We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice in Limoux square” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Lounge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Lounge
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Reading
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good choice in Limoux square”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

To be honest it's hard to know which brasseries stand out from others in Limoux. Next door seemed to have a more approachable menu (e.g. cassoulet). This one was quite imaginative, and had some unrecognisable cuts of meat on it for the gourmets of French food. Especially the desserts, with the photogenic profiteroles and the apricot clafoutis - the latter had a lovely tartness. The Blanquette was good value and the fixed price menus fair value. The portions were not massive but adequate. It took a bit of time to get the bill paid at the end but we must remember not to rush when on holiday!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RSTEELE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
179 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Oh dear, what has happened!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We've been going to the Le Lounge since it opened, and it was one of the best restaurants in Limoux. Not any more.

We ate here on a Friday evening, and were really disappointed. The food was average at best with the burger and confit de canard being quite poor. The two children's meals were awful. Service was slow and monosyllabic.

Most restaurants in the square that night were full, except Le Lounge, which I think speaks volumes. Apparently the chef's main restaurant, L'Odalisque, has closed, and he is now in charge of this kitchen - I suspect this is the problem!

A great shame for the restaurant and for Limoux.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank queribus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hamburger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I couldn't believe my friends raving about the hamburger, but they were wrong, it is suberb. Best hamburger ever with pomme frites of course.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank devidee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Profiteroles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

On any tour of France you will be interested in the desserts, why else did you starve yourself from the first day you knew you would be going? We went to a local Creperie for lunch and started out with dessert, just realizing what we had done made us NEED, need protein before returning to class. We stopped by the Lounge on a whim, thinking they might have some protein to keep us from zoning out during Ted's demo that afternoon, What a delight, the hamburger we were served was so scrumptuous we went back for two more another day. Soon we had the whole class eating there for just one thing, the Burger! One day we even had dessert! The Profiteroles were great, a surprise to us since the ice cream was so good. We had Apricot Mousse on another visit. SInce it was the Chef surprise! Go and enjoy, try something new but don 't forget the hamburger when you need some straight up protein.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mckboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible cheeseburger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Meat was outstanding, the cheese, roasted tomatoes, mayo with a taste of horseradish, the bread--all combined to make the best burger you've ever tasted!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing