where the pool is just round the corner and the views are really amazing.I would totally recommend you visit to experience it for yourselves!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiecjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

La Cortanela is located in the picturesque hills on the outskirts of Limoux. We spent five wonderful nights in June 2013 at La Cortanela as a base for our travels around the Aude and the Languedoc. Tricia, Chris and Tom were not only warm, gracious and welcoming hosts, but they were of great assistance to us in providing advice on our travels in the region. Indeed, we were treated like family friends rather than guests during our stay. The accommodation was excellent and we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast every morning taking in the views on the terrace. Like many people, we also had to keep an eye on business related matters while away and we were delighted that the internet connection was first class. We have no hesitation in highly recommending La Cortanela and hope to return with our daughters in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We were made very welcome by Chris, Trisha, Ben and Cola (the dog and the cat), spectacular views of the Pyrenees from the bedroom, will definitely stay again if we return to that area, shame we were a bit early in the season to use the pool

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limoux
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
1.4 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#4 of 5 in Limoux
31 reviews
10.4 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
13.5 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
187 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cortanela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cortanela

Property: La Cortanela
Address: Chemin de Carliqui | 1. 2km Apres Notre Dame de Marceille, 11300 Limoux, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Limoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cortanela provides the opportunity to stay in a luxury Bed and Breakfast. You will be staying in the guest room of our beautiful new home situated 2kms from Limoux (Aude) set up high, with a commanding view of The Pyrenees. Start your day with breakfast in the courtyard (homemade bread and jams) before you go off to explore the lovely countryside, the Cite of Carcassonne and the Cathar Castles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing