We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andre234 "Excellent service!"”
Review of Casa Teiga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Teiga
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahiche
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Andre234 "Excellent service!"”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

By recommendation of my friend who had stayed at Casa Teiga before I decided to stay in Casa Estrella with my girlfriend. All I can say, it is more then I expected. The place is just unbelievable. The owners Borge and Dina are a lot of fun. They gave us all the service and advice we needed. We visited so many beautiful attractions on the island, but couldn't wait to come home to Casa Teiga and relax with some wine and good food and look at the spectacular lava field. Whoever wants to have a holiday in rural house in Lanzarote for my opinion should chose Casa Teiga. Thank you for everything Borge and Dina! We had a dream week and for sure next year we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    3
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The house is fine, but the service is pretty bad. I could not sleep well in a bed were (brand Flex ) the springs of the mattress were hummering the hole night And I am not the first to complain about this matter. They left 2 bath towels per person for a 7 days stay without any change.
Be prepared to pay like 5 star hotel and you get a wonderful villa, well decorated but the service of a motel. On my personal opinion you have better options in lanzarote. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Check the bed before owner leave the house maybe you will required a comfortable one...because this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borge J, Owner at Casa Teiga, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Casa Teiga is not a 5 star hotel as you mentioned, and has not a 5 star hotel service and it is not charging the price of a 5 star hotel, it is a self-catering rural house.
You booked the villa Casa Estrella with the special offer where you use only one bedroom, but still have the space of the whole villa (130 sq.m)
When you told me you wanted a bigger bed we didn't understand, because the bed is 150x200 which is a normal size bed for 2 persons, you never mentioned any springs of the mattress you just wanted us to open another bedroom without paying the small extra fee to cover the cost of our cleaning woman which would have been 40 euros and not 245 euros which would've been the charge for the space of a whole villa and all the bedrooms.
We tried to solve your problem as you couldn't sleep in same bed with your wife, which is not Casa Teiga's fault.
For the week you and your wife stayed you had six towels what we believe it is more than enough and our towels and bedlinen changes are mentioned in all websites.

Casa Teiga works very hard to solve the smallest problems, and we think all our repeating guests over all the years show that we have a very good service, but there are some extra services we can not give for free.

We would've appreciated if you would've cleaned all your dishes, pots and would've taken with the 5 garbage bags you left behind, because it was very hard for us and the cleaner to get rid of the bad smell before the new guest arrived.

Kind regards,

Casa Teiga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We recently stayed in the Casita del Sol, the 2 people apartment. We were in a way fortunate, the other two houses were unoccupied, so we had peace and quiet. The complex is certainly unique in it´s architecture and design. It fit´s Lanzarote perfectly!
On the service, we were a bit less satified. Since we stayed at the apartment for 2 weeks, we thought a weekly cleaning would be apropiate. The answer we got, yes can do, but will charge you. We also had to remind for clean towels etc. Compared to other vacation homes I have been in before, the Casita offers almost nothing at all about Lanzarote. Not that we need it usually, but I think it could come in handy. I actually left the information we brought for future visitors. At the end of our stay, I called to say that we would be leaving soon and where to leave the key.(the person I called was next door..) No reaction, nobody came by to say goodbye and thank you! A bit of detail I think one should have in the service industry.
Personally we thought that quality of bedding(mattress) was lacking, but maybe that is a matter of individual taste!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biancofreddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borge J, Owner at Casa Teiga, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you were a bit unsatisfied with our service.
We value guest feedback and we care very much about our customer comments.
We generally want all our guest to have a wonderful stay at Casa Teiga.
We are responding to clarify the points raised and to provide accurate feedback.

1. When you booked Casa Teiga it clearly says on all websites that the change of towels and bed-linen is once a week and it says nothing about cleaning. We have many clients who want cleaning and towels changing every day and they happily pay the extra fee.

From the first moment you arrived you asked us about a wash machine and even if the wash machine is not included in our service we offered you to use it with no extra charge because your wife wanted the change of the towels every day for free!!!

Casa Teiga is a small family run, Self-catering holiday house and should not be compared to a large 300 room 5 star modern hotel complex.
But we have something that hotels can’t offer, as a different concept and we are in a rural location far from tourist areas with some charm, peace and tranquillity of the place.

2. As you enter to Casita Sol we have a welcome map laying on the dining table full of information about restaurants, supermarkets, bars and places you could visit on the island and the rules of Casa Teiga. Besides this we give all the latest information about what is going on the island if the guests want to know.

3. All our mattresses are from Flex which is the best and most expensive brand in Spain and we are very surprised that you couldn't sleep very well.
We always hear from other guests that they are so comfortable and that they sleep at Casa Teiga like home.

4. I found it a bit strange that you complained after you left, and when you stayed at Casa Teiga you mentioned a few times that you liked it and that you will come back.

5. In our map with Casa Teiga rules it says that the checkout time is 10.00 a.m., but because there was no arrivals with new guests we happily let you stay longer.

So I think your complaint is unfair and has nothing to do with the truth.

If any of your complaints were raised during your stay we would have been very happy to solve them.
Our product represents good value for money, our apartments are clean, well maintained, stylish and everything is made with love to the smallest detail, what our guests mention many times this is why we have so many repeating guests every year. They say that they are coming from home to home.

We're a family business, love what we do and we work hard to ensure guests have a great holiday.

Thank you, Borge and Dina. Owners of Casa Teiga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed in the Casita for the second time and just love to be there. The architecture and set-up of the house and pool is extraordinary, just beautiful. The hosts are so friendly and welcoming that you easily feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We've spent a week at Casa Teiga and loved it! The site is amazing with lots of different plants and beautiful arrangements. We stayed at the Casita Sol for 2 and found it almost the best place - we had a whole terrace with sunlight from morning to dawn just to ourselves. Facilities are practical and clean and the location is also convenient - lots of restaurants and sights nearby. It was a truly relaxing experience to have breakfast and coffee surrounded by palms, cacti and lava stones as well as supper starting with a chilled white wine. The hosts are also very nice and welcoming.

Room Tip: Casita Sol is perfect for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gaibijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Casa Teiga has become my favourite holiday villa.
I and my friends have stayed there most years since 2001
Boerge Jensen who designed and built Casa Teiga has become
my good friend and has always kept the villa and Tropical gardens
in perfect condition and the lagoon pool sparkling clean.
Casa Teiga is close to Teguise the picturesque old capital of Lanzarote
and although in a quiet location is only minutes from shops, beaches
restaurants and nightlife.
I would recommend Casa Teiga to anyone looking for a
unique oasis villa holiday

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixelbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have come to Lanzarote six times and six times I stayed at Casa Teiga. Thanks to the owner Mr.Borge Jensen who maid us feel so welcome and gave us so many tips of where to go and what to do and on every trip we discover something new thanks to him.
Casa Teiga is without doubt our favorite destination. It is clean with the paradise garden furnished to the highest standards, cousy and warm atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caren726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahiche
8.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
515 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,640 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
19.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
19.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Teiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Teiga

Property: Casa Teiga
Address: C/ Teofilo Gaultier, 45, 35509 Tahiche, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Tahiche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahiche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Teiga 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Teiga is a unique "Oasis" of 2 villas set in spectacular tropical gardens around a beautiful lagoon swimming pool. Tahiche is a sleepy old village situated in the foothills above Arrecife on the road to the old capital of Teguise. The golf course is a few minutes drive away, while Costa Teguise with its superb facilities is a mere 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Casa Teiga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing