We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Keld Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keld Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Keld B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

There are many positives to this hotel. Public room and bedrooms are all clean and newly furnished. The showers are hot and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful, for example offering to drive one of our group about ten miles to the doctor's surgery. Tea and cake were offered on arrival. The breakfast and evening meal were well prepared, although the dinner was reasonably expensive. Parking is on the public road outside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Keld Lodge did not disappoint. We were the only 2 guests and had reserved the two single rooms with a shared bath but were given 2 double rooms for the same price. The drying room was a bonus as we arrived with wet boots and waterproofs. We had availed of the room + dinner rate and this worked out very well.

After hot showers, we played chess and had some nice wine in the common room before dinner. Our meals (dinner and breakfast the following morning) were very good and the selection on the menus was impressive. Matthew was personable and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linilini11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here while walking the Pennine way in October. On arrival I was given a warm welcome and some tea and cake which was very welcome. They have a drying room which is great and also a very comfortable sitting area and bar. My room was very comfortable with an ensuite and although it was not a cheap place to stay I would say that it is very good value indeed! The food in the restaurant was one of the best meals that I had on my entire trip and I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walker43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

From the moment we arrived after a long trip up from the south west midlands we were made to feel totally at home , we travel with a little dog who even had her own welcome in the room when we checked in a bowl of bickies and a lovely rug although we do travel with her own. The trip was special to us as it was not only New Years Eve, but Jan 1st also being our wedding anniversary. I had phoned prior to our visit to see if they could organise flowers for my wife as a surprise at breakfast on the 1st (our anniversary) which they did beautifully even successfully matching the ones that had been in her wedding bouquet.
The food throughout was of the highest standard, what you would seriously only expect in a Michelin star'ed restaurant. I have travelled all over the world stayed in many wonderful guest houses hotels etc . I can honestly say the position of, the service,the atmosphere and the food at Keld Lodge is second to none

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigirich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Excellent food with fantastic views from the window of the dining room. The current owner is young, friendly, helpful, enthusiastic and knowlegeable and was a restaurant manager at The Sharrow Bay, Ullswater and has two fantastic chefs.

Our room was comfortable and clean and more than adequate and they have plans to upgrade many. But the main draw for us is the superb food.

This is one of the few places where our luggage had been carried up to our room for us on the Coast to Coast and we appreciated it. Slow down, enjoy the walking, enjoy the hospitiality, enjoy the wonderful food and enjoy the fabulous view.

Thank you to all at Keld Lodge for a lovely stay. We wish you well for the future. Keep striving for high standards. It is appreciated by us and many others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee-and-Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had a lovely stay at Keld Lodge during our C2C trip. Like so many before us we dragged ourselves in like drowned rats after a "difficult" crossing over Nine Standards in a biblical downpour and then the near-impossible crossing of the wretched Ney Gill. So it was fantastic to show up at Keld Lodge and be given such a nice, warm welcome.

Our room was cosy and comfortable with a great shower and a fabulous view across the dale. The atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was just terrific - you really felt amongst friends. And friendly beers, come to think of it. We had a *very* nice meal and very much appreciated the beautiful conservatory location of the dining room, which exploits the Lodge's position to the last centimetre of view. A great spot to sit, eat, and trade C2C war stories.

The staff are friendly, funny, and overall absolutely brilliant. This place is pitched just right to be a walker's dream destination.

Our only slight disappointment was that the drying room, a legend in these parts, was defeated by the army of wet walkers and their ninety-three tons of soaking kit, and didn't really manage much more overnight than getting everything nice and warm while largely maintaining its moisture content, so it felt a bit like some exotic greenhouse at Kew or somewhere. I have no idea how this stuff works, but maybe some form of active dehumidification is possible? That next morning, certainly, it just felt like we had been moving water around a bit, rather than actually getting rid of it. But this was the really horrendous aftermath of a ludicrously wet day and maybe it would have defeated any arrangement anywhere. And it was a very small fault in what was otherwise a quite superb stay.

Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vogel421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was one of the best places our group stayed at while on the Coast to Coast walk. Friendly hosts, fantastic food, a drying room, spacious bedroom, pleasant areas to sit, and overall, very comfortable.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Keld Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keld Lodge

Address: Swaledale | Yorkshire Dales, Keld DL11 6LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Keld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Keld
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Keld Lodge. This former shooting lodge and youth hostel is now a comfortable hotel and restaurant. We are situated in beautiful Swaledale close to the half-way points on the Coast to Coast walk and Pennine Way. The full glory of one of Yorkshire’s finest dales sits on our doorstop offering a wide variety of local walks and interests.Our aim is to ensure that our guests enjoy every aspect of Keld Lodge – from the warmth of our welcome and high quality accommodation to our excellent food and real ales. Superb views of Swaledale fill the windows of our conservatory dining room, lounge and many of our bedrooms. Comfy chairs and a huge picture window in our snug provides a comfortable and informal place to sit, relax and enjoy the dale. Whether you join us for a hot or cold drink, a tasty lunch or dinner or an overnight stay we believe you will experience some rather special Yorkshire hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keld Hotel Keld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing