We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A business worth supporting.”
Review of Hotel De France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De France
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sainte-Croix
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A business worth supporting.”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Marina and Rolf, a husband and wife team are extremely personable people and speak many languages. In our case, their fluent English was helpful to us. We had to check out at 4:30 AM to catch our return flight, and Marina was so thoughtful to put together a breakfast care package that we could take with us. We were really touched by this kind gesture.

If Leu Family Iron is what brings you to Sainte-Croix, Hotel De France is located just steps away from the shop, and that is logistically crucial if you are in for a long session. Breakfast is provided, and includes hard boiled eggs, breads and spreads, meat and cheese, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee and tea. You can walk here from the train station, and grocery stores and pharmacies are nearby too. You will get the rest and privacy that you need.

Our visit to Sainte-Croix was amazing, and I feel good about supporting this independent business.

Room Tip: Common lounge area on the second floor if you are travelling with a large group. Rent a bike at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FastAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
29
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This delightful spot was home for four days to a disparate group of 12 Americans. Marina and Rolf are exceptional hosts; it turned out we had a lot in common. They are accommodating beyond any expectation. Their breakfasts were phenomenal, Marina saw to that. Although we were there mid-May, it snowed a bit two of the nights and the rest of time, the weather was grey and rainy, but at the end of the day we'd come back to comfort, a wonderful meal, and great welcome. It is in a cross-country ski area and this would be a perfect place to spend a holiday. They really went above and beyond the "call of duty" several times. I would recommend this small hotel to anyone who needs a pleasant, secure place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Hotel de France was a great find for our cross country ski holiday in the Jura Mountains. The hotel itself was clean, comfortable, tastefully renovated and holds a fantastic central location in Sainte-Croix. The rooms were spotlessly clean and serviced daily. We were accommodated in one of the corner rooms on the third floor which provided fantastic views of the surrounding countryside.
Bistro 77, the hotels own restaurant, provided a fantastic menu. The breakfast provided as part of the room charge for us, was very generous, varied daily and even included some of Marina's home grown raspberries! The evening meals on the a la carte menu were of a high standard. We were most impressed with the fact that they sourced most of their produce from the immediate region.
It was close to tourist attractions such as the music box museum, restaurants, bars and supermarkets. For us, it was also conveniently located close to the numerous cross country trail heads in the Jura Mountains.
Our hosts, Marina and Rolf could not have done any more for us. Friendly, attentive, caring and efficient!
If we are ever back in the Jura Mountains, we will be sure to book with them again.
Thank you,
Julie and Blair
Australia

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Comfortable, welcoming and interesting .....a brush with history and a sweep of nature.

Interesting hotel that combines business and vacation possibilities with comfort and great attention to detail.

Good rooms, calm and well appointed; excellent conference and meeting spaces; nice breakfast and a restaurant that serves an excellent menu with locally sourced food and wine - by far the most sophisticated eating in town.

Small town showing history of the evolution of the music box industry and unexpectedly fascinating Museum Cima - not to be missed; great walks immediately accessible and many not challenging for novice walkers; fabulous views and vistas and a remarkable train ride to connect up with the main line service.

Excellent for a detour or a destination ----- much to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Hotel de France provided a wonderful cosy alpine retreat after the slick soul-less rooms of Berne and Zurich. It was the perfect place to get my pesky report written in the warm and accommodating company of Marina and Rolf (the hotel hosts). They kept me well watered and fed on excellent locally sourced foods and wines, while i admired the gorgeous views around St-Croix from my window. Tip: ask the hosts for a local tour of St-Croix; fascinating facts on watch-making, music-boxes, tattoo artists and you can admire some of the quirky installations by local artist Francois Junod.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Let me start by saying that Rolf and Marina were excellent hosts! They were very friendly and made myself and my co-workers feel very welcomed. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. I didn't here any of the church bells an earlier reviewer mentioned. I enjoyed the food both for breakfast and dinner. If I ever make it back to this area, I will definitely stay at the Hotel De France

Room Tip: My room was on the Rue des Rasses side of the hotel and had a very nice view of the town and distant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay Hotel De France. The hotel is under new ownership which promises to make this fine hotel into an even finer place to stay. The owner is very kind and spoke wonderful English and was kind enough to help us bring our bags to our room and make sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was also wonderful. The town in incredibly quaint and very quiet. A great place to stay if you are looking for a quiet weekend in the mountains.

Room Tip: You may want to specify if you'd like a non-smoking room. We didn't do this and our room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Croix
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Grand Hotel des Rasses
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Croix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Le Lac
Hotel Le Lac
#1 of 3 in Malbuisson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Beau Site
Hotel Beau Site
#2 of 3 in Malbuisson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#1 of 7 in Yverdon-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Le Rocheray
Hotel Bellevue Le Rocheray
#1 of 2 in Le Sentier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Pontarlier
Hotel Ibis Pontarlier
#1 of 6 in Pontarlier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De France

Property: Hotel De France
Address: rue Centrale 25, Sainte-Croix 1450, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Sainte-Croix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sainte-Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to Sainte-Croix and to our hotel. Hôtel de France, originally established in 1725 is in the historic heart of the village. It has 27 guest rooms at 3 star level. Our light and spacious meeting rooms accommodate 10 to 50 people. In our restaurant we use many local or regional products. On a warm summer evening you can enjoy our imaginative and freshly prepared dishes on the Terrasse - after having sampled a local wine or an absinth from the Val de Travers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing