We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly dire really”
Review of Les Arcades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Arcades
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Limoux
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The room smelt damp; there were two single beds, not a double, and those beds were definitely from the "cheap furnishings" department. The Wi-Fi didn't work. Breakfast in the morning was located - it was not "served", you just helped yourself to what was there - in a darkened room, despite the sun outside. But worst of all, there was NO SHAMPOO in the shower.

It's not as if providing a couple of sachets of shampoo costs a lot of money. But there were none. Cold water with shampoo - well, maybe the hotel ran out of hot water, these things happen. But a shower with no shampoo provided - well, maybe the owners just don't care.

Sorry, I hate writing bad reviews, but this place deserved it. Avoid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtrapnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent one night here whilst enjoying the Limoux Carnival. It is only a 2 star hotel and it lived up to its rating and price. At €49 we didnt expect much but the handy location right next to the square was all we needed to enjoy Carnival time.
There is no real reception just the bar, but check in was easy and the staff friendly. Our room was 303 up a very old uneven stairway, so dont bring too much luggage. The room had twin beds pushed together with seperate bathroom. All reasonable, however there were large watermarks on the wallpaper. The pillows were long strange skinny pillows which werent the best. The shower was fine except it was a hand held showerhead, so a bit awkward. Room had the usual french shutters so reasonably quiet.
Breakfast is extra at €7 each and was yoghurt, juice , coffee, bread, croissants. However as my husband had particular diet needs he got ham and boiled eggs put aside for him in the fridge at no extra cost, so extra points for that.
There is free wifi which was good. There is no on site parking but we found public parking for free very closeby.
In summary a good value hotel for 1 or 2 nights, with plenty of close restuarants and sights nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We used this hotel with some hesitation after reading reviews but it could not be more convenient for the main square with its bars and restaurants. The entrance is unimpressive and there was nothing to indicate a reception area. . There seemed to be a lingering smell of fried food which lasted throughout our stay. We made our way through into the adjoining bar/cafe - and PMU betting shop - and introduced ourselves. With very little welcome we were given a key and left to our own devices. When asked about parking, we were told it was "on the street", though with no information as to how you are supposed to register your vehicle every hour at the machines nearby. Apparently a garage is available for 7 euros a day but only with prior reservation. Just how much notice was needed when there seemed to be no other guests in the hotel?
The spiral staircase is indeed a bit of a climb but crampons are not necessary. The corridors leading to the rooms are dull and with dated décor but nothing compared to our 1970's throw-back room. It was on the small side with only a small gap between the foot of the bed and the wall. The room décor looked recent but an uninspiring colour scheme - unlike the bathroom which was a brown tile-fest, beige suite and small shower cubicle. Yes it was clean, as were the good sized towels; unlike the bedding, which consisted of a tired cover, ripped duvet (too grand a word) and stained bolster - I didn't think anywhere still had these things anymore. A small wardrobe and junk shop desk and chair completed the fittings.
Based on this, we declined breakfast, especially as there are numerous attractive cafes nearby.
With single glazed windows, there was considerable condensation on a morning, but the view was only the church wall two metres away. We were house hunting and really needed a central location for only two nights so the hotel had to suffice. Despite is attractiveness, Limoux does not have a huge choice of central hotels.
After eating out we returned to the hotel at the late time of 9.45pm to find the bar closed and the front door locked. Fortunately the room key unlocked the door, but it would have been nice to have been informed of this.
When we checked out, madam was equally chatty as she was on arrival, seemingly unconcerned as to whether we were satisfied, had a pleasant stay etc. etc.
We have stayed in dozens of French hotels over many years, knowing that they can be quirky, old fashioned but nevertheless charming. This was just poky and tired, hardly worth a 2 star Logis classification. A pity because the location, just steps from the bustling main square, is ideal for a short break in this very appealing town.

Room Tip: You should probably ask to see all the rooms before choosing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBY54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights and had breakfast. Located on main square in Limoux which is good for cafes and restaurants. My room was small and there was no shower cream provided. The hotel is dark and shabby. The main staircase is potentially dangerous.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joolsveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel is a quaint and fairly basic hotel, but this is made up for by the location and the staff at the hotel. We loved it's location, 2 minutes from the square and the river. We had some car troubles whilst we were there and cannot thank the manager enough for his help in sorting them for us. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a friendly and clean and tidy place in an excellent location. Thanks for making our extended stay a most memorable part of our holiday.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a basic room but superior cleanliness and atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was a find. We turned up with nothing booked and were given this appartment which was smartly decorated with a fancy shower, kitchen area, two televisions, two lots of air con. Need I go on?The hotel is on the edge of the charming square which has useful places to eat and a brilliant wine shop,(check it out). A few minutes away is the lovely river where you can take a stroll. Limoux isn't a fancy sort of place; just very pleasant and a good base for sampling the sparkling wine or visiting Carcassonne.
This room cost us 80 euros and was one of the best value places we have stayed in. This is not a fancy hotel. It is a bar with rooms and somewhere to eat but the place is very friendly. We approved.

Room Tip: Well we stayed in Studio one and it was excellent value with a spare foldable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I've just had a very pleasant stay at Les Arcades. The hotel facilities are fairly basic, but the rooms are clean, the staff very personable and friendly and the location is great - right on the edge of the square and 5 minutes walk from the river. I have to say - if you're looking for a quiet spot in the middle of the country, where the only sounds are of birds twittering in the distance, Les Arcades would not be for you! The surrounding streets can be a little noisy, (The Limoux folk like to sing!) but overall, I think this hotel offers a good location and great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limoux
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
1.3 mi away
B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
4.4 mi away
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
#1 of 1 in Alet les Bains
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Motel Limoux
Motel Limoux
#4 of 5 in Limoux
33 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Moneze Basse
La Moneze Basse
#1 of 13 in Limoux
177 reviews
0 mi away
La Maison Ville
La Maison Ville
#1 of 2 in Limoux
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Arcades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Arcades

Address: 96 rue Saint Martin, 11300 Limoux, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Limoux
Price Range: £42 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Arcades 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Les Arcades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing