We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macaw Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arenas(Punta Leona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Caletas(Jaco District)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
172
22
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
22
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownermain buildingcosta ricacarara national parkbird watchingbeautiful settingnature loverssolar energyoff the beaten pathyoga platformin advancenatural spawonderful experiencedining roomceiling fansan joselily ponds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was my first trip to Costa Rica and I must say that visiting the Macaw Lodge was definitely one of THE highlights! I will make sure to go there again on my next visit.

If you love nature, peace and animals this is a must go for your next trip! The drive up to the lodge itself is already quite a wonderful experience... once you enter the lodge you feel part of nature and the beauty of it all is just AMAZING!

Everything is done in such beautiful detail and for me as meditator I love the peace and silence of this place... The only thing you hear are nature sounds and looots of birds :)

The gorgeous garden is full of flowers, birds and you even hear and see red macaws flying in the sky... The trial into the woods and the waterfall is a definitely "must do".

They have a beautiful Yoga Pavilion and it's perfect for Yoga teachers to host retreats or to meditate... Also a paradise for bird watchers...

The owners are super nice and caring people and the desserts were delicious too :)

The perfect place to nurture body, mind and soul!

Thank you for an amazing experience and we'll come back for sure!

Many blessings,
Sonia

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sangita007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacawLodge, Owner at Macaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Sonia, thank you very much, we learned so much from you at Macaw Lodge. We can't wait to see you again next year !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Macaw Lodge offers an incredible experience close to exuberant nature, mesmerizing landscapes and a wonderful collection of exotic plants in the gardens. Some time ago I had the chance to stay in Macaw Lodge. We discovered a unexpected tropical paradise well-hidden in the high mountains of Turrubares. The road up to the lodge, crossing the little village of Bijagual, was a real discovery! The journey started along Carara National Park, right after crossing the famous “crocodile bridge” After a left turn we found the rural road to Bijagual. Macaw was a true surprise, their “energy efficient” facilities based on solar energy were certainly impressive. The lodge is located close to a pond where Purple Gallinules, Jacanas and Muscovy Ducks found a pleasant home, among the hundreds of other species of birds you can find in the surroundings. This is a special place for nature lovers, yoga fans and hikers! The combination is possible every time. All you have to do is wakeing up around 06 00 am to enjoy the first day lights and the fresh sounds of the forest. The hike to a beautiful waterfall is a bonus, and you will be also immersed in the adjacent forest for some wonderful exploration. The main lodge shows the hard-wood staircase that will take guests to their rooms up on the second level. Nice, clean, comfortable and fairly cool rooms will greet you. There is no air conditioning in the lodge, but that was absolutely unnecessary! The time we spent at the lodge was perfect, and the nights were quiet and perfectly cool thanks to the rain forest and the pond nearby. We had a great time in Macaw Lodge and we invite others to enjoy it as well. Next time in Costa Rica, visiting Central Pacific Area, come and discover something fascinating and different indeed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacawLodge, Owner at Macaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you very much for comment, we are offering an excellent place for the nature lovers and bird watchers. We are not far from Carara National Park, Cerros de Turrubares Reserve and Castro Cervantes National Refuge, the three major conservation categories plus we are not far from La Cangreja National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is one of the most beautiful and carefully tended lodges I have every seen! Each detail was thought through with great care and you feel enveloped in peace. I have been there twice and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank victoriacostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacawLodge, Owner at Macaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you very much, we kindly appreciate your comment, we will be waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is an amazing Lodge in the middle of the Rainforest Mountains, no so far from the Pacific Ocean. It is surrounded by a gorgeous garden where you can see an enormous variety of flora and many different kinds of birds, specially the red macaw. The food is great, very healthful and delicious! It has a peacefully atmosphere, where you can learn, rest, meditate or have an adventure walking to the beautiful waterfalls. People who work here are very nice, they may your stay so enjoyable!! I been there a couple of times, for yoga retreats, and had an unforgettable time, I really want to come back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roxana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacawLodge, Owner at Macaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank very much for your comments, we hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Having travelled worldwide i thought i had "seen it all". Well, that was before having the chance to stay at the Macaw lodge. First, it is away from the crowd, 35 minutes away from the main road (the gravel road is of good quality and you will enjoy the scenic). Then, when arriving in the Macaw plantation, the magic starts: the jungle leaves progressively the way to plantation of various tree species (teak, coffee, plam trees, cocoa ..,), then to manucured gardens, lakes, ponds with lily pads and fishes. Many rivers cross the property.

It is an ocean of beauty and tranquility. I wish i could stay there for weeks to enjoy the beauty of the landscape. And of course the staff is very attentive to everything. Food is prepared with local produce and smile, dining room overlook the lakes and nothing comes to ruin the views.

The Gardener, Don Roberto, gave my wife, kids and I a tour and explained the trees, animals (Macaw of course, frogs, fishes, insects ...) and the projects they have (including a fish farm). We met also the owner, Pablo, and were fascinated by his explanations on the plantation and the genesis of the lodge itself. Those people are keen to share their experience to the guests.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable (and yes, you can now hang your clothes ...) and overlook the lake. No glass windows but very thin metal mosquitos grids, which enable a light breeze to come in (there are curtains as well for our comfort) and let the guests enjoy a fantastic view from the room.

Walks around include a 10 minutes journey to a cascade ... You will be alone and can swim in the fresh water surrounded by the jungle. Fantastic, authentic.

I cannot recommend highly enough this experience, all this at a reasonable price. Go there for a romantic break or with your family ... Or with a group (eg for a yoga retreat, there is a beautiful yoga place there), you will not regret it.

Thanks to the Macaw staff for their welcome and kindness. Do not change anything ;)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank afderoide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacawLodge, Owner at Macaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review, make us proud and at the same time motivate us to keep the work we are doing, step by step we are building a dream to share with our guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews