We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bring your rain jacket, binaculars, water bottle and hikking boots!”

Puentes Colgantes del Arenal
Book In Advance
More Info
US$98.99*
and up
Waterfall Canopy Zipline Tour at Adventure Park Costa Rica
More Info
US$66.00*
and up
Arenal Hanging Bridges Hiking Tour
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aibonito, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“bring your rain jacket, binaculars, water bottle and hikking boots!”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Its a wonderfull expirience! Its a nice long walk, theres no garanties that you will see monkies, exotic birds, frogs or other animals, but just the expirience walking true the hanging bridges being so close to the forest! Its very nice thing to add to your la fortuna trip. Dont worry the bridges are made in steel, solid aluminum and concret. There not like the indiana jones ones! Dont forget to use the bathroom before starting the hike. If your a little scary of the heights i dont recoment the hike, but in the other hand its a very good w!.ay to start to overcome your fear. Its like a 2.30hr hike with resting area! true the hike. DONT FORGET PONCHO! RAIN JACKETS, water and comfortable shoes( water proof bett.er) if your asthmatic dont forget inhealer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    54
    12
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It really was a great experience the visit of the hanging bridges in La Fortuna, San Carlos, where you can find bridges with nearly 100 meters long, elevated more than 40 meters from the ground. In most of these, the tourist walks above the treetops which make it an experience that is worth living. The day we did the tour was raining which prevented the view of much of the wildlife that must be in place. Almost at the end of the tour, weather improved and could hear the chirping of birds and see some species. The place is very well designed, with very well signposted, protected and cobbled paths that contribute to the enjoyment of nature.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Educational, beautiful, fun”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Lovely walk with extremely knowledgable guide, tons of great wildlife (birds, two eyelash vipers, sloth, leaf cutter ants, etc). If you're worried about heights and wobbly suspension bridges, relax. I'm a big scaredy cat and with a smidge of mind-over-matter, I was just fine. This is a really worthwhile excursion.

Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Over thirty hanging bridges, lots of flora and fauna. Our guide provided us with a whole education on Costa Rican ildlife and we had a blast. Don;t miss this in Arenal!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TofinoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkeley, ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for certain demographics”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I see that almost everybody rated this place very highly on tripadvisor. However, I think that is because the people that are most likely to leave reviews on tripadvisor are all also the same demographic of people who are likely to enjoy this place.

First, I'm a little bit biased. The day was cloudy and rainy. However, that is very common for the area around the Hanging Bridges. (They must make a small fortune selling ponchos at the store for $6). I'm not saying this place isn't good, but just not for everyone. I'm more of an adventurer, who regularly does hikes back at home... and that's just what this is, a hike with an occasional bridge crossing... except that they make you pay $24 USD which to me is absolutely absurd (especially when you multiply by a family of 4). At most I would have paid five bucks for it if I could put my own value to it. I would have rated this place higher if I saw more animals, but all we saw was a quick view of some monkeys, which we saw much more of at Manuel Antonio.

In summary:

Good for: Families with kids, older people, people who love nature (e.g. gets excited to see rare insects maybe?), people who don't like or are unable to do the more strenuous Arenal activites..

Not good for: People who have already done similar hikes (either in the Arenal national park, or a guided tour in Manuel Antonio), people who are looking for more adventurous activities, people who are NOT willing to pay $24 for a simple hike with occasional bridges.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puentes Colgantes del Arenal also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Puentes Colgantes del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing