We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We went to Tahiti before travelling to Bora Bora. The hotel was very helpful and a beautiful grounds. The overwater bungalow very spacious. The only concern was you were not able to get to the sea from you room. The food is excellent but is very expensive we stayed for five nights. We did go out of the hotel to sea what's on offer which is not a lot so don't stay longer as you may get bored. Overall experience I would say is brilliant.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far done the walk way as you can as you get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Visitor,
Thank you for contacting us and for your review.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 3,210 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I visited as a guest when a tour dropped some fellow travellers off here. It is a wonderful place to spend the afternoon even if you aren't staying the night. There are a couple of great swimming pools, one absolutely stuffed full of fish, including a large ray which was slightly scary. There are beautiful postcard perfect sunset views across to Moorea. At sunset a guy blows a conch shell and starts lighting flaming torches around the grounds. The food in the restaurant is as you would expect - top quality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your feedback.
We are glad to read that your appreciate spending the afternoon at our resort and hope to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the near future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Oh dear we thought - getting on the ferry back from Moorea to Papeet we felt the holiday was over with only 1 more night at the Intercontinental to go before catching the plane home early the next morning. However staying at the Intercontinental near the airport certainly extended our holiday for another day. I had my 50th birthday while I was on holiday and the Intercontinental was very nice about that upgrading us to a Panorama View room (i think it was called) and gave me a lovely tin of chocolates and a lovely piece of cloth. Not that you expect everyone to be falling over you because you are having a "significant" birthday but it was a very nice touch and was very much appreciated. My husband is not a snorkeller or a swimmer - but he did get in the smaller infinity pool ( a short walk away from the amazing large pool by the main part of the resort) and he enjoyed it. The pool even had a sand beach and sand on the bottom of the pool and the infinity view was great. It also had a bar attached where you can sit in the pool and have a cocktail! His one swim for the holiday so that is saying something.! He also enjoyed looking at the Lagoonarium where the water is so clear that you can see so many fish so well without gettng wet! The hotel is quite big - with lovely grounds- so to eat we steered clear of the main restaurant area and went to the Le Lotus restaurant for our last night out. It was very good - I gather it has ties to a 3 Michelin star restaurant in France. There was a couple having a romantic dinner in this little area set aside from the restaurant which also looked very nice. The restaurant is right on the sea and was lovely - although it was more expensive I would imagine than the main restaurant area - but that is a choice you get to make.

The room was big with a large ornate bathroom and was very nice. I did wonder whether it might be time for a bit of a facelift on the exterior - but only a minor comment.Clearly it is not on Moorea or Bora Bora but I suspect a few people might go there just for a holiday and not get much further!

A thoroughly enjoyable way to end a holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jochnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your review.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your end of stay at our Tahiti Resort and look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived at Tahiti IC resort late at night and stayed here overnight before leaving for Moorea next day. Woke up to a beautiful view in the morning. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Room service personalized our food to our choice. The highlight of our brief stay was their breakfast buffet!! Too much to choose from, even for a vegetarian like me! I think it was probably the best breakfast buffet in French polynesia, now having stayed at Hilton Moorea and St. Regis Bora Bora. Check-out process was somewhat slow probably as too many people were checking out at the same time for connecting flights. Overall excellent and uneventful overnight stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NidhiG_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for posting your review.
Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and our buffet breakfast.
We have also shared your comments regarding the check out process with the department Head concerned for correction.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked a travelzoo offer with Air Tahiti Nui, but had to book 2 rooms as we have two small children (so there were 4 of us) and no rooms that could sleep 4 people. Arrived late at night and explored the property - very beautiful. Woke to rain (it rained all week...). Kids enjoyed the buffet breakfast and had a swim in the pool. Went off to Moorea for 5 days. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Visitor,
Ia Orana and thank you for your review.
For your information our panoramic view rooms with 2 queen queen beds can accommodate 2 adults + 2 childs under 15 years old.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future and do not hesitate to contact us should you plan to come back to French polynesia.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have stayed at the Intercontinental Resort, Tahiti three times now, always in transit to another Island in French Polynesia. This is a large resort, with many customers only staying one night. Keeping this challenge of so many short stay clients in mind the hotel runs remarkably well. Being only five minutes away from the airport is indeed a major plus, especially when your pre arranged transport does not arrive. The hotel staff came to our rescue in this instance even though they had nothing to do with our transport arrangements. This willingness to help will always be remembered and is the hallmark of a good hotel with dedicated staff.

Despite only overnight stays we have managed to experience the Friday night show twice, as well as breakfast and lunch. The show is a good one. Food service is efficient and lots of choice, the bar is very good. Rooms can be a bit tired, hotel is undergoing a bit of refurb at the moment, the rooms are clean and for the most part quiet.

If a non smoking room is important you must request one. Smoking is allowed on this property. If you have difficulty with stairs let the front desk staff know, the nature of the layout of this rather sprawling hotel is that you may have steps getting to some rooms.

In summary a good resort hotel in close proximity to airport with all the services you would expect at an InterContinental Resort. Some parts of hotel starting to show their age, other areas have been upgraded. Food service in restaurant and bars is good, room service can have a few problems. Overall a clear recommendation on hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Specify non smoking room if required. Also if you do not like to be far away from services also requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichardMcA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti !
Thank you for your visit and for posting your review and detailled comments which will be very helpful for our future visitors. You obviously enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here one night on our last night of a superb trip to Tahiti. The view across to Moorea at sunset is spectacular and the hotel feels like a great Tahitian resort with easy accessibility to the airport, a good blend of pools and food and beverage outlets, along with varying room types.

As a Intercontinental card holder, we appreciated the free WIFI access and the room service order was good and promptly delivered (but the dirty plates never collected and then had geckos etc darting in and out of them ... the joys of resorts and natural animal life).

I was shocked at check in (after staying on the island), when the receptionist said your room is 'x' over there - and hardly even pointed us in the right direction. We walked with bags and had to go up and down steps and out onto a road and back into a building before finally finding our room - very unlike the usual Intercontinental service!

Also, there was a cockroach approximately 4 cm long in our bathroom - that minimised any enjoyment of an early morning shower before our flight home.

For an Intercontinental property - great location and well appointed, but could have done better on service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KKG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Greetings from InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa !
Thank you for visiting us and for your review.
We are sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your overall arrival experience and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused. We also regret your unpleasant encounter with the flying bug in the bathroom: be assured we are very strict and serious in treating all the property against insects nevertheless, we cannot completely avoid the intrusion of a flying insect coming from outside in a tropical island environment.
We apologize for this incident and we do hope that apart from this you will keep a good memory of your stay in Tahiti.
Should you decide to come back do not hesitate to contact us as we will make sure to answer your needs;
Thank you again for your patronage.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
3.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
1,068 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,790 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range: £230 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing