We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pedacito de Cielo
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$98
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Foresta Nature Resort(Quepos)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Paradise Resort(Quepos)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos(Quepos)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$109
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel California(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mimos(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
195
27
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
27
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgebumpy roaddon marcothe riverhis teamcosta ricalong drivehorse ridingremote locationkayak tourlittle piece of heavennight hikehour drivenice personworth the triphugocrocodiles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

we spent a few days at pedacito de cielo
this is the heaven for birds ,Gorgeous location,great variety of birds
up at 5 am in the morning with the all this birds singing, this was just fantastic
love this place, we will be back

Room Tip: great for birds
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Gorgeous location right on the San Carlos River. The owner and staff were super-friendly, and very accommodating. A couple of bird feeding stations attracted a great variety of birds, including parrots, toucans, honeycreepers, and oropendulas.

The owner went out of his way to make our stay what we wanted -- we weren't that interested in a short group river trip with several other guests, so he took just us much further up the river (~1 hour drive) so we could spend all day kayaking (floating, really) down a couple of rivers that eventually fed into the San Carlos, taking as much time as we wanted. Sights on the river were great, including crocodiles and the Great Green Macaw!

The private forest reserve was really nice, though we wished we had taken advantage of a guided tour with the resident naturalist -- we probably would have seen and appreciated a lot more.

The road in is very bumpy and slow-going. Easily passable by passenger car, but it takes a long and bone-jarring time to get there. So make sure you stay several days. We never saw the scary bridge that others have mentioned, so maybe it's been replaced. We woke up our first morning to find we had a flat tire (from the road), and the owner took care of it for us while we kayaked. Amazing!

Meals were great, but served at specific times, rather than whenever you want.

The rooms are very nice, though only some are on the river -- ours actually faced the main road, which was a bit noisy at times.

Aside from the river and forest, there aren't a lot of other activities to do in the area as you would find in a touristy place like Monteverde, so relaxation and enjoyment should be at the top of your itinerary.

Room Tip: Only some rooms are on the river -- make sure you request one, otherwise you might end up with one facing the main road, which can be pretty noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

my visit here was the best of costa rica. everybody was so friendly, the owner, the guide... stayed in a beautiful lodge all serounded by nature. we saw many birds on the property like the toucan, aracari and the red macaw. did a walk trough the forest with Hugo the guide and saw like 50 blue jeans frogs, green poison frogs, spider monkeys, a cayman and coati's. next time i wanna stay here longer!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Don't bother going somewhere else. Indeed, a long and heavy drive, but it is all worth it. The location is so great. The region is better since less touristic, the location of the hotel is even better. Bungalows in the middle of the forest, on the riverside, looking out over treetops and the river. Good, clean and very spacious bungalows, great terrace. Warmly welcomed by Marco, what a lovely guy and what a great cook! The food was just the best and we enjoyed every meal. Normally we go eat somewhere else, but this time, we just loved it there.
The jungletrip with Hugo is just the best, he is such a lovely guy and we didn't understand each other, but in fact, we did. Just by his heart reaching out for us. Do go their and enjoy, but to be honest, don't go their and leave this precious paradise to us, because we will try to go their again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Hotel Pedacito de Cielo is what it says. A little piece of heaven.
I came here for the third time and everytime I am wondered about the peace
of this place. From you balcony you have a view over the river San Carlos.
The owner Don Marcos, is one of the best cooks in Costa Rica. Everyday he suprised us with
a great breakfast, lunch and dinner. You don´t have a choice on your meal. But his choice is really great. His masters choice. The rooms, a kind of bungalows are made of materials from the region. The amount of different birds you can see in the garden is incredable.
The walk with Hugo through their own reserve is beautiful. Hugo don´t speaks English, but you will understand everything he explanes.
Also we made the rivercruise to the border with Nicaragua. Many birds, lizzards and crocodiles. We had for the third time a great experience. We will go back one day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews