We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay”
Review of Hotel Medena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Medena
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Donji Seget
split
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed at the hotel Medena last New Year's Eve in their De lux room. The room has 4 stars and it is equipped in such manner. Beautiful clean bathroom, hair drier, LCD television, comfortable bed, a small fridge and a wonderful sea view. The hotel itself is surrounded by beautiful Mediterranean pine forest and other Mediterranean plants, which grow all along the path leading to Medena beach which is app. 150 meters from the hotel. It was winter period and it wasn't swimmable, but you could tell the beach is quite full during summer due to numerous coffee bars and restaurants on it. As I played tennis in my childhood years I have also noticed well maintained 6 tennis courts on the way to the beach. Since it was the New Year's Eve I need to comment that we had a great time that evening, dinner was served nicely and the bar was open all night. The band that played that evening was one of the most famous Croatian bands, and the hotel was completely full of people from all age groups. Hotel hosts famous singers every New Year's Eve and on the New Year's day, and this was the forth time I've spent a New Year at the Medena. Twice when I was younger with my parents and twice with my husband. Overall a nice stay and would return to the hotel.

Room Tip: De lux and superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank little_traveler_cro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelena M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Medena, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Little Traveler,
We appreciate Your input, and are pleased You liked staying in our hotel.
It is always nice to know that our guests find our hotel enjoyable and pleasing.
We will be happy to welcome You again in our establishment.
With best regards,

Jelena M
Managment of hotel Medena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    49
    65
    46
    85
See reviews for
69
71
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed in this nightmare hotel for 2 nights because of a company event. I can only recommend not to go there! It is a horrible place! Everything is old like in the socialism although we were in a "renovated" room. It was like when you go back in time...the smell, the design, everything. Don't believe to the professional photos! We asked for a double room and our bed was very small (max. 140*200 cm) and we received only ONE blanket (for 2 persons) which was shabby.
The staff was very unfriendly they were hurt when we asked for anything (e.g. a coffee in the bar). The quality of foods was unbelievalble... it was hard to find anything which was eatable... In the mornings we had to wait in a long queue (like in the school) in the restaurant in order to get anything from that awful place. Also we had to fight with the groups who were on bus tour... as this is the base of the cheap bus tours...
The only positive experience with this hotel was the view.
The garden is untended (as the whole hotel).
They are renovating one wing of the hotel and they started their work at 7.30 a.m. not even taking care of those who want to rest... This is their attitude to everything.
If you go to this place you will collect bad memories about Croatia.. while real Croatia is not this... This is only an awful hotel. If you want to enjoy your stay choose a small, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eszter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelena M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Medena, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Mrs. Eszter,
We appreciate Your review, but we do not find Your statements accurate. For this company event, hotel has assigned new, renovated rooms. If You have found Your bed small, our reception staff would have changed it for the room with the bigger bed, without any problems. Special breakfast and dinner was prepared for the whole company, with drinks included. We took special care in preparing this meals, and we got only compliments from the other guests. It is true that the hotel was full in this period, but You have to understand, that we are a large hotel, with 1300 beds, and that some crowd is inevitable.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Donji Seget hotels

Elbasan, Albania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed there for a night, good food, nearly helping staff (When understood or could be understood) but awful rooms. Electric wires and plugs dangerously exposed, The bathroom needed a total change and so on.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceno k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelena M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Medena, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Sir,
We appreciate Your review, and are very pleased that You have liked our food and found our staff helpful. Regarding Your problem with the room You stayed in, it would have been much more convenient if You have made Your claim during Your stay in our hotel. We would have done our best to remove all the things You found displeasing in the room. If it were needed, new room would have been appointed to You.
We hope Your impression of our hotel would not change Your perspective of our country and the people who live here.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I think this hotel is not bad, at least I liked it. It's situated in a beautiful park with pine trees and the air is wonderful! Our room was not large but was clean and had a large balcony with a great sea view. The food in the restaurant was delicious, though not particularly diverse. The beach is terribly disappointing, I can even say that there is no beach. For such a huge hotel this is unacceptable! Yet people go there in summer mainly because of the beautiful sea!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed here two nights in September. The room was very cozy and just enough space for everything you need. The view from the balcony was outstanding. It is a huge complex with hotel rooms, apartments, restaurant (which we didn't try), bar, pizza place etc. Every evening in the pizza place you can dance with live music and lovely lady serving you cold drinks. The beach is very near, just a couple of steps down the path. Also trogir is just 5 min. away with a car. All in all nice hotel if you are not looking for luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bugfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Great night club, but very ugly rooms and dirty bathrooms. Food is kinda weirdly slimy. Do not eat the eggs or stale cereal... They say it's renewed, but that's not true. When you enter the building it looks very modern, but, believe me, it's NOT!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keyvyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

we stayed here for 5 nights in September 2012 and found it to be a great hotel and quite reasonably priced. It is a large complex set in pine trees on a hill above Medena beach. Our room was a good size, comfortable clean with a good bed & nice bathroom, it had been refurbished, the room had a fridge & safety deposit box. The staff were pleasant and professional; breakfast was satisfactory for a 3 star hotel. The best things about the hotel were the wonderful views from the balcony of the Adriatic sea and numerous islands close by (most rooms apart from the bottom floors had a sea view). Also the hotel had a great location with easy access to Medena beach via a steep path with step (approx 10 minutes walk). Medena beach was lovely with plenty of safe places to swim (but pebbles so take plastic shoes ) and numerous cafes, restaurants and bars. It was very easy to get to Trogir by water taxi, which cost only £1 - £2.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grandsiretriples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donji Seget
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 3 in Donji Seget
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aparthotel Bellevue
Aparthotel Bellevue
#1 of 10 in Trogir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Zora
Hotel Zora
#1 of 1 in Primosten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
2.1 mi away
XII Century Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Apartmani Medena
Apartmani Medena
#15 of 23 in Donji Seget
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medena

Property: Hotel Medena
Address: Hrvatskih zrtava 185, Donji Seget 21218, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Donji Seget
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Donji Seget
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medena 3*
Number of rooms: 638
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Medena is located in Seget Donji near to Trogir and Split in the centre of the former Trogir Riviera (Trogir - Seget - Marina - Okrug)Mild Adriatic climate, lush subtropical and Mediterranean vegetation, the archipelago of picturesque islands and islets hiding quiet fishing and farming villages in their coves, hidden rocky and pebble beaches, the beauty and diversity of folklore, picturesque rural architecture, modern tourism facilities perfect for your vacation, entertainment and recreation both summer and winter, traditional hospitality, Dalmatian delicacies, fishing and joyous fishermen's nights, classical music in the medieval city ambient…The hotel is divided into two main buildings, and two pavilions which are located on the hotel beach, only 150 metres from the hotel.Hotel Medena has a total of 630 rooms: superior***/+, standard*** and tourist class**.We also offer 8 modernly equipped and air-conditioned hotel suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Medena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medena Hotel Seget Donji Vranjic
Hotel Medena Croatia/Donji Seget

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing