We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very Cool Experience”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We didnt stay at this hotel, but just came to visit the pools.

This place was amazing, expensive, but amazing. Definitely something worth doing, I heard it was the largest hot springs in the world.

The different levels and pools and caves were fun to explore.

We went at the end of rainy season so it was perfect, i am not sure I would have wanted to be there in 40 degree weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    253
    110
    63
    84
See reviews for
228
316
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GabyML1301
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I thought it was one of a kind.... as per the internet brochure I saw. The view is wonderful, if you get nice weather. Anyway, you go there for the hot springs. That´s it! don´t expect anything else. Everything is crowded, expensive, flashy. I love the volcanos hot water and hot they manage it. But don´t expect quite....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabyML1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Preface: We did not stay at this resort.

My partner and I stayed across the street from Baldi at a highly recommended resort, but were curious about what this playground had to offer. We asked if we could take a walk around, but were told at the front desk that someone would be up shortly to give us a tour. We found this a very nice offer and were soon met by a young man in a golf cart who took us for a ride around the expansive property. The rooms that we saw looked like a two level apartment building, or typical highrise hotel setup. We were told there were something like 25 different pools and we saw various water features. The downside was that all of the rock formations were very unnatural looking, and the whole time we felt that we were on a time-share tour of a disneyland resort property. We enjoyed a few drinks at the bar near the entrance after our tour, but left quite content that we had neither stayed nor payed for a day pass to visit these springs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotsprings are amazing. The buffet not so much. The biggest complaint is that one of the pools was blasting top 40 bachata from 2pm to 10pm at ear-splitting volumes every single day. This music could be heard throughout most of the grounds and inside the hotel through the walls/floor/pillow. But the hotel/hotsprings are nice and clean and staff friendly. It was a nice place to relax after a long drive through the mountains.

Room Tip: Higher floors will provide a better view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelPag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I had been to Costa Rica when I was 15 and remembered going to the hot springs heated by the volcano, and I HAD to go again. The landscaping and pools were great, though I wish some of the rocks looked more real. The pools have different temperatures, and the heat felt just amazing. Very romantic place. A few of the pools weren't open when we were there.

Going to Baldi was the perfect follow-up to a 5-hour very twisty bus ride from San Jose. We got the buffet dinner option with our ticket as well, and were pretty disappointed with the food, however. Overall, I still highly recommend going to Baldi if you're in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel installations are spectacular , the pools , the landscaping, the ladies that are doing massages are the best!!,
In the other side the lady in the reception , doesn't have the training and the only that she knows is how to try to get more money for the tourists and not even trying to be nice if that hotel had another management for sure will be number 1

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had been adventure seekers in La Fortuna for 4 days. This place provided the exact relaxation and meal to end our trip before going back home. The pools are great - some very hot. We found the rock lounge chairs in one of the pools our favorite. The meal that is option is very worth it. It was a buffet of salad, soup, pasta bar, meat and vegetable bar with an amazing dessert bar. Wow. Totally worth the $ we paid.

Room Tip: Find the Rock chairs and totally enjoy them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,859 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: Del Centro De La Fortuna 4 Km, San Carlos 83-6151, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Costa Rica, at the base of the Arenal Volcano in La Fortuna, San Carlos. This is the perfect family get away that offers 25 thermo mineral hot water pools flowing naturally from the base of the volcano. These medicinal hot springs waters are certified by NAL (National Water Laboratory) from the Government of Costa Rica. You will enjoy pools ranging in temperatures from 93, 100, 102, 104, 109, 110, 113, 116, 152 º F, a combination that is suitable to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing