We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Marvelous Historic Chateau"”
Review of Montfaucon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limoux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montfaucon
Ranked #4 of 13 Limoux B&B and Inns
Lake Zurich
1 review
“" Marvelous Historic Chateau"”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

If you want to truly experience French hospitality in an unspoiled area, visit Limoux and stay at Montfaucon. It is a wonderfully restored chateau on the banks of the Aude river with the most outstanding staff. Beautifully kept rooms with a marvelous terrace overlooking the river. The village square is an easy walk over the old bridge where you can experience the slow paced life of a small village. The area offers a great variety of historic places to visit within easy driving range. There is nothing not to like about Montfaucon in Limoux, France.

Bonnie B

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Hotel at Montfaucon is beautifully restored. It is very centrally located with a short walk to the center of the small village. Market Day is on Friday, and the staff at Montfaucon were simply the BEST. Dawn who is so aptly named brings a bright and cheery smile as she refills your coffee carafe and Mo is always on hand to help with a special treat. Our tour Guides were excellent and very knowlegable. Even when a restaurant was not as cooperative as they might like, the guides managed situations with barely a second thought. Our special treat was a class in Watercolor with American Artist Ted Nuttall. More special than any workshop stateside, this tour included food and beverage high atop the gorge at Minerve and Lamb on a spit at a hunters lodge, where only locals could be found. Not a typical tour, having taken many such packaged tours in the past, I will give this company a thumbs up and five stars! As we were leaving the guides were set to pick up the next group and we all wished we could stay, the versatility of this company is seen by the fact that we were a group of watercolorists followed by a group of bicyclists planning on a tour of France during the Tour d'France! Shows you the creativity and variety, go ahead and plan your tour group using this amazing space as your home base, you will not regret it. The Meeting space is in the Wine Cellar! Such fun.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor, it was a long staircase but I took great pleasure in being at the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I participated in a watercolor painting workshop at Montfaucon. The staff was outstanding and could not have taken better care of us! Imagine lavender-scented towels each morning! The facility is beautiful and still retains European charm of an 800 year old edifice. The gorgeously crafted stairwell, the furnishings, the restored fireplace and ceiling beams, the outdoor patio overlooking the Aude River, feeding the ducks on the river, the ability to relax in a quiet neighborhood, the close proximity to the square, the shops and restaurants, and the friendliness of the local people all made for an outstanding 10 days. Limoux is located within easy travel distance to numerous area attractions including Carcassone and Minerve. Loved it!!!

Room Tip: Two floors of bedrooms, no elevator. If you have trouble climbing the beautiful marble-floored stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Montfaucon is a beautifully renovated chateau in Limoux, France. The rooms are large and nicely appointed with good-sized closets, en suite baths and plenty of windows. Our room had a beautiful view overlooking the Aude River. The entire house is kept spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are great, with the best coffee ever, and the dinners are out of this world. Our tour guides, Penny and Maeve, were fantastic. They coordinated our sightseeing with our painting plans making for a delightful itinerary. They both have knowledge of the region as well as each site we visited and they made our trip feel very personal. I look forward to visiting Montfaucon again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Montfaucon was the site of an oil painting workshop I attended, and it did not disappoint. The chateau, which sleeps ten, touts a winding staircase, large, beautifully appointed bedrooms with en suite baths, a painting "cave" (formerly wine cellar) and a terrace overlooking the Aude River. A remodel by the owners brought the chateau back to it's historical carriage, complete with original wood beams gracing the ceiling and a fireplace made of stone in the dining room. The on-site chef, Jean-Francois, didn't hurt, either -- the food was magnifique! Our tour guides were two young women, vibrant and knowledgeable about southern France. They provided history, anecdotes and the savvy that comes from living in and loving the place where you're working.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street side are noisier with morning traffic, but it isn't a problem as you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I signed up for a painting workshop and was blown away by the amazing bed and breakfast, divine sightseeing and incredible service. New adjectives will need to be created to describe this place. I loved it.

Room Tip: Def choose the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We recently stayed a week at Montfaucon during the middle of May. We were so impressed by the staff, especially Mo, that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this unique residence. The decor is lovely, no detail is missed from fresh roses from the garden in your room to planning your day. The rooms are spotless and the bathrooms have everything you could want for. The center stair case is breath taking and the living area, a step back in time. We were there for two days alone and felt like we were living in a castle.
Joanne arranged for our dining and wine tour at Gayda vineyard as well as recommending wonderful day trips to the surrounding area. Limoux is uniquely located that you are just an hours drive to the beaches of the Mediterranean near Narbonne and with dine at a Michelin star restaurant in Narbonne. Carcassonne is also less than a hour away and is a most interesting medieval city. Limoux is a small village but has fine eating available, all within walking distance. We were not part of a luxury tour which is available but were very happy with our independent activities. You will hate to leave.

Room Tip: The luxury suite is excellent for size, privacy and view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limoux
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
0.2 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#4 of 5 in Limoux
31 reviews
7.6 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Moneze Basse
La Moneze Basse
#1 of 13 in Limoux
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ville
La Maison Ville
#1 of 2 in Limoux
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel Limoux
Motel Limoux
#5 of 5 in Limoux
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montfaucon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montfaucon

Property: Montfaucon
Address: 11 rue Blanquerie, 11300 Limoux, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Limoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing