We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot, friendly people, comfortable accommodation, delicious food, all marvellous.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keld Bunkbarn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keld
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keld Bunkbarn
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds Point, New Jersey
1 review
“Beautiful spot, friendly people, comfortable accommodation, delicious food, all marvellous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

This was one of the highlights of my Coast To Coast walk this summer. The Keld Bunkhouse was one of the best places I stayed. The setting by the river is very beautiful and Heather and Steve are extremely hospitable. We talked to two Swiss women who were walking the Pennine Way and together we watched part of the Julia Bradbury DVD. All this has been said before by other guests so I can only repeat, go there, stay there, it's great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlGarthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    27
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
93
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

my husband and I stayed at the Keld Bunkhouse during our Coast to Coast walk and it was the best value for money along the way. Heather and her husband are very welcoming, very relaxed and nothing is too much trouble for them. We had room 2 which is next to a small bathroom, has a TV, spacious, and even Heather irons the sheets on the bed! There are two other rooms upstairs, each has two bunk beds in them. They looked spacious and very clean too. The bunkhouse is equipped with a good size kitchen, a TV lounge and a nice little nook for two to read a book in. Plus there is a large dry room to hang up clothes and put boots in to dry if needed. The bunk house is behind their house and right next to the river Swale. On the other side of their house is a camp site for tents and small vans. They offer a fabulous meal in the evening - vego curry with nan bread, or a beef stew or beef curry with nan bread. Fantastic value at 5 pounds and delicious! You can also buy beer and wine to go with your meal, both reasonably priced. If you need to catch a bus, the bus stop is right out the front and takes about half an hour to go into the next town along the route, Reeth. At forty pounds for the night we thought it was by far the best deal around and wonderful! (if you stay at The Old Croft House in Kirkby Stephen the night before, don't listen to the woman there who is a bit of a snob and didn't recommend the bunkhouse...don't know what she was talking about!)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mijah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Comfortable accommodation (no draughty large dorms!). Includes tea, coffee and breakfast (cereals and toast). On route for Coast to Coasters. Hot meals can be provided at a reasonable extra cost.

Very small drying "cupboard" which could be an issue if lots of walkers staying and everyone has wet gear.

Nice sitting room with TV and also has a basic licence (if you can't be bothered to walk to the pub 1/2 a mile away).

Campers etc also welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

This is no bunkhouse. It is a very comfortable and welcoming upscale hostel. Steve, the owner, was extremely welcoming and accommodating. The bunkhouse overlooks a small waterfall. Steve will prepare meals for you and is licensed to sell beer. This was a very welcome sight at the end of a long day of hiking.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommywilson2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

This bunkhouse is in a superb location for both The Pennine Way and The Coast To Coast paths. The setting is great with the River Swale right outside the door. The ammenities are top rate: Well equiped and spotless kitchen, comfortable seats, Sky TV, excellent drying room (it really dries wet gear and thats a first for me). The beds had lovely soft duvets and I slept like a log. Heather and Steve and Spot the dog made us feel very welcome. I'm going back soon! (Strip your own bed on leaving and Heather gives you a lollipop!)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank postmanpat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

I stayed in the Keld Bunkhouse in June when I walked the Pennine Way, and liked it so much I went back there in September in the car, with my wife. Not like any other bunkhouse I have seen.. it has one room with a double bed, one room with two bunks and one room with four bunks, together with a beautiful sitting area and a kitchen diner and drying room. The bunks are full size beds. There is Sky TV. Everything is spotless and new, the facility was only opened in May this year.

The location is stunning, bang next to the Swale with a waterfall outside the back door. Breakfast materials such as juice, cereals, bread etc are included in the price and food is available in the evenings too. Heather and Steve are very welcoming and friendly.. it is hard to fault this place. Because the Coast to Coast and the Pennine Way cross at Keld, there is a real shortage of value for money places to stay, so the Keld Bunkhouse is especially useful.

If you are on the Pennine Way, note that you can walk up the delightful West Stonesdale to rejoin the Way, no need to retrace your steps into Keld.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penninewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keld
6.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
8.2 mi away
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
#1 of 3 in Kirkby Stephen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Bivouac at Druid's Temple
14.9 mi away
Howgills Bunk Barn
Howgills Bunk Barn
#1 of 8 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#4 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keld Bunkbarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keld Bunkbarn

Property: Keld Bunkbarn
Address: Park House, Keld DL11 6DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Keld
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Keld
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bunkbarn in a stunning riverside location in the Yorkshire Dales. Private hot tub with amazing views available to hire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing