We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpectedly good food and a real irish pub in the middle of southern france”
Review of Kat McGee's Irish Pub - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kat McGee's Irish Pub
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
baltimore, md
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“unexpectedly good food and a real irish pub in the middle of southern france”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

didn't expect this...walked in and was greeted by the waitress from cork, ireland, had a few perfectly poured pints of guinness, some burgers and fish and chips among the table. All of it was great. The owners had their adorable new puppy Murphy which they had just rescued to add to the informal and fun feel of the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edenderry
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Really top Irish Pub”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent some hours in Kat McGee's on Saturday.

We found the owners very welcoming and the atmosphere excellent. The pints were all properly pulled and the glasses sparkling clean.

We had is steak and chips later and they were all beautifully cooked and the portions generous. What really astonished us was the fact that the price was only €10.00 per person. For Limoux, this extraordinary as most decent meals on the Place are far more expensive and the quality could not compared to the meal in Kat McGee's!

The pub is really worth a visit especially if you're looking for a good, reasonably priced meal within easy access of the Place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank contactcarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Horses for courses”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Kat McGee's arrived in Limoux last year and it's quite a departure for the town. It offers reasonably priced food that expats and tourists seek out out more so than the locals, but if you fancy fish and chips and a pint of Guiness, then Kat's is the place for you. Inside is quite dark - but there is a fair bit of outside seating where you can watch the world go by. It's not my first choice of places to eat in Limoux, but when only fish and chips or a burger will do, then it's worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggiavelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best burger for a long time”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Had a fantastic night at Cat McGee's on Friday. I usually have the fish and chips which is excellent however, my mate Benoit recommended trying the burgers. Succulent, pure beef and cooked exactly as I had requested (saignant).

We followed that with a karaoke. Great family ambiance and so good to have the Irish crowd at the table next to us join in for a medley of songs. Brilliant, brilliant night.

Thoroughly recommend a visit to Cat McGee's if you are in or around Limoux. Weekend nights is fun time but you are assured a great welcome and a n excellent meal at any time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NickOrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If Carlsberg made Irish Pubs.....Kat McGee's would be it!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having wandered around Limoux, thirsty and in need of refreshment, the same old French bars offered nothing but a drink and a view. However me and friends stumbled across Kat McGee's Irish Bar, where the atmosphere was warm and friendly, the bar staff and owners were welcoming and the food was to die for. Kat and her husband were like a pool of knowledge and gave me and friends lots of information about the local area (times shops shut, things to do, things not to do) we ended up spending most of our time there, and the prices were very honest and affordable (compared to bars in the local area). I would advise anyone to visits Kat's, however be prepared if you do you may never leave as it is addictive. Thanks Kat for such a great holiday and we will be visiting next year!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kat McGee's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing