We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was first class”
Review of Keld Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keld
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keld Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Keld B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Arrived tired and aching after a long walk from Kirkby Stephen. We received a warm and efficient welcome from Matt and it got better from there. Our dinner from an imaginative and extensive menu was very tasty. The Black Sheep bitter was in good form. My bedroom was warm, peaceful and comfortable. The Lodge has a drying room for wet clothes and boots. It is amazing how many places that claim to cater for walkers don't offer this facility, so well done to them. The service and atmosphere here is really good.

Room Tip: I was very happy with spacious and comfortable room 1.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Keld Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Staying at Keld Lodge felt like joining a house party. Fantastic welcome from the barman. Small but comfortable room. Comfortable lounge, where I enjoyed a beer whilst looking out the huge windows on the blustery weather outside. Dinner very good, they obviously have a chef who knows what he is doing. But the best thing of Keld Lodge is the atmosphere. Real feeling that you are all guests at a weekend country house party - lots of good conversation with fellow walkers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spoons m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's definitely worth the trip up the Dale to have dinner at Keld Lodge.
You get a great welcome from Matthew, who hosts and runs the place.
There are 2 rooms for dining- the conservatory and the back room. We were in the back room which was very cosy and had 4-5 tables.
The menu was interesting and varied, and everything was freshly cooked and delicious. The servings were generous and there was plenty of veg and lovely roasted new potatoes to accompany the meal. The food was also very nicely presented, especially the puddings- look out for popping candy on the cheesecake!
The service was excellent.
We will return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoubyLouBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent a night at Keld Lodge while doing the Coast to Coast and had a good experience. The lodge is located just a minute or two off of the C2C route and is something of an oasis in an endless expanse of sheep pasture. The service at the lodge was great, with everyone we met very friendly and very willing to help in any way they could. There is a restaurant and bar on-site, which is great as there isn't anything else around. There is also a comfortable public lounge, which was a nice place to enjoy a pint and chat with your fellow C2Cers (and, in one case, meet their friendly dog). You also have access to the drying room for any of your gear that needs it. If there is a downside to the lodge it's that the rooms, and the bathrooms in particular, are quite small. Clean and comfortable yes, but small. I'd certainly recommend the lodge to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Not much to choose from in Keld after a long day's walk from Kirby Stephen. But this is a gem. You'll have a warm welcome with tea (if you want it) or have a pint. Hoses in the courtyard for cleaning your boots or rain pants if you need to. Drying room for boots and gear. Comfortable if small rooms. Wonderful views out every window. Friendly lounge where we chatted with others on the Coast to Coast. And very fine dinners and breakfasts. Hard to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Keld Lodge is a former shooting lodge and youth hostel located in upper Swaledale. I actually stayed here when it was a youth hostel, quite some time ago, well, a long time ago actually as I was still in the RAF and Pontius was still a pilot. Keld Lodge is now a hotel and restaurant but I recognised it immediately as my old YHA. Keld is the half-way point of both the Coast to Coast walk and Pennine Way. My wife and I were walking the Coast to Coast route. The Lodge is both walker and dog friendly. In fact they even provide our doggy friends with a blanket, treats and towels. Dog heaven! It has a large walk-in drying room for wet boots and clothing, a legacy of its youth hostel past, no doubt. If you are a walker and/or have a dog you will already be jumping for joy and nominating Keld Lodge as a most wonderful place.

We did not stay here but we did come to Keld Lodge for dinner. You can sit and relax in comfortable chairs and enjoy the views through a huge picture window. The restaurant has excellent views across Swaledale and it is open to both residents and non-residents. There is a good range of real ales. The menu is based on local and seasonal produce as far as possible. Starters are between £4.50 and £6.50 and main courses between £10.50 and £12.50. I had Fisherman’s Pie and a selection of Dales’ cheeses served with fruit, home-made chutney and biscuits. My wife had sardines on a bed of crushed new potatoes. All dishes were well cooked and presented. Ny wife was particularly delighted to find sardines in the Dales. We enjoyed a drink in the bar afterwards. The total cost was £55 including our meal plus one G&T, three pints of beer, two glasses of wine and a glass of port. Pretty good value, we thought

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Kel lodge is an amazing place to stay whether you are on the coast to coast route or passing through.i have stayed 3 times now, I am staying again in june and will no doubt stay many more times in the future.you feel very welcome here , the rooms are comfortable and clean . They have a huge drying room for coast to coasters. The food is out of this world, proper home cooked hearty meals, really delicious and filling. Breakfast is choice of cereal toast full english or all of it. This is the best place I have stayed at so far along the coast to coast walk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louistheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keld
9.1 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
269 reviews
22.2 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
248 reviews
6.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Punch Bowl Inn
The Punch Bowl Inn
#1 of 4 in Swaledale
310 reviews
7.1 mi away
YHA Hawes
YHA Hawes
#2 of 4 in Hawes
60 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#4 of 10 in Reeth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keld Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keld Lodge

Address: Swaledale | Yorkshire Dales, Keld DL11 6LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Keld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Keld
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Keld Lodge. This former shooting lodge and youth hostel is now a comfortable hotel and restaurant. We are situated in beautiful Swaledale close to the half-way points on the Coast to Coast walk and Pennine Way. The full glory of one of Yorkshire’s finest dales sits on our doorstop offering a wide variety of local walks and interests.Our aim is to ensure that our guests enjoy every aspect of Keld Lodge – from the warmth of our welcome and high quality accommodation to our excellent food and real ales. Superb views of Swaledale fill the windows of our conservatory dining room, lounge and many of our bedrooms. Comfy chairs and a huge picture window in our snug provides a comfortable and informal place to sit, relax and enjoy the dale. Whether you join us for a hot or cold drink, a tasty lunch or dinner or an overnight stay we believe you will experience some rather special Yorkshire hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keld Hotel Keld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing