We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel, but not 4 stars”
Review of Hotel Principal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Principal
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Playa de Gandia
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Group hotel with friendly staff. We had an okay room, which especially had a nice view on both sides of sea and moutains. The management should try to keep everything in a good condition and pay attention to details.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JanWillem V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

I live in Gandia and recommended my friend from Belgium to stay here for 7 nights while visiting me, because I expected this to be one of the better hotels in Gandia. Which was obviously not...

Because of some issues, my friend would arrive later, so I went to the reception to ask about possibilities to change our booking. They were very unfriendly and did not show any understanding for the situation, first of all. I felt like they thought we did not have money to pay or something, because obviously they receive way more old people (+65) then youngsters.

When my friend did arrive, they were not friendly at him at all, not asking if everything went well, or some small-talk at all. They looked weird at us, and we felt as if we did not fit in this hotel between this old people.

The room, though, was okay. Not very nice for a 4 star hotel, but we were happy with the balcony and it was all very clean. The bathroom (as well as the room actually) were not decorated nice, it was more like a hospital interior than a hotel interior. This is our personal opinion. For the price we pay, and the 4 stars that the hotel has, we expected more of it.

The fitness facilities were terrible, we did not use them. It was just too old and too basic. Nothing to talk home about.

The spa facilities, the main reason why we chose this hotel, were okay but again, not what we expected. We did not like the atmosphere, it smelled and there were a lot of insects because of the humidity. Apparently, they have problems with maintaining these facilities. A lot of the facilities are also to pay, and you have to walk from the first floor to the outside area to change from inside swimming pool to the thermal baths. A weak point too, for us. So for the spa, you should really not come here either.

The breakfast... The first days we could sit in a seperate room from the old people (groups?), and it was nice: there were churros, fresh fruits in slices, eggs, sausages, ... Really okay, and there was a very friendly old man that served us.
Then, the fourth morning, we suddenly had to sit in the other dining room, and the breakfast offer was not so nice: no fresh fruit in slices, no churros, not so many different types of eggs and sausages anymore. I was very disappointed about that....
And overall, the orange juices were very bad. No fresh orange juice, unless you pay. And the ones we got were very artificial from taste.

Good thing was that the WiFi worked in the room, but we had to get a code every 12 hours, so when we woke up, we could not go online before going to the reception. A 24 hours ticket would be more convenient.

Anyway, the hotel is maybe not SOO BAD as it looks now, but the unfriendly receptionists really made my decision: I would never stay here again and I would never recommend the hotel either. I'm sorry, Hotel Principal.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and got a room with a balcony, with 2 seperate beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband and I have travelled extensively throughout the world and we have never come across such a shabby and run down 4 star hotel. The category of the 4 star is misleading as this hotel does not represent this. This hotel is definitely not up to standard and requires to be reviewed urgently. The first impression was that the hotel is stuck in the 70's! The furniture throughout the hotel looks antiquated and tatty. We were appalled at the state of the buffet in general. The food looked very basic and there was not a good selection. I had swordfish to eat which was tasteless, cold and hard. The hotel has a very poor maintenance and lack of cleanliness. We definitely do not recommend this hotel and I hope this review is of help to future travellers.

Room Tip: I would not suggest you choose a room from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed for a week at the Hotel Principal and enjoyed it. The hotel seemed to be full even during the off-season. Our room was No. 410, overlooking the pool, which I think is the preferred side. Our room had two twin beds. The furniture used a light colored wood for the headboard of the beds, side tables of the beds, the desk, and the closet, which was quite big and had plenty of hangers. This is a plus because many hotels seem to want to skimp on the number of hangers. There were two small upholstered chairs, which were comfortable.

The hotel is 10 years old and makes it one of the newest hotels in Gandia Beach. It is three blocks from the beach and when you go to the beach, there is a supermarket at the corner.
The restaurant was quite good, with buffet food, and we ate most of our meals there. For lunch there was always a paella. The house red wine was very good and smooth, with little acidity. Every dish in the buffet was labeled with its name in Spanish. The background music was soft classical music, which was soothing to hear. The service was quite friendly. During the breakfast, there is an elderly man roaming about and it seems he is the hotel owner, who likes to know what is going on, which is a good idea.

There are two high speed elevators and you do not have to wait long for it to come when you call for it. We were quite satisfied staying in this hotel. On the first floor there is a spa and a small heated pool, for those who want to use them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We stopped at Gandia en route from south of France to south of Spain. It is a pleasant seaside resort popular with Spanish families (and OAPs out of season!) The 4* modern hotel is two blocks back from the soft sandy beach and the higher floors have a view of the sea from the balconies. We asked for a price for dinner, b & b and secure parking and were quoted 75 euros in total as the hotel was only half full. The receptionist was surprised when we asked to see the room but took us up to the 11th floor to a room with a sea view - perfect for two tired travellers.

The evening meal was a help-yourself buffet with people starting to queue waiting for the doors to open - an adequate selection of food but quantity rather than quality, however, a bottle of wine was included. Breakfast was again a buffet - fine for us - BUT the coffee from the machine was appalling and undrinkable.

The room had ac/heating and the beds were comfortable, we had a good night's sleep. TV is mostly Spanish stations. The garage parking was underneath the hotel with rather a high bump to negotiate at the entrance - not good for low slung cars. There is on-street parking available.

During holidays and weekends there is entertainment provided in the evenings.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryfromspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Marisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cristina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
principalhoteles, Presidente del Consejo at Hotel Principal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Gandia
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gandia Palace
Hotel Gandia Palace
#4 of 8 in Playa de Gandia
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
RH Bayren Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH Riviera
Hotel RH Riviera
#1 of 8 in Playa de Gandia
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH Bayren Parc
Hotel RH Bayren Parc
#5 of 23 in Gandia
730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Luz Family Gourmet & All Exclusive Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cibeles Playa
Hotel Cibeles Playa
#9 of 23 in Gandia
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principal

Address: Calle del Clot de La Mota 38, 46730 Playa de Gandia, Gandia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Gandia > Playa de Gandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Playa de Gandia
Price Range: £64 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principal 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Principal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principal Hotel Gandia
Hotel Principal Playa De Gandia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing