We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice apartment”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were moved here by Booking.com after being double booked by other property owners. It was not somewhere that we would have chosen so were relieved when we saw how clean and light the apartment was.
The Victoria is a hotel that fronts on to quite a busy main road. There are 6 apartments behind it; the two on the lowest floor at the back have a large terrace. The main drawback is that they are very close to the railway station; although there are regular trains to and from Barcelona they weren't too intrusive. However we do live quite near a railway line at home so tend to tune them out.
The hotel and accommodation were exceptionally clean. Our hire car had an oil leak and as we drove the car away it was being cleaned up. Staff were friendly and helpful, although we were a bit shocked by a note telling us to dispose of our own rubbish or lose our deposit! You have to put your rubbish in a skip on the pavement apparently. The deposit is 75 euros in cash; credit cards are not accepted for the deposit.
We had a free breakfast. There were cereals, toast, bread, fruit, meat, cheese, croissants etc, plus juice and hot drinks. It was fairly standard fare, plenty of it and fresh.
There is a nice pool with loungers etc. The roof is movable so it may be covered in very hot weather. We did not use the gym or jacuzzi; there are saunas in the male and female changing rooms.
When we stayed there were two school parties staying; they were not a problem and obviously the hotel has found a niche market. The restaurant was only open for the school parties in the evening, so it loses a star as it is advertised as offering meals.
The beach is a short walk away, as is a marina. There are some excellent restaurants nearby. Oscars restaurant is on the main strip - not cheap but very good food. They also do takeaway pizzas.
It is easy to get to Barcelona on the train; it takes less than an hour. The airport is on the same line.There is a good supermarket across the road, so you can stay here without having a car. There are banks and other facilities within walking distance.
Overall good value for the price, clean and convenient.

Room Tip: The superior apartments with a terrace are worth paying the extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The hotel was further from Barcelona than I anticipated but nevertheless I had quite a good stay. The food was simple but adequate, the view from my room was pleasant and the hotel was a few minutes walk away from the beach. Unfortunately the TV wouldn't work but apart from that it was a largely relaxing 4 night stay, although I would probably recommend you stay a little shorter than that.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zamalek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

just visited this hotel in a big school group. The rooms were clean but bed was made of wooden planks, the toilet regularly wouldn't stop flushing and the view out of the balcony was poor. Calafell town was boring and run down. The food was horrible. kids meal size portions of things like chicken nuggets and chips, along with tap water in jugs. Found hairs in food sometimes. was not allowed to bring own drinks and food into room , hotel prices were 2 euros for a can of coke , while supermarket across the road prices was 40 cents, and was refused access to the gym and fitness centre . Overall below average stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex95_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Segur de Calafell hotels

London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I ran an A Level school trip in February 2012 to Barcelona and we stayed at the Hotel Victoria.

The hotel is in an excellent location within Segur De Calafell - located exactly 2 minutes from the station (trainline to Barcelona). The hotel is a 6 minute walk to the sea front and there are safe crossing points across the large road that the hotel is located on.

All of our rooms - student & staff rooms were spotless and well appointed. Towels were provided and all equipment was in working order.

The food was simple yet served an excellent purpose and the waiter was wonderful. Extremely patient with the kids and he really looked after the staff.

The owner of the hotel is keen to ensure that the kids were not noisy, as we were as well so it is clear that he takes great pride in his property. There is a pool available which we did not use but the huge games room (located in the basement) was invaluable and contained a table tennis table, pool table and table football among many other smaller games.

Overall - a very comfortable stay in a modest hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are a little quieter as further from the road. Ask for sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank citybreak17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Segur de Calafell
1.5 mi away
Silken Canada Palace
Silken Canada Palace
#3 of 10 in Calafell
280 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kursaal
Hotel Kursaal
#5 of 10 in Calafell
164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Solimar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
4R Miramar Calafell
4R Miramar Calafell
#4 of 10 in Calafell
184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apartamentos Costa d'Or
Apartamentos Costa d'Or
#6 of 10 in Calafell
83 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Antiga
Hotel Antiga
#1 of 10 in Calafell
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Ctra. Barcelona, 96/98, 43882 Segur de Calafell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Segur de Calafell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Segur de Calafell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing