We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chateau Montfaucon and staff have set the standard for excellence!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Montfaucon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limoux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montfaucon
Ranked #3 of 13 Limoux B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Chateau Montfaucon and staff have set the standard for excellence!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I joined lifelong friends for a 2 week vacation and watercolor tour at Montfaucon this August. We are still talking about what a wonderful experience we had and how lucky we were to stay at Montfaucon!!! The chateau is breathtaking!! It is over 800 years old, overlooks the Aude River, has been lovingly and exquisitely resored and lavishly appointed. As soon as you open the door and view the magnificent staircase you know this will be a stay of a lifetime.

Watching Penny and Maeve, our energetic and knowledgeable guides for the entire two weeks, was like watching synchronized swimming. Every need and desire was anticipated and their command of the language, sites, local customs, and history of each village made the experience truly special. We really felt as if we came to know the real France in a way that is not possible in a big city such as Paris.
Limoux is a wonderful village with weekly markets, concerts, and restaurants on the square....all within a short walk over the Aude River. And the nearby villages are rich in history, castles, old stone walls, walled towns, and fields of sunflowers, lavender, and grape vines.
Dawn and Mo cheerfully greeted us each morning with a hearty breakfast and big smiles. They also made sure our wonderful rooms and luxuriant bath products were fresh and perfect each day.Jean Francois, master chef, created 5 star dinners the 3 nights we dined at "home" in the beautiful dining room just off the stone terrace...On the days when we were driven to other locales Penny and Maeve provided the transportation and rich historical descriptions of the places we visited. They even scouted out the perfect field of sunflowers for us to paint and made sure they knew the exact time of the day when the flowers would be facing our way so that our painting environment would be perfect. Again, attention to every detail !!
The last night we were at Montfaucon several guests wrote checks to reserve their spots for the return to Montfaucon in two years time. For some guests this will be their third visit. I would submit that this vote of confidence says it all!!!
Jo, Sacramento

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Imagine 18 days at a blissfully quiet, chic 800 yr old but fully modern and magnificent place --Montfaucon! As part of a watercolor painting group I immediately understood why my friend was coming back for a second time--my travel savings account is already getting replenished in case I am lucky enough to be able to come back again myself. The owners and Penny and Maeve, our trusted guides in all things French and Limoux, made this stay unforgettable in every possible way. The food was beyond extraordinary and we especially relished the nights when Jean-Francois arrived to create his luscious meals. Limoux is absolutely a terrific place to base a vacation--the perfect blend of village life that comes alive with festivals, concerts, markets virtually every week. It is impossible to be bored in Limoux. Daily excursions to abbeys, castles, sunflower fields, roman ruins, the gorges, Bugarach, the Mediterranean, and even a Uruguayean <sp?> BBQ at a gorgeous winery. This was a unique and unforgettable experience. GO! You'll never look back! ~~~ Sue N.

Room Tip: My room faced the street and, though the other side of the house overlooked the river, it can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our June oil painting workshop was enhanced greatly by the accommodations & hospitality of the entire staff of Montfaucon. Penny planned our itinerary; & along with Maeve, expertly navigated our large plein air painting group by van to tour destinations in the South of France that were absolutely breathtaking and rich in history. We had a lovely continental breakfast served to us every morning, along with smiles & cheerful conversation, by Dawn and Mo; as well as dinners prepared by gourmet chef Jean-francois Munos at the chateau (when our guides were not treating us to a fabulous meal in Limoux or on one of our excursions to other locales). We were even treated to coffee and tea served to us while we painted in the cave/studio downstairs. Guidance was offered for any issue that cropped up - a trip to a doctor & pharmacy in Limoux was made much less daunting with the help of Maeve and her French interpretive skills. We were treated fabulously at Montfaucon, and I'm planning on making it a future destination.

Room Tip: I shared a room on the third floor that overlooked the river Aude, and loved both the view and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

A top-notch place to stay. Over 800 years old, redo opened up great fireplace, thick wood beams. A beautiful entrance spiral staircase. Location is excellent, back terrace over the L'Aude River. Two blocks to the new bridge and the main plaza. Great restaurants nearby. Close to train station. Best of all is Penny Willocks, the manager, who is a Kiwi from New Zealand, and Maeve O'Sullivan from San Francisco, her assistant. Both speak excellent French and know the area. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center but climbing the stairs can be your workout. Get a room facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devidee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I had never heard of Limoux before we came, and now I will never forget it. The town - plenty charming in its own right - was introduced to us so personally and expertly by our guides (who were also our hostesses, chauffeurs,excursion planners, translators, cultural tutors and heroes). The hotel itself is incredible, even without the tour component: a lovely, renovated 12th century chateau with a grand staircase (modeled on the Ritz Carleton in Paris); charming bedrooms with individual baths, and views of the river Aude that are breathtaking at every time of day. And in the basement, there is "la cave" - a gracious, climate controlled multi-purpose space where our group held painting classes while not painting outdoors in the actual French countryside.

As a home-base for our daily tours, it was perfectly exquisite - we began every day with a simple, sit-down breakfast, and then we hopped into the vans for near daily excursions that took us to incredible gems of French villages, most of which we had never heard of: Lagrasse, Minerve, Alet-les-Bains, Collioure - just to name a few. And every dining experience, whether in the hotel or out in a restaurant proved worthy of the best stereotypes of French food (and of course, wine!)

If I have any complaint, it's that I don't really know how I'll go on a vacation after this one that can hope to compare. This place is a jewel, and Penny and Maeve (our intrepid guides) made the whole experience shine.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view are a bit quieter, and have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mteichert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

If you want to truly experience French hospitality in an unspoiled area, visit Limoux and stay at Montfaucon. It is a wonderfully restored chateau on the banks of the Aude river with the most outstanding staff. Beautifully kept rooms with a marvelous terrace overlooking the river. The village square is an easy walk over the old bridge where you can experience the slow paced life of a small village. The area offers a great variety of historic places to visit within easy driving range. There is nothing not to like about Montfaucon in Limoux, France.

Bonnie B

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Hotel at Montfaucon is beautifully restored. It is very centrally located with a short walk to the center of the small village. Market Day is on Friday, and the staff at Montfaucon were simply the BEST. Dawn who is so aptly named brings a bright and cheery smile as she refills your coffee carafe and Mo is always on hand to help with a special treat. Our tour Guides were excellent and very knowlegable. Even when a restaurant was not as cooperative as they might like, the guides managed situations with barely a second thought. Our special treat was a class in Watercolor with American Artist Ted Nuttall. More special than any workshop stateside, this tour included food and beverage high atop the gorge at Minerve and Lamb on a spit at a hunters lodge, where only locals could be found. Not a typical tour, having taken many such packaged tours in the past, I will give this company a thumbs up and five stars! As we were leaving the guides were set to pick up the next group and we all wished we could stay, the versatility of this company is seen by the fact that we were a group of watercolorists followed by a group of bicyclists planning on a tour of France during the Tour d'France! Shows you the creativity and variety, go ahead and plan your tour group using this amazing space as your home base, you will not regret it. The Meeting space is in the Wine Cellar! Such fun.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor, it was a long staircase but I took great pleasure in being at the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limoux
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Mauzac
Hotel Le Mauzac
#3 of 5 in Limoux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#4 of 5 in Limoux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
7.6 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
4.2 mi away
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
#1 of 1 in Alet les Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montfaucon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montfaucon

Property: Montfaucon
Address: 11 rue Blanquerie, 11300 Limoux, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Limoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing