We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views. Shame about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oitylo
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stunning views. Shame about the staff”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed in May 2013. Like the previous reviewer had problems with my reservation. I initially booked for one night. A week later I was contacted by the hotel to say they had made a mistake on their website reservations, and there was now a 3 night minimum. This didn't fit with my travel plans and I had already pre paid. After much argument - on email and on the phone - only by threatening to contact the Greek Tourist Ministry was my original Reservation honoured. But very grumpily and reluctantly.
Hotel itself has great views over the bay and the room/bathroom are very nicely decorated.
Not the cleanest. Light fittings are very dusty, as are tops of pictures etc. Not what I expect from a 4-Star.
I felt that I was interrupting staff, who would have been much happier without any guests to spoilt their day (it is very lovely on top of a hill in the sunshine)
Gym - opens at 10am (not sure why so late, as its in the basement. Staff not sure either, which about sums it up)
Wi-Fi - Not working.
Cafe Latte - charged to your room at extra cost if you have it during breakfast. But American coffee with hot milk is included and free. Bizarre.
Breakfast doesn't start until 9am which was very late for me (but notices at reception say 8:30am). Again another argument with reluctant staff.
Experience was not great, which is a real shame as the location and hotel itself has so much potential.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEGGY N, Owner at Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear Guest,
Being the NEW OWNER of Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa I would like to assure you that the concept of the hotel has been completely changed and to invite you to live our experience. Neverthe less your critique is of great help to us, as to what we should avoid with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    37
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
90
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We had an extremely bad experience booking this hotel, but looked very pretty on their website. And I thought they'd ratify the problems.
Little do I know Greeks. The Wireless Internet wasn't working (because of a technical fault, but I could see a 'Petrakaifos' alternative network for which they would not give me the pass code.
The balcony in the room restricts privacy; gorgeous view though.
Then breakfast; reception had a sign up from 8.30 serve breakfast. Not communicated to the kitchen. I felt I was intruding at 08.37
Finally, we had prepaid with TUI. Normal hotels would give an itinerary for staying there. They couldn't. Understand it. I'm not a fussy person, but I've stayed to many hotels and the Greeks have a long way to go in customer service. Definitely, not worth the money

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyrikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEGGY N, Owner at Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Being the NEW OWNER of Petra & Fos I would like to assure you that all bad practices have been abondoned and the renovated hotel operates in respect to authenticity and guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed in Petra & Fos late in September of 2012 which is probably the end of season for the area so this may be the reason for some of the problems we experienced and my comments may not reflect the situation in high season when the hotel will be operating at full capacity and will be adequately staffed.
The hotel is situated on a cliff above the sea and affords a great view of the bay below. The view for me is its greatest advantage and main reason for choosing it as it is a bit out of the way and far from the sea so you have to get in the car to go for a swim or anything else . Itilo is not the nicest area in mani but it is conveniently situated in the middle so is a good base for exploring both the west and east regions of mani.
Our room even though "superior" felt a bit cramped but did enjoy a very nice view from its tiny balcony. The balconies are next to each other on the upper floor so there isn't much privacy but you can catch the breathtaking view even from inside the room so that is quite nice.
It is the quality of service that was the main issue for us as for the two days we ended up spending there the whole complex seem to be run by two young men who seemed to be at the reception area, serving in the restaurant in the evening and setting out the buffet breakfast in the morning.
We were told that breakfast was served from 7:30 to 10:30 but when we turned up at around half nine the first morning we had to sit patiently and wait while the two young men filled the breakfast buffet and served us some really bad filter coffee! No option for a different kind of coffee as you get in most other hotels in the area. Also coffee was not available to be made or refilled at the buffet; you had to ask for it so we gave up after a while as it was after 10, the buffet was not full yet and the chances of the coffee improving were minimal. We went to town and had coffee there instead and decided to leave the next day. So the next morning we were down with our suitcases at around half eight but there was no sign of anyone at reception so the young man who was just starting to prepare the breakfast room had to go let the other one know we were waiting to check out. We had a long drive ahead so we thought we would get something to eat while we waited but there was nothing to be had in the breakfast room. Still too early I guess at 9.
In our two days of stay the only hotel staff we came across were those two young men who seemed to try generally but also appeared to lack in professionalism and training so you didn't feel confident going to them for anything. Not their fault though, it is the management that seems to be lacking severely in quality of guest care. The hotel looks nice in the pictures and it is but it seemed to be sorely lacking in substance. There are many really charming hotels run by nice hospitable people in mani and for the money we paid we could have stayed in any of them so we were very disappointed by our choice.

Room Tip: Dont' bother getting a superior double. if you are going to spend some extra money it is best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steamb20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEGGY N, Ιδιοκτήτης at Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Being the new owner of the hotel since 2014 I would like to assure you that the hotel has totally changed its philosophy towards guest satisfaction and genuine hospitality. We hope we will have the chance to prove it to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here, and loved the remoteness. Mani offers some beautiful sites and beaches, and it was great to return to this atmospheric hotel and relax. The rooms were comfortable, large, and clean, and I am happy the stone blends in so well with the surrounding landscape. I definitely hope to be able to return here, and would recommend it to those who want a little escape from crowded nights and something quieter instead, and to explore some more remote parts of beautiful Greece.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaCarinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Its a traditional hotel on a hill at the end of Limeni. It is made of stone which means that it has a medieval sense and decor. Its simple, with a great view of the sea during the day and an amazing view of the stars during the night. Those who love astronomy and uranography will love it. The breakfast is well, but it can get better. During my stay the spa was not working. You can sleep with open windows and just listen to the sea. its great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Everything is perfect in this hotel, the rooms, the staff, the view, the food....I recomend it but you need to have a car because it is a little isolated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinaki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were excited during our summer vacation last year and we wondered how it could be during winter.We visited Petra &Fos during a stormy weekend in Janurary and finally our opinion is again outsanting for the place and the service and generally the accomodation.Personell was quite helpful and polite and are contributing to the excellent memories we have.Another point that has to be mentioned is that Breakfast has been enriched with local kind of food like "tiganita" and "koulourakia manis" and consists of very qualitive materials..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christodoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oitylo
0.8 mi away
Porto Vitilo Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Itilo
Hotel Itilo
#2 of 3 in Oitylo
154 reviews
24.0 mi away
Alas Resort & Spa
Alas Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Elea
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Castello Antico Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Vasilios Apartments Hotel
23.5 mi away
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Oitilo, Oitylo 23062, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Oitylo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oitylo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa, is located in the middle of the peninsula of Mani, in Peloponnese and offers genuine hospitality in consistency with excellence and harmony. The hotel addresses to sophisticated guests who seek discreet luxury and comfort, offering exclusive and personalized services in an idyllic setting. It offers 23 high-quality and elegantly decorated rooms & suites. The inspiring landscape with the breath-taking sea view of Itilo's gulf from all rooms makes this supreme boutique hotel the ideal destination. During the winter months our guests can stay in a room with a fireplace, making their stay warm and cozy. The explicit "Anerousa" restaurant invites our guests to new culinary experiences with the signature of the acclaimed chef Christoforos Peskias. The Mediterranean flavors are inspired by the Greek tradition using superior quality raw materials from the land of Mani and fresh local products. Surprising flavors with unthinkable combinations create imaginative and delicious dishes and aesthetic pleasure. The "Ioni Spa" invites you to discover not only the unique wild beauty of Mani, but also our exquisite face and body treatments, with purely natural products, that embrace your senses with luxury on every detail, creating the ideal environment for short and long escapes to relaxation and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing