We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt at home”
Review of Elixirion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elixirion
Ranked #1 of 8 Oitylo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, RO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We felt at home”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Once we arrived, we felt like Maria & Dimitris enlarged their family with us. Every morning we were greeted with home cooked breakfast. The room (located on the second floor) was spacious, tastefully decorated in a traditional way, cozy and romantic. We just loved the beautiful large terrace overlooking the sea and mountain, sitting there at night, listening to the sound of sea waves, and watching the moon rising from behind the mountain. The guesthouse has a great location and fabulous view, and is an excellent starting point to explore the Peloponnese peninsula. Visiting Dimitris’ garden it’s a must! and you can also enjoy the mini collection of old and restored tractors. The seven days we spent there proved to be not enough, although this was our second visit to Mani region. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Moose_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    31
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
120
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Elixrion is a wonderful guesthouse that provides all modern amenities while keeping high traditional standars. Maria & Dimitris met our high expectations - ater all the excellent reviews we had read. Karavostasi is a very nice spot and the room had a very nice view from Oitylo Bay. Very comfortable beds - Rooms clean and decorated with style and finesse - Nice breakfast (in our case we would prefer more variety...)
But what makes Elixirion trully unique is that these people love what they are doing, love their place, respect their guests and have many nice ways to show it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Firstly I'll tell that Elixirion is special, very special and lovely place with unique disposition!.. We were really impressed when got this wonderful place after so long way from Zakynthos! (By the way, firstly we found another Karavostasi by our GPS which was located 85 km away, so we were in Elixirion very late - just before 11 pm, but Dimitry met us and Maria cooked very delicious supper for us, so we immediately felt ourselves like at home).
And when we wake up in the morning and the sun was shining already we saw fantastic picture: the sea, mountains and almost nobody nearby! On the contrary - in Zakynthos there was so crowdly and a lot of tourists. That's why here, in Elixirion we could feel real Greece, authentic Greece with it's picturesque places, hospitable people and delicious meal!
I want to thank Maria, Dimirtros and their beautiful girls for making our holidays unforgettable!
And I advice everybody who will be there to visit Dirou caves also: it's the wonder of nature!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

It was our first time at Elixirion and it will definitely not be our last! The guesthouse was beautiful, and mrs. Maria and her family made our stay unforgettable! It is located in a wonderful little bay opposite Limeni and you can access nearby villages and beaches easily with a car. The guesthouse, which is built in the style of traditional Mani towers, was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Above all we enjoyed mrs. Maria's cooking for breakfast and dinner and her lovely spirit. The breakfast was one of the highlights for us, as it went far beyond our expectations! Every day was a different selection of delicious homemade goods (pies, cakes, etc.), served by the sea, enjoying the lovely view. Generally we would recommend it to anyone going to that part of Mani.

Kyria Maria to glyko tou koutaliou me ta moura itan yperoxo! Euxaristoume poly!
Petros & Evi

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is my second time at Elixirion. Four years ago I happened upon this amazing place and this time I just had to show my wife the paradise that Dimitris and Maria have created. The guesthouse design is beautiful, artistic and truly personal. The host family pampers you. Mani is magic and the location in the Itilo Bay is breathtaking. Marias' cooking makes you not wanting to leave and please do not miss Dimitiris' huge biological gardens where everything served at Elixirion is grown. We can't wait to stay at Elixirion again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here Sept 2012 for a week. It was just perfect! The hotel is extremely pretty, with traditional Mani architecture and very well decorated; the personal touch of the owners is obvious. Our economy room was cute, clean and very relaxing. The little balcony/garden was very pleasant and we had nice view of the sea, although only on the first floor. If u want undisturbed view get the 2nd floor. The hotel was populated by very nice couples, the village is tiny very relaxing, plenty of parking space. The surrounding area has an amazing selection of beautiful villages with excellent food and fantastic looks. Make sure you eat fresh fish when u get there!! The Mani landscape, views and sea are breathtaking. You need a car to fully enjoy the fantastic beaches of Mani and fall in love with its villages. The breakfast was totally fresh, home-made. The owner was making and serving few home made stuff, different each day. The owners were very very nice and pleasant. We will go back again!!

Room Tip: First floor perfect but second floor has better view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 586alexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Everybody knows that when God made Greece he threw all the rocks into the Mani, so, with the exception of nearby sandy Stoupa, everywhere is boulders, rocks, pebbles and more rocks. But the views in the Mani are fabulous and so too that at Elixirion. The nice rooms and terraces are close to the seashore and the sound of lapping waves in the still of the night was such a welcome change for us, being more used to the sound of traffic. Breakfast on Maria's terrace is a wonderful, typical Greek, home cooked special! A marvellous way to start the day. One can also be served on one's own terrace, which we enjoyed on the Sunday. There are lots of interesting walks around and two great tavernas, one near the hotel called Faros and the other a hike away on the otherside of the bay. I imagine that the sea is quite nice and warm to swim in mid June, but we were there in May and only some Russian guests were brave enough to jump in before breakfast in what, from judging their shrieks, was an ice bucket! Of local ineterest are the nearby unique caves at Diros and the Saturday market in Aeropolis, where we bought the famed local honey and olive oil.

Room Tip: all face the sea and the bay...too many large pebbles to be ideal for small kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oitylo
0.1 mi away
Porto Vitilo Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Itilo
Hotel Itilo
#2 of 3 in Oitylo
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Limeni Village Hotel
Limeni Village Hotel
#1 of 2 in Areopoli
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vasilios Apartments Hotel
1.3 mi away
Mavromichalai Hotel
Mavromichalai Hotel
#3 of 3 in Limeni
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elixirion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elixirion

Property: Elixirion
Address: Karavostasi, Oitylo 230 62, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Oitylo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Oitylo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Studio in a traditional stone house with typical style of the region of Mani. 5m from the beach. The studios and rooms have a secluded terrace with stunning sea view and lovely selected furnishings. A homemade breakfast is available at no extra cost. Opposite is the New Stone House.. Elixirion Delicius Dishes in front of the sea 5 meters.. Maria the owner cooking local delicious dishes... " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Elixirion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing