We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Lanterna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Lanterna
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Zaton
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

we spent 2 weeks at the Villa Lanterna and had a great holiday, as people have said , Maja and the rest of the team were always helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean, the small pool is great and the transport to the shop/Dubrovnik is a real bonus. The beach and Zaton bay is lovely, water is warm and clear and Dubrovnik city is stunning. We ate at the Magdellan restaurant, which I think is also owned by the Villa Lanterna - and the food was great. The restaurant I would definitely recommend and go back to in a heartbeat for its seafood gnocchi is Konoba Orsan, a short walk from Villa Lanterna.

Room Tip: we had room 9 which is right next to the pool but you don't get the sea views. Although the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillyaster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    43
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 7 nights and absolutely loved it, we never wanted to leave! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to travel to Croatia as the staff are so friendly and helpful and the facilities are great too!! It is simple to travel to the old town of Dubrovnik each day for a very cheap price, whilst day excursions are simple to book as they pick up guests from the hotel to travel to the destination of their choice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

we arrived there on the 27th of july for 11 nights. Was a fantastic reception we got from maja she explaind everything about croatia to us and its history. As we had never been to croatia before found this very helpful.As it is quite a way to shops and debrovnick itself they run a bus from villa to shops and the town of Debrovnick the staff of maja marko and zorro and another guy did not get to know his name could not do enough for us thanks again guys would recomend this villa to anyone wanting to visit the region. fantastic all round holiday very relaxing lots of trips if you like that sort of thing. and dining out is very cheep also Cant recomend this accomodation enough also maja i have sent your present over today enjoy hope to be back soon Billy n Kim lamb x

Room Tip: all rooms are good we had room 10 exelent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was the 2nd time of visiting the appartments and yet again we received fabulous hospitality from the staff. The mini bus runs into town a few times a day and night and the appartments with small kitchen are immaculate and just whats needed for a quick get away.The beach is a 2 minute walk and the seas are clear and calm to swim in. There is a small bar on the beach that serves food and drinks.In all fabulous value for money , the best of both worlds a city break with a beach and lovely people. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Villa Lanterna and found it to be an excellent hotel and very good value for money. We were a family of 4 and had a one bedroomed apartment which was surprisingly spacious and well equipped. There was air conditioning in the apartment and lovely views of the sea from the balcony. The bedroom was large with plenty of storage.
Next to reception there is a terrace where you can sit for a drink, a chat, or to use the free wifi.Drinks are very reasonably priced, 20k for a large beer, 18 k for a large glass of wine.
The real strength of this hotel though is the helpfulness of the staff. Maja particularly, who spoke excellent English and all the other staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We had booked through Jet 2 and booked a half board option, which apparently not many guests do now as many travel to the owner's other restaurant to eat. However we chose each day what we would like for our evening meal and what time we would like to eat and the dinner was freshly cooked for us each night and was very tasty! Breakfast options were also good.
The hotel provides a free shuttle bus to the shop at 9.30am if needed, so it is possible to stock up with provisions for drinks/snacks/lunch in the room if required. There is also a reasonably priced (45Kuna return pp) shuttle to Dubrovnik 3 times a day which we used about 4 times. It is also possible to see something of the area on the public buses, which we did, but they do cram a lot of people on them! It is well worth visiting the old town in Dubrovnik and the Island of Lokrum (which you get a boat to from Dubrovnik).
When I had a minor medical problem requiring a prescription the hotel staff drove me to the doctors and then to the chemist, free of charge.
The new pool was also a bonus as it was kept very clean and although small ,was ideal for a refreshing dip, and there were 6 sunbeds available for use.
The hotel is a stones throw from a pebble beach where the water is really clear for swimming in and there are two restaurants near the beach. Sunbeds and parasols can also be hired quite cheaply at the beach.
Although the hotel is a little way out from Dubrovnik (about 6km), it was nice to escape the hustle and bustle of Dubrovnik and to stay in a more relaxing environment.
Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful holiday and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent a week at Villa Lanterna and enjoyed it very much. We were quite surprised at how spacious and well equipped the rooms were, and the little pool (not advertised!) was a lovely surprise. We had fantastic sea views from our room (room 7). The hotel staff were lovely, especially Maja who was so helpful. Zaton is a bit far away from anything else but the regular minibuses into the city were very cheap and helpful. We walked over to Zaton Mali a couple of times to the supermarket (the hotel did run a minibus there in the morning, but we quite enjoyed the walk) which had a good amount of choice. We also really enjoyed eating at Konoba Gusar, the restaurant on the beach which had massive portions and was very reasonably priced. I wouldn't hesitate to come back to Villa Lanterna again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Quite a surprise for the affordable price! This hotel is a 10 min drive from the Old City Dubrovnik, for which they provide a shuttle for a small fee. It is a 2 minute walk to the beach and 2 cute seaside restuarants. Very clean and the rooms were a good size with a very modern bathroom. Most importantly, Mja and Darko at the front desk were exceptionally helpful in helping us plan our trips to Medgugore and then North to Split and the island of Hvar. They went over an above in helping us book travel, etc. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChevySio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaton
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Astarea
Hotel Astarea
#2 of 7 in Mlini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Sipan
Hotel Sipan
#1 of 1 in Sipanska Luka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
5.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.9 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lanterna

Property: Villa Lanterna
Address: Shtikovica 24 a, Zaton 20235, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Zaton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Zaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lanterna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Lanterna is situated 8 km from Dubrovnik, in Stikovica, Zaton bay 50m away from the beach. It's property contains 4 double apartments, 4 one room apartments, 2 studio apartments and four rooms with balconies. In the Villa's restaurant breakfast and the dinner are served. The Villa's van will drive you to Dubrovnik and back three times daily. Come and you will love it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Lanterna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lanterna Apartments Hotel Dubrovnik
Villa Lanterna Zaton, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing