We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and quiet hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Porto Ligia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Porto Ligia
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lygia
Certificate of Excellence
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice and quiet hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Hotel facing the sea in Lygia. We stayed there one week in July 2012 for our summer holidays and we loved. If you are looking for a quiet place with no loud music, nice and helpfull staff and great facilities like swimmingpool and private lounge chairs ,then this is the place to go!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucia1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    42
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Very nice hotel right on the pebbly beach at Ligia. We had a first floor room in the block facing back to Ligia town, but with a super view of the bay and mountains across the water.

Superbly positioned hotel with excellent facilities : pool, breakfast on the patio by the pool, nice reception area. The breakfast had an excellent choice from a cold buffet, including meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, breads, cakes, etc.

The only complaints we had were : the in-room fridge smelled of fish, this was quickly fixed after we reported it; the shower curtain didn’t reach the edge of the shower tray, causing the bathroom to become a wet room each time we showered (par for the course for Greek bathrooms !); and the walls are thin, so be careful what you say and do ! These stopped us giving an Excellent rating, but the hotel is still way above the average.

All-in-all and excellent week.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-facing room. The block facing the bay gets the sun all day and has slightly better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobWrinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

The staff here were so pleasant and helpful. The sea view rooms are a must. Breakfast fine. Only down side for us was the general location. Yes there are a handful of tavernas......but thats it. Luckily we hired a car for the week and explored the island, a must. If you fancy it, hire a boat from trident in Nydri to explore the islands of Skorpios, Megannissi etc.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank missscarlet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

A stunning little haven. Hotel a teeny tiny bit scrappy around the edges(poor repaint job in places-bathroom etc) but thoroughly clean and well kept. Helpful friendly staff and snorkling right out the front. Restaurants good in the area. Gorges pizza on the main road and 7 islands if you follow the beach side all around the harbour. Explore the island. We went every where. The tip, the very end with the lighthouse, the high point, the beaches, the waterfalls and the gorge!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Writing reviews is something that I have never bothered to do but, this time, I think it is truly justified! The Hotel Porto Lygia is definitely under-rated at 3 stars. We visited the hotel for a relaxing break and that was exactly what we had. It was very serene and relaxed! If you're looking for an action-packed holiday then don't stay here. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The towels were changed daily and the sheets changed several times during the week. We had a fabulous uninterrupted view of the sea, harbour, mainland, pool and gardens. A self-service breakfast was available each morning; fresh juices, cold meat and cheese, boiled eggs, yoghurt and fresh fruit and fruit juices. In addition to the description, Greek salad and other snacks were available to purchase at lunchtime and towels were available for the sun loungers. The internet and air conditioning in the room was free of charge - something we've always had to pay extra for on other holidays. Bowls of fresh nuts or crisps were served with any drinks (which, by the way were very reasonable). The beach is pebbly so don't forget your sea-shoes, and.... snorkel gear is a must! and the pool is fabulous. The hotel gets a little busier at weekends with Greek families staying - but personally, I think that is always a good sign of a good hotel when the locals stay. Several local Tavernas - with others a little further to walk past the harbour and beyond where at one in particular had a true 'Shirley Valentine' evening actually eating sat at tables set on the beach. There are a couple of supermarkets about 15 minutes walk away with limited stock and no local cash points but a trip to Lefkas is well worth it at 10 Euros in a taxi and only a few Euros on the bus. Take a look at the hotel's own website as it's excellent. Just a note about the Small Planet flights which, after reading the reviews, almost put me off booking. True to form - the flight was delayed by two hours due to a 'staffing issue', it didn't even get on the departures board and we sat on the plane for about an hour waiting for a slot before we left, but, the crew were very friendly and helpful both ways and they all spoke English! Had to queue a long time to check in at Preveza but the flight left on time and was without incident. I think it was just a case of lack of information that was the problem.
All in all - I would highly recommend this holiday - excellent value for money - 4*+

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D and H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We are very satisfied from our stay in Porto Lygia Hotel. The service was excellent the rooms very clean and the location of the pool in front of the sea amazing! We booked 20 rooms for our marriage and everybody was truly satisfied from the Hotel facilities and Services.
Thanks Sotiris and Makis

Dimitris Eri

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dimsarad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

The location of this hotel is absolutely fabulous as it is right on the beach and close to really nice tavernas. There is also a bakery and a supermarket nearby. The best tavernas are found if you walk past the little harbour and continue along the shore. We recoomend both of them, one of them is called "Seven Islands".

The rooms are plain, but clean. Most rooms have a balcony with seaview and the area is very quiet. The service and the breakfast buffé are good. The pool area and the private beach are well cared for and very quiet, no disturbing music or other tourists.

We strongly recoomend this hotel for a couples get-away, but mayby not for a family stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
6 Thank BobbyAndDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lygia
1.0 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
2.4 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 11 in Nikiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
3.7 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#8 of 78 in Lefkada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.1 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 16 in Nidri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Ligia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Ligia

Property: Hotel Porto Ligia
Address: Lygia, Lygia 311 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Lygia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lygia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porto Ligia 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Porto Ligia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porto Ligia Lygia, Lefkada, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing