We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't Be Better”
Review of La Moneze Basse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Moneze Basse
Ranked #1 of 13 Limoux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salviac, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't Be Better”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We live in France and took a 3 day "vacation" to cycle in the area of Limoux. Our stay at La Monèze Basse was perfect. The region is superb for cycling and the owner of this bed and breakfast was available to give us advice on routes, etc. Our room was comfortable and the outside sitting area welcoming in the warm weather. The breakfast is fresh, delicious, and plentiful and the owners include many extras that make a difference between a good and an excellent bed and breakfast.

We look forward to returning to La Monèze Basse and highly recommend this bed and breakfast if you are in the area. The owners manage it quietly efficiently and the clients can just relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
89
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We just returned from a five week vacation in France and Spain. We went to 14 different destinations and everyone agreed that of all our experiences, La Moneze Basse was the best! We were traveling with our two boys who are 6 and 10 and they haven't stopped talking about their experience. There are chickens and bunnies and a little swing set to play on. We took a lovely walk around the area which was relaxing and beautiful. But, what makes this place special is the love that the owners have put into it. They really get everything right. The hospitality, the attention to detail and the breakfast is the best we had in France. Jeremy and Tania really know what they are doing and their love for this B and B shows. Don't miss the opportunity to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracilin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The reviews from previous guests are exactly what we experienced. My wife Julie and I stay regularly in B and B's when we travel. La Moneze Basse is the best we have ever stayed at. Located outside of Limoux just a few miles and just 20 mins from very busy but very interesting Carcassone, it is a perfect location to discover Cather Country and Pyrennes mountains. Combined with this amazing B and B., the location and wonderful French cooking and the local cava. This is the vacation we were looking for. Thanks Jeremy, Tania, Seb and the family Tony and Julie Pierce USA

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We rented a small first floor apartment for a week, in this large renovated winegrowers house, just 3 minutes from the centre of Limoux. It is run by a very welcoming and extremely efficient family who clearly aim to give their guests the best of everything. Thanks to the generous time they gave us, we learned a lot about places to visit and local customs, and so were better prepared to explore the area. The apartment had a good-sized south facing terrace, with a fabulous view of surrounding vineyards where my husband and I relaxed well, and enjoyed the warm evenings and setting sun.

Every morning we joined the bed and breakfast guests downstairs for a sumptuous breakfast which was included in the price, We could easily have spent more time in the area as there was so much to enjoy, not least the lovely ambiance created by our hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perfumedpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove Sussex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. Jeremy is an amazing host. With his wife, who is a doctor, and parents, he runs this chambre d'hote and it is lovely. They have a cute little boy, too.
It is just outside Limoux, only about two minutes in the car, and worth finding. Jeremy welcomed us on the terrace, with drinks and nibbles and told us about himself, his family and the area, which he knows very well from his youth.
He carried our luggage up for us, and recommended restaurants.
Room:
We chose the largest room as I wanted a bath as well as a shower, but it was probably too large for two of us, and was perhaps a bit dark. The one next door looked better for two people. The house is an old house originally attached to the vineyard beyond. It is very attractive, and the rooms have been furnished in keeping with the style of the house.
The bed was comfortable, and the room well equipped, and there were a lot of lights. Some nice touches were the large full sized bottle of water and glasses on a table for us, each day, with two nougats, and also a bag of chocolates on the bed on our arrival. It was very hot when we were there, and so a fan was provided.
Our room was serviced everyday and we even had clean hand towels everyday and clean sheets and bath towels after two days.
La Moneze Basse is a delightful property, and there is a lounge downstairs, with tea and coffee and biscuits, to help oneselves to at any time. There is a TV there, magazines and games. The terrace and gardens can be used at any time. The gardens are lovely, very very peaceful, and Jeremy's parents are growing all sorts of vegetables there. I understand he is hoping to have a swimming pool for next year.
Breakfast:
These are excellent. Laid out on the terrace for us with Jeremy serving us, we had yoghurt with cut up fruit, delicious breads and enormous croissants, cereals, fresh fruits, cakes, a selection of local cheeses and meats. Also on offer were eggs from their chickens. I had one once, a very large scrambled egg from one egg! with herbs, freshly made, very tasty.
Jeremy was so helpful about anything we asked. When I asked if we could hang some washing out that I was going to hand wash, he offered the free use of his washing machine. He also let us eat our picnic on the terrace and provided plates and cutlery. At the end of our trip he carried our cases down too.
The day we left my husband was taken ill driving back to Carcassonne, and I was told I had to stay in a hotel overnight. I rang Jeremy and he booked me into a Mercure near the hospital, which was very good. It was so good having someone who was so caring and fluent who could arrange this for me.
We thoroughly recommend staying at La Moneze Basse. If we are in that area again we would definitely go back there, and we have recommended it to our friends.

Room Tip: a view of the garden is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmaam2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had a 3 day 2 night away break to Carcasonne escaping from work and young family for a wedding anniversary celebration & our stay at La Moneze Basse really made it a lovely weekend. Jeremy was most welcoming and gave us great recommendations for dinner both nights even making the bookings for us. His suggested tours of the area were excellent and especially when it lead to a lake surrounded by forest where we had the most beautiful swimming. His lending of his map of the area was greatly appreciated as we would never have found it otherwise. We had a bonus of seeing the Tour de France zoom through Limoux while there.

Accommodation was lovely and the room nice and cool after warm days, with the simple but effective use of shutters during the day. A welcome glass of local blanquette set the weekend off well. Breakfeast was lovely and we enjoyed freshly laid eggs, home made jams and local cheeses to start us well for each day.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying on the 1st floor but all rooms looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NonieIsaacson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We arrived at La Moneze Basse after a marathon red-eye flight and a drive from Toulouse - so we weren't at our best. Jeremy welcomed us with the pet rabbit in hand, and effortlessley set us at our ease in our beautiful rooms, set up a private staircase with windows out both sides of the house onto the elegant grounds. Later we met his wife, Tania, and their adorable son Seb, and were fed a delicious meal in the dining room.

From the time we arrived Jeremy and Tania were amazing hosts - helping us with our itnerary, setting out a tremendous breakfast - including eggs from their own chickens - and just generally being excellent hosts. Both of them speak excellent English, in addition to their native Flemish, French, German and Dutch, so communication is never a problem!

We would gladly spend more time with them - in addition to their hospitality, the rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the proximity to things we wanted to see was excellent. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bugarach suite, which had a double bed and a fold out single couch in one room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annarose816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limoux
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
0.3 mi away
B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
8.7 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.5 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#5 of 5 in Limoux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mauzac
Hotel Le Mauzac
#3 of 5 in Limoux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Moneze Basse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Moneze Basse

Property: La Moneze Basse
Address: Moneze Basse, 11300 Limoux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Limoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former wine estate from the mid-19th century, situated in an oasis of tranquility at the heart of the Cathar Country. This beautiful and rural accommodation is an ideal base from which to explore the many castles, abbeys, medieval villages and, of course, the great medieval walled city of Carcassonne. Although the property has been renovated entirely, it retains many original features. It offers five very comfortable guest rooms, as well as one holiday rental home. Enjoy a rich breakfast with traditional delicacies, served either in the breakfast room, bathing in the morning sunlight, or in the garden. La Monèze Basse - a place of enjoyment and relaxation!​Welcome!​Jeremy and Tania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Moneze Basse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing