We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Limoux
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were only going to stay one night but the beautiful setting and the charm of our host made us change our minds and stay longer. Domaine St George is just south of Limoux (about 2km) set amongst vineyards and has picture postcard views and is set back from the road so it is very quiet. The house is lovely and feels warm and cosy.
It is an ideal base to tour the area and is only 1/2 hour from Carcassonne.
John looked after us very well and we immediately felt very comfortable and at home.
Breakfast was substantial and of the very best quality. We only wish we could have stayed longer.
A stay here represents outstanding value for money and was one of the high points of our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mawson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allepey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Four friends and I have just returned from a week at the fabulous Domaine St George on the outskirts of Limoux. We went to find subjects to paint and the glorious countryside, majestic mountains and beautiful, unspoiled villages in the area did not disappoint. Our hosts, John and Maureen Taylor did all they could to help us make the most of our stay at their beautiful B&B. The views from the property itself were stunning, but during the week, we visited many places including Alet-les-Bains, the abbey of St Hilaire, Carcassone, the antiques fair at Mirepoix, the weekly market at Bram, the fragrant Rose festival at Camon. The property itself is beautifully appointed and maintained, with every consideration made for guest comfort - from Egyptian cotton bed linen and complimentary toiletries, wine and water in the room to tea and coffee making, hair dryers and a guest kitchen. And other visitors have mentioned the breakfasts - we had 7 and every single one was different, abundant and delicious - Maureen's passion for cooking and baking was a daily delight. For the Taylor's it's not just a business - they take justifiable pride in ensuring guest comfort, helping you to make the most of your stay and delivering exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: all the rooms are exceptional and the whole property is very quiet (and I am a very light sleeper)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Thanks for a wonderful stay during a brief work trip to the area - we were made to feel very welcome and relaxed. John and Maureen's attention to detail is fantastic and the house itself is fabulous. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank EmyNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at Domaine St George for three nights during our honeymoon...it was a perfect retreat! John and Maureen are the most gracious, personable hosts any traveller could hope to encounter on their travels - they made us feel at home from the second we got there. Highlights included a different delicious breakfast every morning, our deluxe room - it has a 5 star feel to it - and all the special, personal touches that makes one never want to leave. You simply cannot go wrong by staying here, we wish we had a few more nights...Thank you Maureen and John and see you as soon as possible!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I want to thank Maureen and John for the warm, welcoming and fantastic stay! We stayed three nights, along with our friends, and shared the Orchid suite. We had beautifully decorated rooms, which included robes, slippers, tea and biscuits, and a bottle of wine and a safe. The bed was very comfortable!
Breakfasts were incredible and included fresh baked scones made with cheese and rosemary, cheeses, muffins, soup, crepes, fresh eggs from their chickens, fresh orange juice, pain au chocolate, ham, and the most incredible roasted tomatoes ever! We all raved about the tomatoes, which were from their garden, and thankfully we got to have them every day!
Just when I thought it couldn't get any better, Maureen indicated she could make dinner one night. It took us less than 1 second to say yes! We started with canapes by the pool. They were unbelievablly delicious. For dinner, we ate on the patio and enjoyed a wonderful dinner of wines, duck,lentils, green beans and tomatoes!
The area was beautiful and we enjoyed a hike to Montsegur, the market at Mirepoix, the wineries suggested by John and Maureen and our drive around Minerve! The Tour de France went through Limoux each of the last two years. It was cool while we were there, but we sat out by the pool to enjoy the beautiful sunsets.
This B and B exceeded our expectations and I wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairefromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at Domaine St George for 3 nights. We found John and Maureen to be excellent hosts. Maureen's breakfasts were amazing. Make sure you have a good appetite at breakfast time. We agree with other reviews and their positive comments. This place is definitely value for money and we would recommend to all fellow travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShamckWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My friend and I returned from France last week; we stayed at Domaine St. George for 7 nights. I totally agree with all of the positive comments that other people have made in their reviews. Maureen and John are exceptional in the way that they provide a warm and welcoming place to stay. They are extremely friendly and helpful; they gave us information about the local area and tips about good places to visit (of which there are many - the area is beautiful).

The B&B is run to a very high standard; slippers, dressing gown and a welcoming bottle of wine are just a few of the extras that are provided in the comfortable bedrooms. The breakfasts are delicious and unique; something different every day!

Maureen & John provide run a very comfortable B&B at very reasonable prices. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limoux
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
1.2 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#4 of 5 in Limoux
31 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
441 reviews
14.1 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
13.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George

Property: B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
Address: Route de Malras, 11300 Limoux, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Limoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine St George is a luxurious chambre d'hote located amongst vineyards just outside the market town of Limoux. All bedrooms are en-suite and individually decorated with traditional French furniture. All rooms have personal touches and every effort is made to help guests feel welcome. They have the use of the solar-heated 9 metre pool, shady summer house, own gas BBQ and summer kitchen. The house is not for smokers. There is secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b In Limoux At Domaine St George Hotel Limoux
Bed And Breakfast In Limoux At Domaine St George
Domaine St George Limoux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing