We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting”
Review of Keld Bunkbarn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keld
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keld Bunkbarn
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely setting, great walks, warm yurt, great food. BUT only 3 toilets and showers on site - 2 "postage stamp" size - not enough room to bend down and wash feet scenario. Camping barn cooking facilities poor. Improve the communal cooking area and toilet "block" and provide cutlery and crockery in yurts for self prep of "cold"meals (cooking not allowed in yurts) and I would be happy to visit again. It's also a campsite so think there were about 40 people on site at our visit .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Owner at Keld Bunkbarn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we were surprised that you chose to give us such a low rating as you seemed to enjoy most of the aspects of your stay.

We acknowledge that 2 of our showers are quite small, they are standard space saving showers. We are located in a National Park so planning permission for extensions is all but impossible. We have tried to make the most of the space that we have available, to avoid people having to to queue during busy times, and smaller showers was a compromise that we thought worth making. As you mention, there is a larger shower on site, if you weren't happy with the smaller ones.

The camping barn has a sink, toaster kettle and microwave, which is usually enough for most people staying on a campsite. Your review does not say what else you would like to be in there. We don't think that an oven would be appropriate and it would probably be a fire risk in a wooden barn.

We do not allow cooking in the yurts as I'm sure that you'll appreciate that the cooking smells would get into the tent's fabric.

We are glad that you enjoyed the meals that we prepared for you and would have been happy to lend you crockery and cutlery for your yurt had you asked.

As a final note to any future guests, if we can help in any way during your stay please let us know at the time. We always do our absolute best to resolve any issues that arise to ensure that everyone enjoys themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    27
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
93
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We've just come home from a three night stay in a yurt. A warm & friendly welcome from Michelle & Ian, then shown to our yurt. We were amazed by what greeted us, the yurt was spacious, clean & cosy. Comfortable beds with warm bedding, nice sofa & dining table, fresh milk & logs for the wood burner. We used the campers barn while there for cooking. Clean toilets & nice hot showers with no lack of hot water. We would recommend that you try the food on offer as we had two meals delivered to our yurt & the food was beautifully cooked. Our two dogs were warmly welcomed at the Bunk barn & Yurts & loved playing in the water next to the site. We can't recommend this place highly enough, especially if you're looking for peace & quiet! Thank you Michelle & Ian for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We're just back from a couple of nights stay. We've had a special time. A beautiful place, well run campsite with quality facilities. Food was good, watching the kids swimming at the waterfall, a hundred yards up the road, before breakfast was brilliant. Can't wait to get back up this summer and to booking a yurt !

Thank you Michelle and Ian

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alannolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed when walking the Coast-to-Coast path. A warm welcome from Michelle, then shown to our lovely yurt. Spacious, clean (even after the many muddy boots that must have been there before), comfortable beds with warm duvets, a sofa, tea/coffee making with fresh milk, dining table and chairs, and all beautifully decorated. Good heating too, with an easy to use log burner plus an electric fan heater. These dried our clothes overnight too. You have to pay a little extra for use of the electricty (for the light, kettle and fan heater) though there is also a kettle one can heat on the log burner. A good range of evening meals is offered, with drinks available too. Nice bacon baguette for breakfast with good coffee, all brought to the yurt. We also took the packed lunch on offer. All food reasonably priced. Your only other choice, other than bringing your own food to cook in the campers' kitchen, is the hotel 10 minutes walk down the road. Of course the yurt is posh camping, albeit with a wooden floor, so you have to use the communal showers and toilets; all neat and kept clean. No mobile phone coverage in Keld but you can use the owners' landline phone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place is in the most wonderful setting, we stayed in the bunk barn which is situated right next to the waterfall. Accommodation was very high standard and the chilli we had was absolutely wonderful, felt well looked after, there is no mobile phone signal in this area but the owners kindly allowed me in their house to use their phone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamenwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and wish we'd booked for longer. 4 of us stayed in a Yurt because the weather didn't look great, and it was so comfortable with plenty of room. Tea and coffee is provided, and the log burner kept us toasty!
The local villages are very lovely for a walk, and the area around the site is beautiful.
We walked to the highest pub in Britain (the Tann Hill Inn) and whilst the signs say its 4 miles over the Dales, its a bit hard going especially when the ground is sodden. We walked back on the road which was much quicker. Don't expect a 5* gastro pub when you finally get there (!) - its a normal pub for walkers....lovely and simple but welcoming.
Very peaceful site, great for families as its safe and toilet facilities are near to the Yurts and pitches. There is a simple kitchen area for washing up, and parking near to the pitches so its nice and easy.
I would visit again as we've more exploring to do, and the site is in such a beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Go for Yurt 3 if you can, as Yurt 1 (green) is close to what we think was the septic tank so was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

In the pouring rain, camping on the Coast-To-Coast, we relented at Keld and found the last two welcome bunks at Park House, as well as a drying room, tea and coffee for a really decent price. We were not put off by the quasi military signs that abound throughout the property, nor the somewhat curt nature of the proprietor, these were small prices to pay for cheap, clean and efficient accommodation

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keld
6.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
22.6 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Punch Bowl Inn
The Punch Bowl Inn
#1 of 4 in Swaledale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
#1 of 3 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
9.5 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
7.3 mi away
YHA Hawes
YHA Hawes
#2 of 4 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keld Bunkbarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keld Bunkbarn

Property: Keld Bunkbarn
Address: Park House, Keld DL11 6DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Keld
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Keld
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bunkbarn in a stunning riverside location in the Yorkshire Dales. Private hot tub with amazing views available to hire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing